Barceló Royal Beach Hotel Interiors

Barceló Royal Beach

Texto: 41953 Modern hotel in the heart of Sunny Beach, with an attractive set of swimming pools. Ideal for families or couples. AL Sunny Beach. Black Sea | 8240 Sofía, Bulgaria
+35 95 542 0400 +35 955420 411
Barceló Royal Beach Texto: 41953 4 out of 5 based on 923 ratings. 923 user reviews.
Barceló Royal Beach reviewed by johnandeunice on . It's the best hotel in Sunny Beach This is our 2nd stay at the Royal Barcelo Beach and we have just booked again for the same time next year. If you want to relax in luxurious surroundings before you hit the strip then this is for... Rating: 5
map

Barceló Royal Beach

AL Sunny Beach. Black Sea   8240 Sofía, Bulgaria  


Places of Interest

28.3 km Burgas Airport

8 km Nessebar Ethnographic Museum

156 km Cavarna Golf Course

82 km Ropotamo Reserve

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Royal Beach

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1009 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

46% Complete

471

Very good

28% Complete

287

Average

12% Complete

128

Poor

7% Complete

76

Very poor

4% Complete

47

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    422amartin Leicestershire, United Kingdom. 08/18/2017 Family

    “Not 5 Star, need to up their game!”

    1). Pool bar staff unfriendly and made it quite clear they did not like making mojitos for guests, rolling eyes and huffing. This was within 2hrs of arriving, so wasn't a great start. 2). Stairway on the right hand side down to the pool had a very unpleasant smell of vomit this remained throughout the week, which indicates it has not been cleaned satisfactory. 3). Level of cleanliness in the bedrooms, not acceptable. Maid was tipped 10 lev and there were crisps on the floor and a previous guests false eyelashes! The bathroom sink and tiled unit was not cleaned for several days, in the end I cleaned it myself. I do not expect to have to do this whilst on my holiday. All that seemed to be done was the duvet made on the bed. Sheets were not changed or tucked under the mattress. 4). Numerous bar staff and waiting staff in the restaurant have an English flag on their name badge yet seem unable to understand a simple drinks order, unless on one occasion when a male bar tender used foul language in English which I can only assume was for my partners benefit. 5). The toaster in the restaurant is beyond ridiculous to toast bread. I had to put it through twice to have anything other than warm bread. On one occasion I was extremely frustrated when I had waited what felt like an eternity for toast only for it to be taken by a waitress when I left the table to get a glass of orange juice. My knife and fork were not together indicating I was not finished. I left breakfast hungry and annoyed! 6). The Al la carte evening meal was an absolute joke! How can a hotel of this size not have a bottle of Sauvignon blanc wine?! In the end we paid for a bottle of Prosecco that we didn't really want (and it was warm). After looking at the menu and deciding what we would like to eat we were then told that there was no Spanish sausage which my son had chosen. He looked at the menu again and chose the ribs, again there were no ribs. How can this be possible at 7.30pm?! I also struggle to understand how 10 tables can not be waited on in a well run, together, professional manner. The staff didn't know who was looking after which table, we asked to order drinks and they forgot, then gave us the wrong drinks. I asked for tomato sauce for my 6 year old son..... it came when he had almost finished his meal. Two of our party had a nice piece of steak and my sons was fatty hunk of steak which he wasn't able to eat. We watched as other couples sent their dishes back before we had our starters so we didn't have high hopes. 7). Lifeguard sat on his mobile phone constantly through the day, this is absolutely disgusting and disgraceful. I have photo evidence of this which I have included. 8). We only changed our pool towels 3 times during our weeks stay. On the 3rd occasion when asking for clean towels at the end of the day I was told, with attitude by the lifeguard that I can only change them once a day. I explained to him that we had not had clean towels that day or the previous day but he continued to be quite rude when throwing clean towels down on the counter. 9). Who in their right mind locates pool toilets down a set of concrete steps?! I was constantly up and down with my son as I was concerned he may slip when wet from playing in the pool. The toilets also stink of urine. The toilets in reception do not smell much better. In fact I have not smelt any cleaning products or bleach all week! 10). Day 6 of our holiday, our room was not cleaned or beds even made at all. Even though the other room in our party was cleaned next door??? These points are things that are easily rectified (apart from relocating the pool toilets). The hotel management need to take a look around at how this hotel is run to make sure improvements are made and fast. I have stayed at Barcelo hotels in England and abroad but this is the most disappointing. For these reasons I will not be returning or recommending, it's no where near a 5 star hotel.
    Round Indicators
    SueBWigan Wigan. 08/17/2017 Family

