If you wish, you can change language

Barceló Tambor Beach  Hotel Beach
;
map

Map and location

Playa Tambor, Puntarenas   771-1150 Tambor ,   Costa Rica  


Places of Interest

3.2 km Tambor Airport

32 m Playa Tambor

1 km Los Delfines Golf Club

18 km Curú National Park

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Tambor

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2764 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

47% Complete

1320

Very good

25% Complete

696

Average

13% Complete

384

Poor

7% Complete

212

Very poor

5% Complete

152

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    waytowayne Vancouver, Canada. 05/26/2019 Couples

    “The road to hell with holes”

    Took the ferry across to spend time on the tambor side hopefully checking in with the Barcelo The fertu was ok not great dirty but it's a ferry. Got off ferry 8 miles pot hole hell. Rental would not appreciate where it was. Turned around back to ferry and if that's a sign of what was ahead we said no thank you. Build a road and one will come but putting one through this is not a holiday but hell No thanks you Barcello And I also heard you own the ferry that goes back and forth. Anyone else do the dodge the pot hole deed. Wayne

    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Customer: Thank you for your comment, we greatly regret your experience in your journey. Our entire team develops a daily effort to provide pleasant stays for those who visit us, knowing that they have made a long trip, given that we carry out our work with effort and dedication to reward our guests with moments of joy and rest. We inform you that we do not have any kind of link with the companies of both Naviera Tambor, as public institutions (MOPT and CONAVI) that are dedicated to maintaining the state of the roads in the area, knowing that in the rainy season the problems increase. We will continue our efforts to provide services that meet the expectations of our future guests, hoping to give us the opportunity to serve you. Atte. Raúl Arranz director Barceló Tambor Hotel

    Round Indicators
    Jessica Q 04/26/2019 Family

    “The worst idea ever”

    We stayed for 5 nights. The food was the same for everyday, same breakfast, same lunch and dinner, except they change the place of the food. The dessert area was the worst, no tasty food. The staff was not friendly, not even a gesture of good morning. about the shower, no water, no pressure, it is worst around 6pm, when everyone is showing and preparing for dinner time. The outside of the resort looks great, great maintenance, but the air conditioner and water were not in the plan fo maintenance. No free wifi, neither in the looby or restaurant. The only good food was the Japanese restaurant. The steakhouse was another scam. For sure, this is my first and last time to be at Barcelo Tambor. Barcelo Occidental Tamarindo was better than this, even though the staff has priority with European guest than us, from Guatemala.

    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Customer, Thank you for your time in sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to our Barceló Tambor hotel, for us it is essential to have promptly the opinions of those who visit us in order to take immediate corrective actions in the different areas of our services. We greatly regret not having made your stay a satisfactory moment, in addition to not fully covering your expectations. We assume the commitment to carry out the necessary tasks to guarantee an improvement in the different topics to which you mention. We hope you accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to improve can give us the opportunity to serve you again. Atte. Raúl Arranz director Barceló Tambor Hotel

    Round Indicators
    sallymK6654XU Toronto, Canada. 04/16/2019 Solo travel

    “Awful”

    The food was awful (except for Asian restaurant), the quality of the beverages was very poor. No one spoke english, including tourists. Staff was quite good. Wifi was slow as molasses, and no water to take a shower! - well for 60 seconds it trickled out.

    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Customer: We deeply regret your dissatisfaction regarding the services offered, for which I request you in the most respectful way to accept our most sincere apologies. We are committed to communicating your opinion to our personnel in charge. And in making decisions in favor of improving our services. We hope it will give us in the future the opportunity to serve you and to renew the expectations of our hotel. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    Round Indicators
    de_Lerma Lima, Peru. 04/07/2019 Family

    “Average all included resort”

    The resort facilites are in good conditions, although it would benefit from renewal works. Beach is nice, but it is definitely not one of the most beautiful in Costa Rica. Entertainment programme is quite extensive supported by good amenities. Food variety and quality is good. Apart from the main dining area, the complex features a Japanese and steakhouse restaurants which can be only reserved on the same day. It is hard to reserve due to the high demand, we could only try the Japanese restaurant during our four nights stay. Customer service can be greatly improved. We tried to book two excursions and we couldn't take any of them which resulted quite frustrated. Finally is hard to believe that the hotel don't offer free WiFi. The cost is 12usd per day. Customer service can be

    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Customer: Thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Tambor, we also appreciate your detailed comment about our services, we want to assure you that each of your suggestions will be analyzed by the Management to ensure continuous improvement and thus continue to provide memorable stays to our guests. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    Round Indicators
    miguelking Medellin, Colombia. 03/22/2019 Friends getaway

    “Awful food”

    We paid 15 usd for buffet lunch. The food was awful. The only chicken offered was greasy fried chicken. Only seafood was conger eel. Wine tasted like vinegar and only cheap national beer was available. The buildings were rundown as if nothing has been upgraded in 20 years.

