Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Barceló Hotel deluxe room  Hamilton Menorca
;
map

Map and location

PS Santa Agueda, 6   07720 Es Castell, Menorca , Islas Baleares   España  


Places of Interest

8 km Mahon International Airport

9 km Cala Mesquida beach

10 km Punta Prima beach

3 km Port of Mahon

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Hamilton Menorca - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2065 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

49% Complete

1023

Very good

29% Complete

614

Average

13% Complete

271

Poor

5% Complete

107

Very poor

2% Complete

50

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    jim011 Scotland. 10/12/2019 Family

    “Great sea front hotel”

    Hotel is well run and scrupulously clean, located next to the water front. The hotel has many facilities and is suitable for most adult holidays. The roof top area with plunge pools, bar and spectacular views is exceptional.
    Round Indicators
    gilly46 Shirley, United Kingdom. 10/12/2019

    “First Time in Es Castell”

    I read the reviews on TA before booking and continued to do so after booking also read the management response to the critical reviews. When we checked in it was efficient and conducted by a very friendly receptionist, we had to pay approximately 150 euros for the government tax (67 Euro) and room safe rental (30 Euro returned when returning the safe key), the tax is nothing to do with the hotel they just collect it on behalf of the government, BUT paying for the room safe in a 4 star hotel is not what I would expect and unacceptable, we found the room to be clean and tidy with good housekeeping, the down side to our Superior Sea view room was the lack of storage for guests clothes, there are 3 small drawers to put all your holiday wear in, there are 2 bedside tables without drawers and a desk with 2 chairs that is pointless, the desk and bedside table should have drawers in them, also the room safe is low down practically on the floor, so anyone with back problems will have trouble reading the instructions to enter your own 4 digit code (I did), there is a kettle plus 2 cups, also tea and coffee but only 2 a day, if you want more you have to pay, you do get a bottle of water a day in Superior rooms. We only stayed bed and breakfast as I like my food very hot and with the best will in the world buffet food is rarely hot, some of the guests were complaining about the food being cold, even though the staff were monitoring the temperature and changing the trays often, breakfast was good as there was a chef there to cook eggs the way you like them, other items like cook sausage and bacon were cold, pancakes were cooked fresh as well if that's what you like, there was a past review that mentioned the noise made when guests move the chairs in the dining room, it's still the same as it is in the bedrooms with the chairs under the pointless desk, very easy fix with some felt pads. The entertainment was what I would expect for a hotel and mostly fair to good, unfortunately the roof bar was being closed at 8 pm so by the time we had eaten out there was not point going back to use the roof bar, there were complaints but guests regarding the all inclusive, it is more part inclusive as you have to pay for drinks on the roof terrace after 5 pm, you do get 50% discount on AI, the menus for drinks and snacks are marked AI to which are included other not. ALL the staff were very efficient in the jobs and showed great customer care, we found the receptionists very helpful and printed off the local bus timetables and answered any queries we had, the maintenance man even repaired my glasses when the lens fell out. Overhaul we enjoyed our stay at the Hamilton and would probably return as the location is the best, the management need to act on the guests reviews as there are lots that repeat what I have said, but it's still the same, if they fix the storage issue we would return next year or earlier, but I need to see that done first, the food problems do not bother me as we only stay B&B but the lack of storage and noisy chairs movement puts me off as well as the room safe charge. So the good points for us was the Location of the Hotel, the staff who were excellent, cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general, comfortable beds and washing facilities. Management usually respond to reviews but that is not enough, guests need to see they are being listened to with action taken to remedy complaints, that said I do not think the cold food issue is easily fixed.
    Round Indicators
    518FionaB London. 10/11/2019 Friends getaway

    “Why ?”

    Why do hotels like this let themselves down so badly against other good hotels around the world . On arriving early , we expect that the room will not be ready that is fine .can we have Breakfast ? No , you will have to pay . Would it not be a goodwill gesture to allow breakfast , tea ,toast egg hardly a problem ? Pay for your towel , pay for your Safe , you want more and coffee tea sachets in the room ? Pay . Why ? Some had water we did not . All things make the holiday start on a bad foot . Room is clean and airy but it’s odd having the basin in the room ? And no light in the shower ? There are two shower heads but whichever you use the other one leaks on you . Toiletries are minimal . The hotel is well situated on a lovely bay and walkable to restaurants ,bars and Mahon . Unfortunately the staff are poorly up to date with local knowledge cannot advise on , buses , walks , markets local attractions .we ended up getting all our information from a jet2 rep even though we had not booked with them . The downstairs outdoor pool is small and mainly shaded , the indoor pool looked like it was a water feature and not for swimming in . The upstairs sun area was crowded and the six jacuzzi pools freezing but there was a good sunset bar . Breakfast was good . Evening Buffet hit and miss but excellent ice cream . Evening entertainment , give it a miss .