    “Mrs s barr”

    Stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago but disappointed this time. Biggest problem was the housekeeping or lack of it! On 2 occasions we left the note on the beds for them to be changed and it was ignored. In fact the beds didn't get made at all the whole time we where there! Complained to reception and got told the same thing every day, will report it to housekeeping manager but nothing was done. Rooms not cleaned properly at all. Many guests complaining . The restaurant was also not as it used to be. The food was cold to the point of using a microwave I found in the corner to warm the food . I felt sorry for the staff at times because they where very friendly and obviously trying there best. To finish off the week I was with my elderly mother who is registered blind. We crossed over the road to take a stroll along the front and had both our purses stolen by youths. I've since been told that theft is a problem in the area. I was so busy concentrating on guiding my mum that neither of us noticed them going into our bags. The kind desk manager at the hotel took me to the police station over the road but they seriously where not interested. Probably not wanting yet another statistic of tourists being robbed. Hotel needs a good shake up, it wouldn't take much, hot food and a housekeeping manager whose going to sort out the cleaning problems. Sorry Barcelona Royal Beach we won't be returning
    Round Indicators
    Alaa2712 08/14/2017 Family

    “Good Hotel But Not Excellent ”

    I stayed in the hotel for one whole week with family , including uncles, aunts and their children, all of us +12. I would say It's a good hotel with a good location. The food was ok but not more than that; People would expect a hotel at this level to have better and more variety at the dining rooms, especially at dinner. The service in the restaurant /bar by the pool was really horrible and slow by bringing the orders. The rooms were really good in my opinion, but in somedays , the housekeeping service did not provide enough towels or shampoos for the bathrooms, and in some cases they didnt clean the room at all. I felt like we paid the hotel much more than it deserves. On the other hand, the hotel is big , has 2 or 3 outdoor pools, one indoor I think and a fitness club , which I didnt try. Outside and Around the hotel , there are a lot of shops and stores with many things to offer. In total , I would give it a rating of 6/10 not more.

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear Alaa2712, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for being as kind as to share your opinion with the Tripadvisors' readers. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of the complex, as well as our pool and garden area with 3 outdoor pools /one of them is our kids pool/. In addition to that, our Spa and fitness area has an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and different Spa treatments. Regarding the food, we are sorry that you didn't feel satisfied with the variety as we are trying to please the taste of each and every client by offering the thematic dinners with Bulgarian, Spanish, Asian, French and International cuisine. Please accept our apologies if the staff at the outdoor Bistro did not attend you properly or you had to wait for your order more that the expected.Please note that Barcelo Royal Beach has strict standards regarding the quality of service in all aspects, including food and bars and housekeeping, and we would like to encourage you to contact our Reception for future occasions in case there is some discrepancy between the service you are receiving and the one you expect. We have already passed your concerns to the Managers of the corresponding departments so all the activities needed could be performed for their further and constant improvement. Our team strives to be swift in responding our clients' needs and we will be pleased if you could give us the opportunity to welcome you again in near future and to demonstrate to you our true level of hospitality. Best regards, The team of Barcelo Royal Beach

    Round Indicators
    JimGilmour Aberdeen, United Kingdom. 08/14/2017 Family

    “A week at Barcelo Royal Beach - Not 5 Star”

    Barcelo Sunny Beach hotel is in no stretch of the imagination a 5 Star hotel We paid to upgrade rooms with sea view / pool view were dirty o Photographs on the website are nothing like the rooms o There is no Sea view (we paid extra), other than over the three hotels in front on the beach o Air conditioning in the rooms did not work, sleeping was very difficult o Bathrooms dirty • Hotel itself had a system to save on lighting, this meant that entering your room hallway it was very dark indeed and considering the warning of pick pockets etc not a safe environment for my family • Swimming pool had lifeguards who did nothing at all except look at phone o Smoking allowed in all areas of the hotel which was not managed by Barcelo o Small children swimming with no nappies, one day pool was closed due to a child relieving itself in the pool Overall you can tell that this vacation that I paid a lot of money for was well below a 5 star accommodation standard that I was expecting, after reviewing trip advisor prior to travel I was hopeful that none of the negative comments would be true, but sadly the majority are true especially the cleanliness of the rooms and that fact that I paid for 5 Star accommodation and at best received 3 Star. It was very interesting while waiting for transfer back to airport that the Barcelo promotional video does not show this hotel within its portfolio. Expected a lot and sadly received what the reviews said on trip advisor.

