If you wish, you can change language

Exteriores del hotel Allegro Madeira
;
map

Map and location

Rua do Gorgulho 1   9004 - 540 Funchal , Madeira   Portugal  


Puntos de Interés

21 km Madeira International Airport

500 m Gorgulho beach

1 km Shopping area

2.6 km Funchal Cathedral

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Allegro Madeira - Adults only

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 319 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

54% Complete

174

Very good

34% Complete

111

Average

7% Complete

25

Poor

2% Complete

7

Very poor

0% Complete

2

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    JEB18Hertfordshire Hertfordshire. 06/14/2019 Couples

    “Clinical, clean, no atmosphere - extremely disappointing dining experience.”

    Well, normally I would wait longer than one day to write a review but in all honesty I can’t see our stay improving. The hotel is very clean and the bed comfortable but the whole atmosphere is solemn and the ambience clinical and cold. Our welcome at check in was tepid to say the least. We booked half board having seen the hotel website offering a varied menu, freshly cooked etc. We went down for dinner and, after having been barked at rudely by a waitress asking to see our room card, we were presented with a buffet style presentation of cheese fingers, salami, ham and some salad to start, dinner choices of fusilli pasta, an unappetising sloppy tomato sauce, rice, chips, a beef stew, dried up sweet potato slices, over cooked broccoli/cauliflower and some dried up, over cooked swordfish. There was also pumpkin soup that was watery and green in colour and completely tasteless. Dessert consisted of a very sweet coconut cream, and a couple of gateaux and some fresh melon, pineapple, oranges and apple. Water was charged at €3.50 for a very small bottle. Suffice to say we will not be eating in again. I am hoping breakfast may be better but from what we have seen it doesn’t look too promising, sadly. So we are now combing TA to find decent and value for money restaurants to pay for our dinner a second time! The pool area looks nice, the spa only offers 3 services, and only in the morning - I am struggling to see why this hotel has such good reviews - it’s ok but the dining experience is shockingly poor.

    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. We regret that the dinner service was not what you were expected, we try to provide a great service to all our guests, as you mentioned we have good reviews because our guests appreciated our service, we apologize that this was not your case. You can be sure that we will take your comments in consideration for further improvement. As a team, we are committed to achieving 100% guest satisfaction and appreciate comments such as yours’ as a powerful wake-up call on areas where we need to do a better job. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and assure you that we will take immediate action to improve for the benefit of future guests. Thanks once again for taking the time to let us know. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Sightsee65477023851 Alva, United Kingdom. 06/11/2019 Couples

    “Room 503”

    Excellent standards of hygiene,friendliness,decour and very centrally placed.Will return next year.We both fell in love with the place.During an emergency my wife received first class service from the receptionist,ambulance drivers and hospital workers.Bedroom was most comfy with fine views of the bay.Excellent hotel at affordable prices. Room 503 excellent facilities.

    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest. We truly appreciate your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us because it is the best way to know how we should focus our efforts for continuous improvement. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Mark L Ripon, United Kingdom. 06/10/2019 Couples

    “A shame about the dining experience”

    Visited 13 - 20 May. Had a sea view room on the 8th floor. First, the positives - the bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have experienced and with plenty of pillows. The maid service was excellent. The pool area was never busy and the water not too cold. The sightseeing buses stop a few yards from the hotel. Funchal centre is around a 30 minute walk. And now the not so good bits - Earlier reviews about lack of storage space were spot-on. Plenty of hangers, but the rail is directly above what should be used as a dressing table. All clothes that couldn't go on the hangers, were kept in the suitcase. The dining experience was really disappointing - poor selection and never anywhere near warm. Table water was 3.50 and house wine was 14 euros. On 3 nights the dining staff failed to ask us if we wanted drinks. We were full board, so lunch was from the bar menu. This was the best meal of the day - freshly prepared and hot. The downside was the service was poor - 30 mins to prepare a burger and chips? Overall, a good hotel let down by it's dining experience.

    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
     Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review We regret to read your disappointment regarding your dinning experience, because we know that it is a part of your vacation, so we take your comment in consideration, and we will work to improve every point mentioned. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future for a more positive experience, as it should be. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Sue P 06/06/2019

    “great place for a quick quiet break”

    hotel is in a great location for sight seeing, in Funchal and near many of the best restaurants that the Lido area has to offer. Our visit was just 3 nights but very enjoyable will be back again soon.

    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
     Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Allegro Madeira hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for yet another great stay. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Safari13746387689 Dudley, United Kingdom. 06/02/2019 Couples

    “First time in Madeira.”

