Barceló Montecastillo Golf Hotel Golf Course

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

Texto: 40070 A spectacular hotel that has recently been refurbished, surrounded by a magnificent natural environment and a 19th century castle. AV De Montecastillo, Ctra. Jerez - Arcos, Km. 6 | 11406 | Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz | Andalucía | España
+34 956 151 200 +34 956 151 209
Barceló Montecastillo Golf Texto: 40070 4.5 out of 5 based on 1600 ratings. 1600 user reviews.
Barceló Montecastillo Golf reviewed by Miha M on . Great hotel Lovely hotel with exceptional food, breakfast was delicius and dinner was even better, good wine list and wide range of dishes. Chalanging golf course with a nice line up, in the top season should be... Rating: 5
map

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

AV De Montecastillo, Ctra. Jerez - Arcos, Km. 6   11406   Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz   Andalucía   España  


Places of Interest

15.2 km Jerez Airport

26 km Puerto de Santa María

12 km Jerez Railway Station

44.3 km Port of Cadiz Bay

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 1605 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

60% Complete

975

Very good

28% Complete

464

Average

6% Complete

107

Poor

2% Complete

40

Very poor

1% Complete

20

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Miha M Ljubljana, Slovenia. 02/11/2018 Friends getaway

    “Great hotel”

    Lovely hotel with exceptional food, breakfast was delicius and dinner was even better, good wine list and wide range of dishes. Chalanging golf course with a nice line up, in the top season should be even nicer.
    Round Indicators
    glendy2015 Hertfordshire, United Kingdom. 02/10/2018 Couples

    “Excellent stay”

    Excellent stay comfortable room, attentive, helpful staff good choice of food well prepared and presented. Excellent service from the staff in the pro shop, both on booking and during our stay. Our 3rd visit but definitely not our last.
    Round Indicators
    Jonathan L 02/04/2018 Couples

    “Spa day”

    Only used the spa, it was not easy to locate, clear markings on path and at entry points would help greatly. Spa was nice enough and massage was more of a back and leg "rub with oil" rather than true "massage". A couple of the water functions of the therapy pool did not work well, and water temp was a bit low. No "hot tub" . Only cold and warm water pools. Nice, but not the level I expected from this resort complex.

    César G, Director General at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
     Dear customer, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your visit at our Barceló Montecastillo Golf. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We regret hearing that your U-Spa experience was not as pleasant and relaxing as it should have been due to the temperature of the pool and the inconveniences with the water functions. We assure you that it was a punctual problem that has already been solved, but even so, we have transmitted your comments to the departments involved to avoid this type of situation in the future. We would like to take this opportunity to explain you that our indoor pool it is a dynamic pool with jets and massage beds. We offer to our clients a treatment that is performed in one of our cabins with a hot tub. Thank you for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to welcoming you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, César Gómez Director General Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    Round Indicators
    Rob H 02/04/2018 Family

    “Cracking venue!”

    I spent 4 days at the hotel with my two eldest sons on a golf trip. Initial impressions were very good with the entrance and buildings really impressive. My only minor moans would’ve that our bedroom was a bit small and basic for three adults and that the bar/restaurant was quite expensive (around £7 a drink) One thing I was very grateful for was our hire care so we could drive to the nearest supermarket in Jerez to purchase snacks and drinks. The golf course is immense. It should come with a warning about how tough and long it is! We walked it the first day ( never again!) but buggied after that. Course conditions were good but some areas were a bit tired but then again we played in January so no complaints. I would thoroughly recommend the experience but don’t think you’re going to master the course. I play off 15 and lost at least 6 balls on each round. Straight long drives are essential. Hopefully we will return soon!
    Round Indicators
    DBGOLFPRO Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom. 02/01/2018 Couples

    “So much to love but the golf is tired....”