    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
     Dear JimGilmour, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for spending some of your time to share your opinion with the TripAdvisor's readers. Still we are deeply sorry that you didn't feel satisfied with some of our services and that you experienced inconveniences during your stay. Regarding the room type, please note that all our guests are allocated in accordance with the room category reserved and up to now we haven't detected any discrepancies between the presented photos and our room appearance, nor any such complaints has been received. In addition to that, we are sincerely sorry for the issues that you might have experienced with the cleaning of the room. Our Housekeeping staff is obliged to observe strict standards and we will certainly investigate the reasons for any discrepancy occurred during your stay. Please note also that we are performing constant training and the performance of the department has been controlled on a daily basis. In respect to the air-conditioning, for future occasions please contact our reception staff as in case of any issue, our Maintenance Department is reacting immediately. Regarding our pool staff, please note that our life guards are very attentive and following our procedures connecting with Risk assessment for swimming pools. Regarding the safety, we would like to assure that we have a Security department which consists of more than 30 staff members with 6 security guards on duty. We have as well 250 cameras located in all the complex and our hotel is considered as one of the most safety hotel in Sunny Beach. In relation to the smoking, it is forbidden in all closed facilities of the hotel in full correspondence with the Bulgaria legislation. Finally, please be kindly advised that all the mentioned comments have been taken into consideration by the Management team and we will be truly glad if you could visit us again so we could attend you as per your expectations. Best regards, The team of Barcelo Royal Beach

    Round Indicators
    Tracey J Witney, United Kingdom. 08/13/2017 Family

    “11 nights at the Barcelo Royal Beach”

    Very impressive hotel with designer shops either side. Large reception area that caters for a very busy timetable of people arriving and departing at all times of the day and night. Three restaurants and three bars available. Amazing inside and outside swimming pools that accommodates everyone. Room was fine, although not what we requested. Very noisy as it faced the front of the hotel. Housekeeping not the best and sheets not changed regularly and often the bins weren't emptied. Alot of the staff spoke very little English. We opted for the all inclusive but there was also self catering or half board. This led to alot of confusion in terms of who could have what and I felt that this led to the comple losing its identity. Spa available and a good sports bar with 22 screens! Good selection of food, although not impressed with the A La Carte restaurant. Manners were sadly lacking at times. Sunbeds plentiful and a small park on siht. Great entertainments team that worked very hard throughout the day. Gabriella and Enis were a credit to the hotel as they offered exceptional service. .

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 18 2017
    • Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    • Family

    422amartin

    “Not 5 Star, need to up their game!”


