Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Barceló San José Palacio Hotel Restaurant
;
map

Map and location

Residencial El Robledal, La Uruca, 4581150   10107 San José de Costa Rica ,   Costa Rica  


Places of Interest

14.3 km Juan Santamaría International Airport

180 km Playa Tambor

262 km Langosta Beach

11 km Valle del Sol Golf Course

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló San José

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2292 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

40% Complete

922

Very good

33% Complete

763

Average

16% Complete

373

Poor

5% Complete

121

Very poor

4% Complete

114

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    califclasy 09/15/2019

    “Very nice - cannot check in until 2pm”

    Barcelo San Jose is a very nice hotel. The grounds are beautiful, employees are very helpful and friendly. We arrived from Los Angeles at 6am, got to the hotel around 7am and had to wait until 2pm to get our room. We booked through AAA and had been told that our party of 9 would be able to check in upon arrival. We walked the grounds, strolled through the souvenir shop and waited in the lovely lobby that has open windows. Our stay was great just wish we would've known about the wait. We would've made plans to have our luggage held and gone into town. Will know next time! Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
    Round Indicators
    waltphil Sacramento, California. 09/09/2019 Friends getaway

    “Frequent Barcelo travelor”

    This is an excellent hotel, clean, well maintained, good restaurants, friendly and helpful staff, professional service. Recommend going for the "breakfast included" feature. Also, I like to upgrade to Premium,

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    nbmount Cambridge, Canada. 09/08/2019 Couples

    “Perfect Hotel”

    We stayed here before an early flight home and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable, the pool area was excellent and the room service food was amazing. The shuttle they provided to the airport was on time and went smoothly.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Nbmount: First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our San Jose hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Carlos Ruiz Director

    Round Indicators
    Perry32163 09/06/2019 Couples

    “Cruise”

    Staff was exceptional especially the waiters in the cafe and pool bar. The staff spoke excellent English and were very patient and helpful with our broken Spanish. We were surprised how pleasent Costa Rica' s weather is in August.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    Psynaut Scottsdale, Arizona. 09/04/2019

    “Worst hotel ever”

    My flight was late, I arrived in San Jose after midnight, so Expedia would not let me book a room for that night. So, I did a search, and went to this hotel, which showed the room I wanted at $64.00 per night. When I got there they told me it was $110.00 and they said that I could have booked at %64.00 before midnight, or any other day at $64.00 But since I walked in to the front desk and asked for the room it would be $110.00 for the night. For that much I could have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in San Jose, but it was 2 AM, so I took the room. What a scam. The photos speak for themselves, The place is a complete dump. for $64 a night, it would have gotten 3's, but for $110.00 it deserves only 1's. Wore yet, when I got to the room, room service (24 hours) didn't answer the phone, so I had to go to the front desk to order room service. The curtain rod was broken and fell off when I pulled on it. The carpet had a huge stain in the middle of the room. Even the shampoo and body wash weren't labeled... I never did figure out which was which. This was easily the worst hotel experience I have ever had... period, by a long shot.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 15 2019

    califclasy

    “Very nice - cannot check in until 2pm”


    Barcelo San Jose is a very nice hotel. The grounds are beautiful, employees are very helpful and friendly. We arrived from Los Angeles at 6am, got to the hotel around 7am and had to wait until 2pm to get our room. We booked through AAA and had been told that our party of 9 would be able to check in upon arrival. We walked the grounds, strolled through the souvenir shop and waited in the lovely lobby that has open windows. Our stay was great just wish we would've known about the wait. We would've made plans to have our luggage held and gone into town. Will know next time! Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 9 2019
    • Sacramento, California
    • Friends getaway

    waltphil

    “Frequent Barcelo travelor”


    This is an excellent hotel, clean, well maintained, good restaurants, friendly and helpful staff, professional service. Recommend going for the "breakfast included" feature. Also, I like to upgrade to Premium,


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 8 2019
    • Cambridge, Canada
    • Couples

    nbmount

    “Perfect Hotel”


    We stayed here before an early flight home and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable, the pool area was excellent and the room service food was amazing. The shuttle they provided to the airport was on time and went smoothly.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Nbmount: First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our San Jose hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Carlos Ruiz Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 6 2019
    • Couples

    Perry32163

    “Cruise”


    Staff was exceptional especially the waiters in the cafe and pool bar. The staff spoke excellent English and were very patient and helpful with our broken Spanish. We were surprised how pleasent Costa Rica' s weather is in August.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 4 2019
    • Scottsdale, Arizona

    Psynaut

    “Worst hotel ever”


    My flight was late, I arrived in San Jose after midnight, so Expedia would not let me book a room for that night. So, I did a search, and went to this hotel, which showed the room I wanted at $64.00 per night. When I got there they told me it was $110.00 and they said that I could have booked at %64.00 before midnight, or any other day at $64.00 But since I walked in to the front desk and asked for the room it would be $110.00 for the night. For that much I could have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in San Jose, but it was 2 AM, so I took the room. What a scam. The photos speak for themselves, The place is a complete dump. for $64 a night, it would have gotten 3's, but for $110.00 it deserves only 1's. Wore yet, when I got to the room, room service (24 hours) didn't answer the phone, so I had to go to the front desk to order room service. The curtain rod was broken and fell off when I pulled on it. The carpet had a huge stain in the middle of the room. Even the shampoo and body wash weren't labeled... I never did figure out which was which. This was easily the worst hotel experience I have ever had... period, by a long shot.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z