Barceló Royal Beach Hotel Interiors
map

Barceló Royal Beach

Sunny Beach   8240 Bourgas ,   Bulgaria  


Places of Interest

28.3 km Burgas Airport

8 km Nessebar Ethnographic Museum

156 km Cavarna Golf Course

82 km Ropotamo Reserve

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Royal Beach

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1104 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

503

Very good

28% Complete

310

Average

13% Complete

153

Poor

7% Complete

82

Very poor

5% Complete

56

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Anita S Farnborough, United Kingdom. 06/17/2018 Couples

    “Good But Could Do Better”

    Before I start my review I have had a lovely week here at the Barcelo Royal Beach. However I agree with the previous reviews. The Hotel has the foundations of a 5 star hotel but at present it’s more a 3 star. This is mainly due to lack of staff. The food has been lovely and yes, the dessert menu needs reviewing. One day there was not enough staff for the pool bar in the evening and it just never opened, when I asked a very grumpy manager why he said that it only opened when there was entertainment (not true). Having worked within the catering industry I watched in horror and disbelief the very few waiting staff struggling to cope, at one point just where I was sitting there were 9 tables that needed clearing and quite a number of people waiting to sit at tables, food in hand, in the end clearing them themselves. The waiters and waitresses were polite and tried hard to please if you asked for anything but they need training and direction from Management and more importantly loads more staff, then and only then will this Hotel gain its 5 star status. Room cleaning was relatively good except one day just the bins were emptied, dirty glasses were left and towels just left hanging in the bathroom definitely not expected from 5 star hotel. Reception staff always available and polite and friendly. As I said in the beginning I had a lovely holiday in Bulgaria, the hotel if lovely, ideally placed a beautiful pool area and good food. Just employ more staff, get them trained and managed properly that’s all you need.

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear Anita S, Thank you very much for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for sharing with us your constructive comments. First of all, we are glad to read that you consider your stay at Barcelo Royal Beach as a lovely one. Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our Reception department. In the same time, wе truly appreciate that you have shared with us your point of view and we would like to assure you that it will be taken seriously into account. Our aim is to provide the best services and your feedback is of great importance for our team. Finally, we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again so we could show you our true level of services. Kindest regards, The Management

    Round Indicators
    billysmart2 Bristol, United Kingdom. 06/13/2018 Couples

    “C gunstone Bristol”

    Hotel was in a good location 2 min walk from the beach and the strip a 5 min walk.really nice sized pool and plenty of sun beds. Food was ok but service in buffet restaurant was poor . Would suggest to go all inclusive has drinks in hotel are more expensive than the bars outside but in all enjoyed our week there

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear C gunstone Bristol, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for sharing with us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our complex and you had a good time at our spacious pool area. It is great that you consider your vacation a pleasant one and we appreciate your constructive comments. Please note that your feedback is helping us improve constantly our services and we will continue working hard in order to be able to meet all the requirements of our clients. Finally, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance needed in regards of a future visit of yours as we will be pleased to welcome you and provide you the best services as per the Barcelo standards. Best regards, The Management

    Round Indicators
    philip q bath. 06/13/2018 Couples

    “Holiday in Bulgaria ”

    We had not visited Bulgaria before, but having stayed at Barcelo Hotels before we choose this one. The hotel has a good location for the beach and access to the promenade, the hotel is spotless, it has an excellent swimming pool and there were always plenty of sun beds. The main downside is the restaurant. In the brochure there were supposed to be two but while we were there there was only one. While the staff worked hard there was a lack of leadership from management. It frequently run out of cutlery there were too many people and not enough tables ( which we complained about then being told that they were trying to get more staff ) . The menu was similar most days so not enough choices ( pudding was always chocolate cakes ) . We were all inclusive but at the bistro bar sometimes we were asked to pay for fresh orange juice. The snack menu stated that some snacks were charged 50% for all inclusive guests ( something we had not encountered at Barcelo before) but when we tried to order we were told that they were full price management had changed this 3 days ago we complained to our Tui rep but never got a reply. The evening entertainment was not up to Barcelo’s usual standard held in a downstairs small room, on one occasion it was held outside at the pool bar but why not every night

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear Phillip Q, Thank you for being a guest of Barceló Royal Beach and for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the central and calm location of the complex, as well as our spacious garden and pool area. Regarding the entertainment, we are sorry that you have not been satisfied with our entertainment program that includes daily activities as water polo, stretching, jenga, sjoelback, boccia, cocktail games and others, and night-time activities as live music and dance performances, magic show, mini disco for kids, quizzes and others. Please note that the snack menu has no charge for the AI guests and these guests have 50 % discount of the non AI beverages.The food variety is strictly monitored as per the Barceló standards and we are sorry that you found the offer insufficient. In relation to the restaurant service, please be kindly advised that our staff is being trained on a regular basis and the Management is involved in the process. We are sorry if you have had any kind of inconvenience related to the buffet service. Thank you for your constructive comments, these will be certainly taken into consideration for the constant improvement of our services. Finally, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in near future so we could show you the true level of our services. Best regards, The Management