    1). Pool bar staff unfriendly and made it quite clear they did not like making mojitos for guests, rolling eyes and huffing. This was within 2hrs of arriving, so wasn't a great start. 2). Stairway on the right hand side down to the pool had a very unpleasant smell of vomit this remained throughout the week, which indicates it has not been cleaned satisfactory. 3). Level of cleanliness in the bedrooms, not acceptable. Maid was tipped 10 lev and there were crisps on the floor and a previous guests false eyelashes! The bathroom sink and tiled unit was not cleaned for several days, in the end I cleaned it myself. I do not expect to have to do this whilst on my holiday. All that seemed to be done was the duvet made on the bed. Sheets were not changed or tucked under the mattress. 4). Numerous bar staff and waiting staff in the restaurant have an English flag on their name badge yet seem unable to understand a simple drinks order, unless on one occasion when a male bar tender used foul language in English which I can only assume was for my partners benefit. 5). The toaster in the restaurant is beyond ridiculous to toast bread. I had to put it through twice to have anything other than warm bread. On one occasion I was extremely frustrated when I had waited what felt like an eternity for toast only for it to be taken by a waitress when I left the table to get a glass of orange juice. My knife and fork were not together indicating I was not finished. I left breakfast hungry and annoyed! 6). The Al la carte evening meal was an absolute joke! How can a hotel of this size not have a bottle of Sauvignon blanc wine?! In the end we paid for a bottle of Prosecco that we didn't really want (and it was warm). After looking at the menu and deciding what we would like to eat we were then told that there was no Spanish sausage which my son had chosen. He looked at the menu again and chose the ribs, again there were no ribs. How can this be possible at 7.30pm?! I also struggle to understand how 10 tables can not be waited on in a well run, together, professional manner. The staff didn't know who was looking after which table, we asked to order drinks and they forgot, then gave us the wrong drinks. I asked for tomato sauce for my 6 year old son..... it came when he had almost finished his meal. Two of our party had a nice piece of steak and my sons was fatty hunk of steak which he wasn't able to eat. We watched as other couples sent their dishes back before we had our starters so we didn't have high hopes. 7). Lifeguard sat on his mobile phone constantly through the day, this is absolutely disgusting and disgraceful. I have photo evidence of this which I have included. 8). We only changed our pool towels 3 times during our weeks stay. On the 3rd occasion when asking for clean towels at the end of the day I was told, with attitude by the lifeguard that I can only change them once a day. I explained to him that we had not had clean towels that day or the previous day but he continued to be quite rude when throwing clean towels down on the counter. 9). Who in their right mind locates pool toilets down a set of concrete steps?! I was constantly up and down with my son as I was concerned he may slip when wet from playing in the pool. The toilets also stink of urine. The toilets in reception do not smell much better. In fact I have not smelt any cleaning products or bleach all week! 10). Day 6 of our holiday, our room was not cleaned or beds even made at all. Even though the other room in our party was cleaned next door??? These points are things that are easily rectified (apart from relocating the pool toilets). The hotel management need to take a look around at how this hotel is run to make sure improvements are made and fast. I have stayed at Barcelo hotels in England and abroad but this is the most disappointing. For these reasons I will not be returning or recommending, it's no where near a 5 star hotel.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2017
    • Wigan
    • Family

    SueBWigan

    “Mrs s barr”


    Stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago but disappointed this time. Biggest problem was the housekeeping or lack of it! On 2 occasions we left the note on the beds for them to be changed and it was ignored. In fact the beds didn't get made at all the whole time we where there! Complained to reception and got told the same thing every day, will report it to housekeeping manager but nothing was done. Rooms not cleaned properly at all. Many guests complaining . The restaurant was also not as it used to be. The food was cold to the point of using a microwave I found in the corner to warm the food . I felt sorry for the staff at times because they where very friendly and obviously trying there best. To finish off the week I was with my elderly mother who is registered blind. We crossed over the road to take a stroll along the front and had both our purses stolen by youths. I've since been told that theft is a problem in the area. I was so busy concentrating on guiding my mum that neither of us noticed them going into our bags. The kind desk manager at the hotel took me to the police station over the road but they seriously where not interested. Probably not wanting yet another statistic of tourists being robbed. Hotel needs a good shake up, it wouldn't take much, hot food and a housekeeping manager whose going to sort out the cleaning problems. Sorry Barcelona Royal Beach we won't be returning


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 14 2017
    • Family

    Alaa2712

    “Good Hotel But Not Excellent ”


    I stayed in the hotel for one whole week with family , including uncles, aunts and their children, all of us +12. I would say It's a good hotel with a good location. The food was ok but not more than that; People would expect a hotel at this level to have better and more variety at the dining rooms, especially at dinner. The service in the restaurant /bar by the pool was really horrible and slow by bringing the orders. The rooms were really good in my opinion, but in somedays , the housekeeping service did not provide enough towels or shampoos for the bathrooms, and in some cases they didnt clean the room at all. I felt like we paid the hotel much more than it deserves. On the other hand, the hotel is big , has 2 or 3 outdoor pools, one indoor I think and a fitness club , which I didnt try. Outside and Around the hotel , there are a lot of shops and stores with many things to offer. In total , I would give it a rating of 6/10 not more.