    We came for a winter golf break. My wife is a true 36 handicap and I am a pro so we cover the full handicap range. We have discussed our thoughts and we both agree: Hotel 10/10 Service in bars and restaurants 1st class. Reception not quite so good - (although the website says check-in after 2pm) we arrived at 12:30 and on arrival the young lady told us our room would be ready by 1pm-1:30pm (happy days we thought plenty of time before golf) however, the room was eventually (after much chasing up on our part) ready at 13:45 (we both think the reception girls were a little too preoccupied with The Renault RS Team group due to arrive). So we had a manic chase down to the 1st tee for our 1st 9 holes, but in the grand scheme of things it was a minor glitch. The restaurant is lovely with more than enough choice of good food to cover even the more fussy tastes. All beautifully Presented too. The Staff work VERY hard here and attention to detail is superb. Now for the Golf review. The course layout is 11/10 - it’s spectacular! (Check the photos out if you don’t believe me) The saddest thing for us was that the whole golf facility needs a lot of urgent TLC. The greens were consistant, RAPID and true - just a shame that the golfers who play them DON’T know how to fix a pitchmark and the green staff don’t seem to either! The tee boxes need seeding or re-turfing 6/10. The fairways were THE biggest disappointment patchy with bald lies galore and yet so much water is thrown on them on a daily basis that every shot was more of a splat than a hit! 2/10 The bunkers were inconsistant some your ball could plug below the level of the sand and others had nothing but hard compacted dust in them. 3/10 The practice facilities - Driving range - again the grass is balding and patchy and the ropes hadn’t been moved all week so every slot was divoted And or bare - why not use should the mats in the undercover bays in the winter to allow the grass to fully recover before being used again? The undercover area needs a fresh coat of paint as well. 6/10 The chipping green and the putting green are good reflections of how the course plays so ideal to get the short game brushed up on. 8/10 The clubhouse facilities - mens changing room has an uneven stone floor that needs attention to get it level and there are lockers but no keys?! The electric hand drier is there but doesn’t work - good job for the paper towels! Nice electric shoe care unit buffs them up to a shine - nice touch. 5/10 There is the facility to leave your bags in another locker area with the caddy master and as we took ours back to our room every day we can’t say what these facilities are like. The Proshop is gorgeous with a wide variety of goods for sale and REALLY well displayed (got a couple of ideas from their displays for my shop when I get home) the proshop staff are VERY friendly (which is a constant throughout the entire venue) and are on the ball with every booking. 10/10 There are buggies available and use one because there are lots of long drives between holes let alone walks! We found the electric ones were in better condition compared to the petrol ones, but all the ones we had the parking brake wasn’t convincing - so for €40ish a bit pricey. I already have ideas on how they could generate more money to spend on the course if that’s the issue! So overall LOVE the hotel and everything it offers, but the golf needs the same attention to detail and tlc because it really wouldn’t take much to get this gorgeous golf facility back to its best - I’d love to be the golf manager here - give me 6 months and the investment it needs & it would be back to its European tour glory days standards!

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 11 2018
    • Ljubljana, Slovenia
    • Friends getaway

    Miha M

    “Great hotel”


    Lovely hotel with exceptional food, breakfast was delicius and dinner was even better, good wine list and wide range of dishes. Chalanging golf course with a nice line up, in the top season should be even nicer.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 10 2018
    • Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    glendy2015

    “Excellent stay”


    Excellent stay comfortable room, attentive, helpful staff good choice of food well prepared and presented. Excellent service from the staff in the pro shop, both on booking and during our stay. Our 3rd visit but definitely not our last.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 4 2018
    • Couples

    Jonathan L

    “Spa day”


    Only used the spa, it was not easy to locate, clear markings on path and at entry points would help greatly. Spa was nice enough and massage was more of a back and leg "rub with oil" rather than true "massage". A couple of the water functions of the therapy pool did not work well, and water temp was a bit low. No "hot tub" . Only cold and warm water pools. Nice, but not the level I expected from this resort complex.


    César G, Director General at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
    Dear customer, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your visit at our Barceló Montecastillo Golf. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We regret hearing that your U-Spa experience was not as pleasant and relaxing as it should have been due to the temperature of the pool and the inconveniences with the water functions. We assure you that it was a punctual problem that has already been solved, but even so, we have transmitted your comments to the departments involved to avoid this type of situation in the future. We would like to take this opportunity to explain you that our indoor pool it is a dynamic pool with jets and massage beds. We offer to our clients a treatment that is performed in one of our cabins with a hot tub. Thank you for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to welcoming you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, César Gómez Director General Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 4 2018
    • Family

    Rob H

    “Cracking venue!”