    Barceló H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, responded to this review
     Dear Fiona, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Hamilton Menorca, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry to read your disappointment at your arrival with the breakfast service, as you could understand, there are protocols we might follow, and allowing free breakfast in your case, could also mean allow evening dinners to other guests, or other services which are paid normally by everyone, not only in hotels but also in cafeterias and restaurants. Regarding the room disposition and some of the hotel services like the pool or the rooftop terrace, we are sorry to read that did not match your expectations and we take note of the problems you found in the shower to send our maintenance service immediately. For future stays, we would like to recommend you to contact our call center directly in order to have a more accurate idea of our hotel and enjoy much more your stay since they will match your expectations. Best regards,

    Round Indicators
    Peter S bedale. 10/10/2019 Couples

    “scottys birthday”

    just spent 2 great weeks at the Barcelo Hamilton i'm glad I took no notice of the negative reviews especially about the staff they were amazing and could not do enough for you so friendly we had some great laughs with them I wonder if the people that complain treat them like servants ?? just a thought .as for the food always something to eat the fish of the griddle was great we were AI so had the set lunch every day only one course of the 3 course menu we found was enough and Monica who served you was brilliant the quality of the drinks was also very good. the room was kept spotless although a bit on the small side the view was amazing can I also mention Noreen [ bar] and Margarita [restaurant] thank you. next my only gripe we were AI and had to pay for drinks in sky bar after 1700 seems strange why ????
    Round Indicators
    RoseRabbitt 10/09/2019 Couples

    “Beautiful Hotel”

    This hotel is a fantastic great escape to chill out and relax. The reception staff are extremely friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. Unfortunately there are one or two niggles that spoil the hotel that could be easily solved. We had a kettle in the room with tea and coffee on arrival. However when I requested more tea bags the following day I was told that I couldn’t have any as I was not all inclusive! The cost to provide this would be minimal - Alternatively don’t put kettles in the rooms. There were 2 members of staff in the pool bar - one very delightful oriental lady who was very pleasant and helpful. The other waitress was so miserable and rude that we avoided eating or drinking there. She really doesn’t know how to make guests feel they are on holiday! Despite these negatives the hotel has so much to offer and would definitely return, it’s just a shame that some very annoying negatives bring the overall rating down.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 12 2019
    • Scotland
    • Family

    jim011

    “Great sea front hotel”


    Hotel is well run and scrupulously clean, located next to the water front. The hotel has many facilities and is suitable for most adult holidays. The roof top area with plunge pools, bar and spectacular views is exceptional.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 12 2019
    • Shirley, United Kingdom

    gilly46

    “First Time in Es Castell”


    I read the reviews on TA before booking and continued to do so after booking also read the management response to the critical reviews. When we checked in it was efficient and conducted by a very friendly receptionist, we had to pay approximately 150 euros for the government tax (67 Euro) and room safe rental (30 Euro returned when returning the safe key), the tax is nothing to do with the hotel they just collect it on behalf of the government, BUT paying for the room safe in a 4 star hotel is not what I would expect and unacceptable, we found the room to be clean and tidy with good housekeeping, the down side to our Superior Sea view room was the lack of storage for guests clothes, there are 3 small drawers to put all your holiday wear in, there are 2 bedside tables without drawers and a desk with 2 chairs that is pointless, the desk and bedside table should have drawers in them, also the room safe is low down practically on the floor, so anyone with back problems will have trouble reading the instructions to enter your own 4 digit code (I did), there is a kettle plus 2 cups, also tea and coffee but only 2 a day, if you want more you have to pay, you do get a bottle of water a day in Superior rooms. We only stayed bed and breakfast as I like my food very hot and with the best will in the world buffet food is rarely hot, some of the guests were complaining about the food being cold, even though the staff were monitoring the temperature and changing the trays often, breakfast was good as there was a chef there to cook eggs the way you like them, other items like cook sausage and bacon were cold, pancakes were cooked fresh as well if that's what you like, there was a past review that mentioned the noise made when guests move the chairs in the dining room, it's still the same as it is in the bedrooms with the chairs under the pointless desk, very easy fix with some felt pads. The entertainment was what I would expect for a hotel and mostly fair to good, unfortunately the roof bar was being closed at 8 pm so by the time we had eaten out there was not point going back to use the roof bar, there were complaints but guests regarding the all inclusive, it is more part inclusive as you have to pay for drinks on the roof terrace after 5 pm, you do get 50% discount on AI, the menus for drinks and snacks are marked AI to which are included other not. ALL the staff were very efficient in the jobs and showed great customer care, we found the receptionists very helpful and printed off the local bus timetables and answered any queries we had, the maintenance man even repaired my glasses when the lens fell out. Overhaul we enjoyed our stay at the Hamilton and would probably return as the location is the best, the management need to act on the guests reviews as there are lots that repeat what I have said, but it's still the same, if they fix the storage issue we would return next year or earlier, but I need to see that done first, the food problems do not bother me as we only stay B&B but the lack of storage and noisy chairs movement puts me off as well as the room safe charge. So the good points for us was the Location of the Hotel, the staff who were excellent, cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general, comfortable beds and washing facilities. Management usually respond to reviews but that is not enough, guests need to see they are being listened to with action taken to remedy complaints, that said I do not think the cold food issue is easily fixed.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 11 2019
    • London
    • Friends getaway