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear Alaa2712, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for being as kind as to share your opinion with the Tripadvisors' readers. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location of the complex, as well as our pool and garden area with 3 outdoor pools /one of them is our kids pool/. In addition to that, our Spa and fitness area has an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and different Spa treatments. Regarding the food, we are sorry that you didn't feel satisfied with the variety as we are trying to please the taste of each and every client by offering the thematic dinners with Bulgarian, Spanish, Asian, French and International cuisine. Please accept our apologies if the staff at the outdoor Bistro did not attend you properly or you had to wait for your order more that the expected.Please note that Barcelo Royal Beach has strict standards regarding the quality of service in all aspects, including food and bars and housekeeping, and we would like to encourage you to contact our Reception for future occasions in case there is some discrepancy between the service you are receiving and the one you expect. We have already passed your concerns to the Managers of the corresponding departments so all the activities needed could be performed for their further and constant improvement. Our team strives to be swift in responding our clients' needs and we will be pleased if you could give us the opportunity to welcome you again in near future and to demonstrate to you our true level of hospitality. Best regards, The team of Barcelo Royal Beach

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 14 2017
    • Aberdeen, United Kingdom
    • Family

    JimGilmour

    “A week at Barcelo Royal Beach - Not 5 Star”


    Barcelo Sunny Beach hotel is in no stretch of the imagination a 5 Star hotel We paid to upgrade rooms with sea view / pool view were dirty o Photographs on the website are nothing like the rooms o There is no Sea view (we paid extra), other than over the three hotels in front on the beach o Air conditioning in the rooms did not work, sleeping was very difficult o Bathrooms dirty • Hotel itself had a system to save on lighting, this meant that entering your room hallway it was very dark indeed and considering the warning of pick pockets etc not a safe environment for my family • Swimming pool had lifeguards who did nothing at all except look at phone o Smoking allowed in all areas of the hotel which was not managed by Barcelo o Small children swimming with no nappies, one day pool was closed due to a child relieving itself in the pool Overall you can tell that this vacation that I paid a lot of money for was well below a 5 star accommodation standard that I was expecting, after reviewing trip advisor prior to travel I was hopeful that none of the negative comments would be true, but sadly the majority are true especially the cleanliness of the rooms and that fact that I paid for 5 Star accommodation and at best received 3 Star. It was very interesting while waiting for transfer back to airport that the Barcelo promotional video does not show this hotel within its portfolio. Expected a lot and sadly received what the reviews said on trip advisor.


    BarceloPremium, PAGM at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this review
    Dear JimGilmour, Thank you for being a guest of Barcelo Royal Beach and for spending some of your time to share your opinion with the TripAdvisor's readers. Still we are deeply sorry that you didn't feel satisfied with some of our services and that you experienced inconveniences during your stay. Regarding the room type, please note that all our guests are allocated in accordance with the room category reserved and up to now we haven't detected any discrepancies between the presented photos and our room appearance, nor any such complaints has been received. In addition to that, we are sincerely sorry for the issues that you might have experienced with the cleaning of the room. Our Housekeeping staff is obliged to observe strict standards and we will certainly investigate the reasons for any discrepancy occurred during your stay. Please note also that we are performing constant training and the performance of the department has been controlled on a daily basis. In respect to the air-conditioning, for future occasions please contact our reception staff as in case of any issue, our Maintenance Department is reacting immediately. Regarding our pool staff, please note that our life guards are very attentive and following our procedures connecting with Risk assessment for swimming pools. Regarding the safety, we would like to assure that we have a Security department which consists of more than 30 staff members with 6 security guards on duty. We have as well 250 cameras located in all the complex and our hotel is considered as one of the most safety hotel in Sunny Beach. In relation to the smoking, it is forbidden in all closed facilities of the hotel in full correspondence with the Bulgaria legislation. Finally, please be kindly advised that all the mentioned comments have been taken into consideration by the Management team and we will be truly glad if you could visit us again so we could attend you as per your expectations. Best regards, The team of Barcelo Royal Beach

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 13 2017
    • Witney, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Tracey J

    “11 nights at the Barcelo Royal Beach”


    Very impressive hotel with designer shops either side. Large reception area that caters for a very busy timetable of people arriving and departing at all times of the day and night. Three restaurants and three bars available. Amazing inside and outside swimming pools that accommodates everyone. Room was fine, although not what we requested. Very noisy as it faced the front of the hotel. Housekeeping not the best and sheets not changed regularly and often the bins weren't emptied. Alot of the staff spoke very little English. We opted for the all inclusive but there was also self catering or half board. This led to alot of confusion in terms of who could have what and I felt that this led to the comple losing its identity. Spa available and a good sports bar with 22 screens! Good selection of food, although not impressed with the A La Carte restaurant. Manners were sadly lacking at times. Sunbeds plentiful and a small park on siht. Great entertainments team that worked very hard throughout the day. Gabriella and Enis were a credit to the hotel as they offered exceptional service. .


    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z