    Tho this hotel may look a little dated on the outside, inside and all around the hotel is new, crisp, model and just fantastic. I had the junior suit, one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in, I will 100% be going back to the Allegro......Very difficult to fault....

    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest. Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Allegro Madeira hotel. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for yet another great stay. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 14 2019
    • Hertfordshire
    • Couples

    JEB18Hertfordshire

    “Clinical, clean, no atmosphere - extremely disappointing dining experience.”


    Well, normally I would wait longer than one day to write a review but in all honesty I can’t see our stay improving. The hotel is very clean and the bed comfortable but the whole atmosphere is solemn and the ambience clinical and cold. Our welcome at check in was tepid to say the least. We booked half board having seen the hotel website offering a varied menu, freshly cooked etc. We went down for dinner and, after having been barked at rudely by a waitress asking to see our room card, we were presented with a buffet style presentation of cheese fingers, salami, ham and some salad to start, dinner choices of fusilli pasta, an unappetising sloppy tomato sauce, rice, chips, a beef stew, dried up sweet potato slices, over cooked broccoli/cauliflower and some dried up, over cooked swordfish. There was also pumpkin soup that was watery and green in colour and completely tasteless. Dessert consisted of a very sweet coconut cream, and a couple of gateaux and some fresh melon, pineapple, oranges and apple. Water was charged at €3.50 for a very small bottle. Suffice to say we will not be eating in again. I am hoping breakfast may be better but from what we have seen it doesn’t look too promising, sadly. So we are now combing TA to find decent and value for money restaurants to pay for our dinner a second time! The pool area looks nice, the spa only offers 3 services, and only in the morning - I am struggling to see why this hotel has such good reviews - it’s ok but the dining experience is shockingly poor.


    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. We regret that the dinner service was not what you were expected, we try to provide a great service to all our guests, as you mentioned we have good reviews because our guests appreciated our service, we apologize that this was not your case. You can be sure that we will take your comments in consideration for further improvement. As a team, we are committed to achieving 100% guest satisfaction and appreciate comments such as yours’ as a powerful wake-up call on areas where we need to do a better job. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and assure you that we will take immediate action to improve for the benefit of future guests. Thanks once again for taking the time to let us know. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 11 2019
    • Alva, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Sightsee65477023851

    “Room 503”


    Excellent standards of hygiene,friendliness,decour and very centrally placed.Will return next year.We both fell in love with the place.During an emergency my wife received first class service from the receptionist,ambulance drivers and hospital workers.Bedroom was most comfy with fine views of the bay.Excellent hotel at affordable prices. Room 503 excellent facilities.


    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest. We truly appreciate your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us because it is the best way to know how we should focus our efforts for continuous improvement. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 10 2019
    • Ripon, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Mark L

    “A shame about the dining experience”


    Visited 13 - 20 May. Had a sea view room on the 8th floor. First, the positives - the bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have experienced and with plenty of pillows. The maid service was excellent. The pool area was never busy and the water not too cold. The sightseeing buses stop a few yards from the hotel. Funchal centre is around a 30 minute walk. And now the not so good bits - Earlier reviews about lack of storage space were spot-on. Plenty of hangers, but the rail is directly above what should be used as a dressing table. All clothes that couldn't go on the hangers, were kept in the suitcase. The dining experience was really disappointing - poor selection and never anywhere near warm. Table water was 3.50 and house wine was 14 euros. On 3 nights the dining staff failed to ask us if we wanted drinks. We were full board, so lunch was from the bar menu. This was the best meal of the day - freshly prepared and hot. The downside was the service was poor - 30 mins to prepare a burger and chips? Overall, a good hotel let down by it's dining experience.


    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
    Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review We regret to read your disappointment regarding your dinning experience, because we know that it is a part of your vacation, so we take your comment in consideration, and we will work to improve every point mentioned. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future for a more positive experience, as it should be. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 6 2019

    Sue P

    “great place for a quick quiet break”


    hotel is in a great location for sight seeing, in Funchal and near many of the best restaurants that the Lido area has to offer. Our visit was just 3 nights but very enjoyable will be back again soon.


    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
    Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Allegro Madeira hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for yet another great stay. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 2 2019
    • Dudley, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Safari13746387689

    “First time in Madeira.”


    Tho this hotel may look a little dated on the outside, inside and all around the hotel is new, crisp, model and just fantastic. I had the junior suit, one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in, I will 100% be going back to the Allegro......Very difficult to fault....


    JuliaS9364, General Manager at Allegro Madeira - Adults Only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest. Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Allegro Madeira hotel. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for yet another great stay. Kind Regards, Julia Santana - General Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information