    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Customer: Thank you for your time in sending us your comment, we regret that our buffet did not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and diversity of our culinary offerings is one of our strengths. We will proceed to inform our responsible chefs so that we can continuously improve our gastronomic offer. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 26 2019
    • Vancouver, Canada
    • Couples

    waytowayne

    “The road to hell with holes”


    Took the ferry across to spend time on the tambor side hopefully checking in with the Barcelo The fertu was ok not great dirty but it's a ferry. Got off ferry 8 miles pot hole hell. Rental would not appreciate where it was. Turned around back to ferry and if that's a sign of what was ahead we said no thank you. Build a road and one will come but putting one through this is not a holiday but hell No thanks you Barcello And I also heard you own the ferry that goes back and forth. Anyone else do the dodge the pot hole deed. Wayne


    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Customer: Thank you for your comment, we greatly regret your experience in your journey. Our entire team develops a daily effort to provide pleasant stays for those who visit us, knowing that they have made a long trip, given that we carry out our work with effort and dedication to reward our guests with moments of joy and rest. We inform you that we do not have any kind of link with the companies of both Naviera Tambor, as public institutions (MOPT and CONAVI) that are dedicated to maintaining the state of the roads in the area, knowing that in the rainy season the problems increase. We will continue our efforts to provide services that meet the expectations of our future guests, hoping to give us the opportunity to serve you. Atte. Raúl Arranz director Barceló Tambor Hotel

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 26 2019
    • Family

    Jessica Q

    “The worst idea ever”


    We stayed for 5 nights. The food was the same for everyday, same breakfast, same lunch and dinner, except they change the place of the food. The dessert area was the worst, no tasty food. The staff was not friendly, not even a gesture of good morning. about the shower, no water, no pressure, it is worst around 6pm, when everyone is showing and preparing for dinner time. The outside of the resort looks great, great maintenance, but the air conditioner and water were not in the plan fo maintenance. No free wifi, neither in the looby or restaurant. The only good food was the Japanese restaurant. The steakhouse was another scam. For sure, this is my first and last time to be at Barcelo Tambor. Barcelo Occidental Tamarindo was better than this, even though the staff has priority with European guest than us, from Guatemala.


    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Customer, Thank you for your time in sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to our Barceló Tambor hotel, for us it is essential to have promptly the opinions of those who visit us in order to take immediate corrective actions in the different areas of our services. We greatly regret not having made your stay a satisfactory moment, in addition to not fully covering your expectations. We assume the commitment to carry out the necessary tasks to guarantee an improvement in the different topics to which you mention. We hope you accept our sincere apologies and our commitment to improve can give us the opportunity to serve you again. Atte. Raúl Arranz director Barceló Tambor Hotel

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 16 2019
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Solo travel

    sallymK6654XU

    “Awful”


    The food was awful (except for Asian restaurant), the quality of the beverages was very poor. No one spoke english, including tourists. Staff was quite good. Wifi was slow as molasses, and no water to take a shower! - well for 60 seconds it trickled out.


    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Customer: We deeply regret your dissatisfaction regarding the services offered, for which I request you in the most respectful way to accept our most sincere apologies. We are committed to communicating your opinion to our personnel in charge. And in making decisions in favor of improving our services. We hope it will give us in the future the opportunity to serve you and to renew the expectations of our hotel. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 7 2019
    • Lima, Peru
    • Family

    de_Lerma

    “Average all included resort”


    The resort facilites are in good conditions, although it would benefit from renewal works. Beach is nice, but it is definitely not one of the most beautiful in Costa Rica. Entertainment programme is quite extensive supported by good amenities. Food variety and quality is good. Apart from the main dining area, the complex features a Japanese and steakhouse restaurants which can be only reserved on the same day. It is hard to reserve due to the high demand, we could only try the Japanese restaurant during our four nights stay. Customer service can be greatly improved. We tried to book two excursions and we couldn't take any of them which resulted quite frustrated. Finally is hard to believe that the hotel don't offer free WiFi. The cost is 12usd per day. Customer service can be


    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Customer: Thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Tambor, we also appreciate your detailed comment about our services, we want to assure you that each of your suggestions will be analyzed by the Management to ensure continuous improvement and thus continue to provide memorable stays to our guests. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 22 2019
    • Medellin, Colombia
    • Friends getaway

    miguelking

    “Awful food”


    We paid 15 usd for buffet lunch. The food was awful. The only chicken offered was greasy fried chicken. Only seafood was conger eel. Wine tasted like vinegar and only cheap national beer was available. The buildings were rundown as if nothing has been upgraded in 20 years.


    BTAMBOR, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Customer: Thank you for your time in sending us your comment, we regret that our buffet did not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and diversity of our culinary offerings is one of our strengths. We will proceed to inform our responsible chefs so that we can continuously improve our gastronomic offer. Atte. Raúl Arranz Director Hotel Barceló Tambor

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information