    I spent 4 days at the hotel with my two eldest sons on a golf trip. Initial impressions were very good with the entrance and buildings really impressive. My only minor moans would’ve that our bedroom was a bit small and basic for three adults and that the bar/restaurant was quite expensive (around £7 a drink) One thing I was very grateful for was our hire care so we could drive to the nearest supermarket in Jerez to purchase snacks and drinks. The golf course is immense. It should come with a warning about how tough and long it is! We walked it the first day ( never again!) but buggied after that. Course conditions were good but some areas were a bit tired but then again we played in January so no complaints. I would thoroughly recommend the experience but don’t think you’re going to master the course. I play off 15 and lost at least 6 balls on each round. Straight long drives are essential. Hopefully we will return soon!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 1 2018
    • Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    DBGOLFPRO

    “So much to love but the golf is tired....”


    We came for a winter golf break. My wife is a true 36 handicap and I am a pro so we cover the full handicap range. We have discussed our thoughts and we both agree: Hotel 10/10 Service in bars and restaurants 1st class. Reception not quite so good - (although the website says check-in after 2pm) we arrived at 12:30 and on arrival the young lady told us our room would be ready by 1pm-1:30pm (happy days we thought plenty of time before golf) however, the room was eventually (after much chasing up on our part) ready at 13:45 (we both think the reception girls were a little too preoccupied with The Renault RS Team group due to arrive). So we had a manic chase down to the 1st tee for our 1st 9 holes, but in the grand scheme of things it was a minor glitch. The restaurant is lovely with more than enough choice of good food to cover even the more fussy tastes. All beautifully Presented too. The Staff work VERY hard here and attention to detail is superb. Now for the Golf review. The course layout is 11/10 - it’s spectacular! (Check the photos out if you don’t believe me) The saddest thing for us was that the whole golf facility needs a lot of urgent TLC. The greens were consistant, RAPID and true - just a shame that the golfers who play them DON’T know how to fix a pitchmark and the green staff don’t seem to either! The tee boxes need seeding or re-turfing 6/10. The fairways were THE biggest disappointment patchy with bald lies galore and yet so much water is thrown on them on a daily basis that every shot was more of a splat than a hit! 2/10 The bunkers were inconsistant some your ball could plug below the level of the sand and others had nothing but hard compacted dust in them. 3/10 The practice facilities - Driving range - again the grass is balding and patchy and the ropes hadn’t been moved all week so every slot was divoted And or bare - why not use should the mats in the undercover bays in the winter to allow the grass to fully recover before being used again? The undercover area needs a fresh coat of paint as well. 6/10 The chipping green and the putting green are good reflections of how the course plays so ideal to get the short game brushed up on. 8/10 The clubhouse facilities - mens changing room has an uneven stone floor that needs attention to get it level and there are lockers but no keys?! The electric hand drier is there but doesn’t work - good job for the paper towels! Nice electric shoe care unit buffs them up to a shine - nice touch. 5/10 There is the facility to leave your bags in another locker area with the caddy master and as we took ours back to our room every day we can’t say what these facilities are like. The Proshop is gorgeous with a wide variety of goods for sale and REALLY well displayed (got a couple of ideas from their displays for my shop when I get home) the proshop staff are VERY friendly (which is a constant throughout the entire venue) and are on the ball with every booking. 10/10 There are buggies available and use one because there are lots of long drives between holes let alone walks! We found the electric ones were in better condition compared to the petrol ones, but all the ones we had the parking brake wasn’t convincing - so for €40ish a bit pricey. I already have ideas on how they could generate more money to spend on the course if that’s the issue! So overall LOVE the hotel and everything it offers, but the golf needs the same attention to detail and tlc because it really wouldn’t take much to get this gorgeous golf facility back to its best - I’d love to be the golf manager here - give me 6 months and the investment it needs & it would be back to its European tour glory days standards!


    Barceló Montecastillo Golf Hotel Views
    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z