    518FionaB

    “Why ?”


    Why do hotels like this let themselves down so badly against other good hotels around the world . On arriving early , we expect that the room will not be ready that is fine .can we have Breakfast ? No , you will have to pay . Would it not be a goodwill gesture to allow breakfast , tea ,toast egg hardly a problem ? Pay for your towel , pay for your Safe , you want more and coffee tea sachets in the room ? Pay . Why ? Some had water we did not . All things make the holiday start on a bad foot . Room is clean and airy but it’s odd having the basin in the room ? And no light in the shower ? There are two shower heads but whichever you use the other one leaks on you . Toiletries are minimal . The hotel is well situated on a lovely bay and walkable to restaurants ,bars and Mahon . Unfortunately the staff are poorly up to date with local knowledge cannot advise on , buses , walks , markets local attractions .we ended up getting all our information from a jet2 rep even though we had not booked with them . The downstairs outdoor pool is small and mainly shaded , the indoor pool looked like it was a water feature and not for swimming in . The upstairs sun area was crowded and the six jacuzzi pools freezing but there was a good sunset bar . Breakfast was good . Evening Buffet hit and miss but excellent ice cream . Evening entertainment , give it a miss .


    Barceló H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, responded to this review
    Dear Fiona, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Hamilton Menorca, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry to read your disappointment at your arrival with the breakfast service, as you could understand, there are protocols we might follow, and allowing free breakfast in your case, could also mean allow evening dinners to other guests, or other services which are paid normally by everyone, not only in hotels but also in cafeterias and restaurants. Regarding the room disposition and some of the hotel services like the pool or the rooftop terrace, we are sorry to read that did not match your expectations and we take note of the problems you found in the shower to send our maintenance service immediately. For future stays, we would like to recommend you to contact our call center directly in order to have a more accurate idea of our hotel and enjoy much more your stay since they will match your expectations. Best regards,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 10 2019
    • bedale
    • Couples

    Peter S

    “scottys birthday”


    just spent 2 great weeks at the Barcelo Hamilton i'm glad I took no notice of the negative reviews especially about the staff they were amazing and could not do enough for you so friendly we had some great laughs with them I wonder if the people that complain treat them like servants ?? just a thought .as for the food always something to eat the fish of the griddle was great we were AI so had the set lunch every day only one course of the 3 course menu we found was enough and Monica who served you was brilliant the quality of the drinks was also very good. the room was kept spotless although a bit on the small side the view was amazing can I also mention Noreen [ bar] and Margarita [restaurant] thank you. next my only gripe we were AI and had to pay for drinks in sky bar after 1700 seems strange why ????


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 9 2019
    • Couples

    RoseRabbitt

    “Beautiful Hotel”


    This hotel is a fantastic great escape to chill out and relax. The reception staff are extremely friendly and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. Unfortunately there are one or two niggles that spoil the hotel that could be easily solved. We had a kettle in the room with tea and coffee on arrival. However when I requested more tea bags the following day I was told that I couldn’t have any as I was not all inclusive! The cost to provide this would be minimal - Alternatively don’t put kettles in the rooms. There were 2 members of staff in the pool bar - one very delightful oriental lady who was very pleasant and helpful. The other waitress was so miserable and rude that we avoided eating or drinking there. She really doesn’t know how to make guests feel they are on holiday! Despite these negatives the hotel has so much to offer and would definitely return, it’s just a shame that some very annoying negatives bring the overall rating down.


    Barceló Hotel Bar  Hamilton Menorca

    An adults-only designer hotel overlooking the bay of Mahón

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information