Barceló Tambor Beach  Hotel Beach
map

Barceló Tambor

Playa Tambor, Puntarenas   771-1150 Tambor ,   Costa Rica  


Places of Interest

3.2 km Tambor Airport

32 m Playa Tambor

1 km Los Delfines Golf Club

18 km Curú National Park

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Tambor

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2064 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

47% Complete

979

Very good

26% Complete

550

Average

13% Complete

282

Poor

7% Complete

146

Very poor

5% Complete

107

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Rustylomplent Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom. 08/13/2018 Family

    “Transfer ”

    Please can you advise on the best way to get here from San Jose airport and cost . We have been quoted $78 per person as the cheapest option .We will be travelling in November . Is renting a car an option ? Many thanks !
    Round Indicators
    TwoOnTravel12 Costa Rica. 08/08/2018 Couples

    “Best Sushi in Costa Rica”

    My partner and I have been visiting the Japanese Restaurant Mijako (located in Hotel Barcelo) a lot and always spent a wonderful evening there. The sushi rolls are served with so much love that dining at this restaurant is always a big pleasure for us. The rolls are served on wooden bridges or boats which are lovely decorated with edable sides. Besides the sushi and the Miso soup, I would also like to highly recommend you to try out the spicy salad as the dressing is my absolute favorit. So tasty and unique! The restaurant is also perfect for vegetarians as the kitchen serves a wide and delicous range of vegetarian sushi. Each visit the kitchen surprises me with new combinations of vegetable ingredrients which is incredibly thoughtful. The sushi chefs Max and Migel are doing a great job and deserve a round of applause for their delicous dishes and the love they add to them. Furthermore, we would like to point out that the service in the restaurant is absolutely excellent. Edwin, the general manager of the restaurant, is taking so much care of his guests, always incredibly polite, attentive, charming and every visit with very good recommendations for wine. Due to him and his professional manner we are always looking forward to our visits and love to bring friends and family to this dinner. Also Maria Ampie, with the magnificent japanese dress, is doing a wonderful job taking care of the guests. We truly appreciate the entire staff of this restaurant which makes us feel so warmly welcome each time we visit Mijako and Hotel Barcelo Tambor. These thanks go to them! We can not wait for our next visit which will surely be very soon! Pura Vida!
    Round Indicators
    Solongo69 Martinez, California. 08/04/2018 Family

    “Disappointed because it used to be beautiful”

    Resort need maintenance and TLC to return to what it was, pools need to be cleaner rooms with mold and bathrooms not working g properly some staff not helpful ir friendly food average and liquor poor quality
    Round Indicators
    pgcr2018 07/26/2018 Family

    “Avoid Barceló Tambor”

    Read the rest of bad reviews, what we experienced closely matches the bad experiences that other people describe. Hospitality is lacking specially from servers and reception personnel. This issue is so prevalent that reflects more on management than on the hotel staff themselves. Personnel seems overworked and overwhelmed with silly rules. Some servers at the restaurant are rude. There are lines at the buffet restaurant. If you want to go to a-la-carte restaurant you have to make a reservation in the morning starting at 8 am. I called at 7am to inquire about the reservation process and they told me to hurry up because there is already a line to make the reservation… I went back to sleep. The hotel is more than 20-years old and though we saw maintenance people painting the outside of the buildings they don’t seem to be able to keep up. Rooms are lacking maintenance; e.g. security door guard lock was missing in one or our rooms and hanging from one screw in the other. There was raw sewer smell near the entrance to our rooms. I though it was distasteful that one of the male entertainers was dressed up as a trans with balloons under his shirt and under the back of his pants and making suggestive dance moves especially considering that there were a lot of kids playing in the pool. If you decide to ignore these bad reviews and still want to go to this place make sure you don’t arrive/leave at around the posted check-in/out times, otherwise there will be long lines in the poorly ventilated lobby.

    Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Pgcr2018: We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. We will review your observations with the staff involved to correct activities that are not part of our quality standards. We look forward to providing you with a better service in the future and thank you for your constructive criticism. Sincerely, Raúl Arranz General Manager Barceló Tambor Hotel.

    Round Indicators
    jatimpe71 Houston, Texas. 07/23/2018 Family

    “Not good!”

    Not enough bilingual staff, so we could barely communicate with anyone at the resort. They seem to sell day passes to locals which makes the pool crowded. You have to pay extra if you want top shelf liquor. Do not upgrade to premier access as you get virtually nothing for this a total waste of money. Would never go to this resort again, comparable to a cheap all inclusive resort in Cancun.

    Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
     Dear Jatimpe71: We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Sincerely, Raúl Arranz General Manager Barceló Tambor Hotel.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 13 2018
    • Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Rustylomplent

    “Transfer ”


    Please can you advise on the best way to get here from San Jose airport and cost . We have been quoted $78 per person as the cheapest option .We will be travelling in November . Is renting a car an option ? Many thanks !


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 8 2018
    • Costa Rica
    • Couples

    TwoOnTravel12

    “Best Sushi in Costa Rica”


    My partner and I have been visiting the Japanese Restaurant Mijako (located in Hotel Barcelo) a lot and always spent a wonderful evening there. The sushi rolls are served with so much love that dining at this restaurant is always a big pleasure for us. The rolls are served on wooden bridges or boats which are lovely decorated with edable sides. Besides the sushi and the Miso soup, I would also like to highly recommend you to try out the spicy salad as the dressing is my absolute favorit. So tasty and unique! The restaurant is also perfect for vegetarians as the kitchen serves a wide and delicous range of vegetarian sushi. Each visit the kitchen surprises me with new combinations of vegetable ingredrients which is incredibly thoughtful. The sushi chefs Max and Migel are doing a great job and deserve a round of applause for their delicous dishes and the love they add to them. Furthermore, we would like to point out that the service in the restaurant is absolutely excellent. Edwin, the general manager of the restaurant, is taking so much care of his guests, always incredibly polite, attentive, charming and every visit with very good recommendations for wine. Due to him and his professional manner we are always looking forward to our visits and love to bring friends and family to this dinner. Also Maria Ampie, with the magnificent japanese dress, is doing a wonderful job taking care of the guests. We truly appreciate the entire staff of this restaurant which makes us feel so warmly welcome each time we visit Mijako and Hotel Barcelo Tambor. These thanks go to them! We can not wait for our next visit which will surely be very soon! Pura Vida!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 4 2018
    • Martinez, California
    • Family

    Solongo69

    “Disappointed because it used to be beautiful”


    Resort need maintenance and TLC to return to what it was, pools need to be cleaner rooms with mold and bathrooms not working g properly some staff not helpful ir friendly food average and liquor poor quality


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 26 2018
    • Family

    pgcr2018

    “Avoid Barceló Tambor”


    Read the rest of bad reviews, what we experienced closely matches the bad experiences that other people describe. Hospitality is lacking specially from servers and reception personnel. This issue is so prevalent that reflects more on management than on the hotel staff themselves. Personnel seems overworked and overwhelmed with silly rules. Some servers at the restaurant are rude. There are lines at the buffet restaurant. If you want to go to a-la-carte restaurant you have to make a reservation in the morning starting at 8 am. I called at 7am to inquire about the reservation process and they told me to hurry up because there is already a line to make the reservation… I went back to sleep. The hotel is more than 20-years old and though we saw maintenance people painting the outside of the buildings they don’t seem to be able to keep up. Rooms are lacking maintenance; e.g. security door guard lock was missing in one or our rooms and hanging from one screw in the other. There was raw sewer smell near the entrance to our rooms. I though it was distasteful that one of the male entertainers was dressed up as a trans with balloons under his shirt and under the back of his pants and making suggestive dance moves especially considering that there were a lot of kids playing in the pool. If you decide to ignore these bad reviews and still want to go to this place make sure you don’t arrive/leave at around the posted check-in/out times, otherwise there will be long lines in the poorly ventilated lobby.


    Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Pgcr2018: We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. We will review your observations with the staff involved to correct activities that are not part of our quality standards. We look forward to providing you with a better service in the future and thank you for your constructive criticism. Sincerely, Raúl Arranz General Manager Barceló Tambor Hotel.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 23 2018
    • Houston, Texas
    • Family

    jatimpe71

    “Not good!”


    Not enough bilingual staff, so we could barely communicate with anyone at the resort. They seem to sell day passes to locals which makes the pool crowded. You have to pay extra if you want top shelf liquor. Do not upgrade to premier access as you get virtually nothing for this a total waste of money. Would never go to this resort again, comparable to a cheap all inclusive resort in Cancun.


    Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review
    Dear Jatimpe71: We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Sincerely, Raúl Arranz General Manager Barceló Tambor Hotel.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    We’ll also give you an additional discount of up to 10% depending on the sort of booking For more information