    Round Indicators
    Amit S 06/13/2018 Family

    “Definitely not a 5* hotel”

    The rooms in our block were very dated and the finishing was bad. The beds were very old. The toiletries in the bathroom were very old. When we entered the room, it smelled as if the windows weren't opened for 6 months! The swimming pools were fine. Every evening the pools were frequented by the local seagulls who enjoyed cooling off in these pools. It only has 1 restaurant! The food at this single restaurant was poor quality and very limited. The bar staff struggled to make a basic cocktail. But at least the staff were helpful and attentive. If you're looking for a 5* hotel then stick with the usual suspects......... Hilton, intercontinental, kempinski, mandarin oriental, four seasons, etc, etc

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear Amit S, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for taking the time to share your comments. In addition to that, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool area and that our staff was attentive to your requests. Although we are quite surprised by your negative comments please rest assured that these have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team. However we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. The food and quality variety served at our Buffet restaurant is strictly controlled as per the Barceló standards and our Chef's team is striving to satisfy the taste of each and every client with international and local dishes. We are sorry that you didn't manage to find our offer sufficient and we would be glad to hear your recommendations. Finally, thank you again for your constructive comments, your feedback is highly appreciated. Kindest regards, The Management

    Round Indicators
    michaeljohnt2018 Plymouth, United Kingdom. 06/13/2018 Couples

    “Barcelo Royal beach Not 5 star”

    We are at this hotel and currently half way thru a 10 night stay. So far my wife has been attacked by a Bulgarian man and the police were called but nothing was done. The hotel cctv does not work We have had raw chicken The service is non existent We have complained to TUI via the app and to the Rep and nothing has been done Totally disgusted On a regular basis they run out of butter cups all cutlery hot water tea The staff are in trained The entertainment is rubbish I have reported several Health and Safety issues including the Security of the hotel guests and staff and the dark corridors

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear michaeljohnt2018, Thank you for being a guest of Barceló Royal Beach and for sharing your opinion regarding the stay. We are sorry that you experienced a misunderstanding with another client. Still, as a matter of exactness, we would like to mention that the police could not react if there is no violation of the law. Regarding the Health and Safety requirements, please note that we are strictly observing the Bulgarian and the European regulations, The complex is undergoing regular checks performed by external Health and Safety auditors so we could guarantee the smooth stay of our clients. We have been most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. Finally, thank you once again for the comments and please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Best regards, The Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 17 2018
    • Farnborough, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Anita S

    “Good But Could Do Better”


    Before I start my review I have had a lovely week here at the Barcelo Royal Beach. However I agree with the previous reviews. The Hotel has the foundations of a 5 star hotel but at present it’s more a 3 star. This is mainly due to lack of staff. The food has been lovely and yes, the dessert menu needs reviewing. One day there was not enough staff for the pool bar in the evening and it just never opened, when I asked a very grumpy manager why he said that it only opened when there was entertainment (not true). Having worked within the catering industry I watched in horror and disbelief the very few waiting staff struggling to cope, at one point just where I was sitting there were 9 tables that needed clearing and quite a number of people waiting to sit at tables, food in hand, in the end clearing them themselves. The waiters and waitresses were polite and tried hard to please if you asked for anything but they need training and direction from Management and more importantly loads more staff, then and only then will this Hotel gain its 5 star status. Room cleaning was relatively good except one day just the bins were emptied, dirty glasses were left and towels just left hanging in the bathroom definitely not expected from 5 star hotel. Reception staff always available and polite and friendly. As I said in the beginning I had a lovely holiday in Bulgaria, the hotel if lovely, ideally placed a beautiful pool area and good food. Just employ more staff, get them trained and managed properly that’s all you need.


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear Anita S, Thank you very much for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for sharing with us your constructive comments. First of all, we are glad to read that you consider your stay at Barcelo Royal Beach as a lovely one. Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our Reception department. In the same time, wе truly appreciate that you have shared with us your point of view and we would like to assure you that it will be taken seriously into account. Our aim is to provide the best services and your feedback is of great importance for our team. Finally, we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again so we could show you our true level of services. Kindest regards, The Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 13 2018
    • Bristol, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    billysmart2

    “C gunstone Bristol”


    Hotel was in a good location 2 min walk from the beach and the strip a 5 min walk.really nice sized pool and plenty of sun beds. Food was ok but service in buffet restaurant was poor . Would suggest to go all inclusive has drinks in hotel are more expensive than the bars outside but in all enjoyed our week there


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear C gunstone Bristol, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for sharing with us your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our complex and you had a good time at our spacious pool area. It is great that you consider your vacation a pleasant one and we appreciate your constructive comments. Please note that your feedback is helping us improve constantly our services and we will continue working hard in order to be able to meet all the requirements of our clients. Finally, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance needed in regards of a future visit of yours as we will be pleased to welcome you and provide you the best services as per the Barcelo standards. Best regards, The Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 13 2018
    • bath
    • Couples

    philip q

    “Holiday in Bulgaria ”


    We had not visited Bulgaria before, but having stayed at Barcelo Hotels before we choose this one. The hotel has a good location for the beach and access to the promenade, the hotel is spotless, it has an excellent swimming pool and there were always plenty of sun beds. The main downside is the restaurant. In the brochure there were supposed to be two but while we were there there was only one. While the staff worked hard there was a lack of leadership from management. It frequently run out of cutlery there were too many people and not enough tables ( which we complained about then being told that they were trying to get more staff ) . The menu was similar most days so not enough choices ( pudding was always chocolate cakes ) . We were all inclusive but at the bistro bar sometimes we were asked to pay for fresh orange juice. The snack menu stated that some snacks were charged 50% for all inclusive guests ( something we had not encountered at Barcelo before) but when we tried to order we were told that they were full price management had changed this 3 days ago we complained to our Tui rep but never got a reply. The evening entertainment was not up to Barcelo’s usual standard held in a downstairs small room, on one occasion it was held outside at the pool bar but why not every night


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear Phillip Q, Thank you for being a guest of Barceló Royal Beach and for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the central and calm location of the complex, as well as our spacious garden and pool area. Regarding the entertainment, we are sorry that you have not been satisfied with our entertainment program that includes daily activities as water polo, stretching, jenga, sjoelback, boccia, cocktail games and others, and night-time activities as live music and dance performances, magic show, mini disco for kids, quizzes and others. Please note that the snack menu has no charge for the AI guests and these guests have 50 % discount of the non AI beverages.The food variety is strictly monitored as per the Barceló standards and we are sorry that you found the offer insufficient. In relation to the restaurant service, please be kindly advised that our staff is being trained on a regular basis and the Management is involved in the process. We are sorry if you have had any kind of inconvenience related to the buffet service. Thank you for your constructive comments, these will be certainly taken into consideration for the constant improvement of our services. Finally, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in near future so we could show you the true level of our services. Best regards, The Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 13 2018
    • Family

    Amit S

    “Definitely not a 5* hotel”


    The rooms in our block were very dated and the finishing was bad. The beds were very old. The toiletries in the bathroom were very old. When we entered the room, it smelled as if the windows weren't opened for 6 months! The swimming pools were fine. Every evening the pools were frequented by the local seagulls who enjoyed cooling off in these pools. It only has 1 restaurant! The food at this single restaurant was poor quality and very limited. The bar staff struggled to make a basic cocktail. But at least the staff were helpful and attentive. If you're looking for a 5* hotel then stick with the usual suspects......... Hilton, intercontinental, kempinski, mandarin oriental, four seasons, etc, etc


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear Amit S, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for taking the time to share your comments. In addition to that, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool area and that our staff was attentive to your requests. Although we are quite surprised by your negative comments please rest assured that these have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team. However we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. The food and quality variety served at our Buffet restaurant is strictly controlled as per the Barceló standards and our Chef's team is striving to satisfy the taste of each and every client with international and local dishes. We are sorry that you didn't manage to find our offer sufficient and we would be glad to hear your recommendations. Finally, thank you again for your constructive comments, your feedback is highly appreciated. Kindest regards, The Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 13 2018
    • Plymouth, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    michaeljohnt2018

    “Barcelo Royal beach Not 5 star”


    We are at this hotel and currently half way thru a 10 night stay. So far my wife has been attacked by a Bulgarian man and the police were called but nothing was done. The hotel cctv does not work We have had raw chicken The service is non existent We have complained to TUI via the app and to the Rep and nothing has been done Totally disgusted On a regular basis they run out of butter cups all cutlery hot water tea The staff are in trained The entertainment is rubbish I have reported several Health and Safety issues including the Security of the hotel guests and staff and the dark corridors


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear michaeljohnt2018, Thank you for being a guest of Barceló Royal Beach and for sharing your opinion regarding the stay. We are sorry that you experienced a misunderstanding with another client. Still, as a matter of exactness, we would like to mention that the police could not react if there is no violation of the law. Regarding the Health and Safety requirements, please note that we are strictly observing the Bulgarian and the European regulations, The complex is undergoing regular checks performed by external Health and Safety auditors so we could guarantee the smooth stay of our clients. We have been most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. Finally, thank you once again for the comments and please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Best regards, The Management

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z