Barceló Hotel Pool  Estepona Thalasso Spa

Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa - Adults Only

Texto: 34685 With an exclusive Thalasso spa and surrounded by golf courses, this hotel is a refuge of luxury and relaxation on the Costa del Sol. A-7 Autovía del Mediterráneo, Km. 165 ( Salida “Cancelada”) | 29680 Estepona
+34 952 899 499 34 952 883 908
Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa - Adults Only Texto: 34685 4 out of 5 based on 872 ratings. 872 user reviews.
Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa - Adults Only reviewed by spearce53 on . Nice hotel but.... Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well presented, plentiful with a great selection. Our room was clean and comfortable. However... Rating: 4
map

Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa - Adults Only

A-7 Autovía del Mediterráneo, Km. 165 ( Salida “Cancelada”)   29680 Estepona  


Places of Interest

66.2 km Malaga–Costa del Sol Airport

73.6 km Port of Malaga

80.1 km Maria Zambrano Railway Station - Malaga

70 km Picasso Museum & Cathedral

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa - Adults Only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 880 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

44% Complete

395

Very good

36% Complete

322

Average

12% Complete

111

Poor

2% Complete

26

Very poor

2% Complete

26

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    bernadette547 09/11/2017 Couples

    “Bernie”

    This hotel is to far out from a town. Is surrounded by noisy traffic. I would not recommend anyone to stay there unless you have a car. Taxi service was just out side but cost a fortune twice a day to get to beach and back to restaurant in evenings.

    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Assistant Manager at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs. Close, In first place, I would like to thank you for informing us of your concerns regarding your stay with us, as we at Occidental Hotels & Resorts are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will certainly help us in the continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, for which I greatly appreciate the time you have spent sharing your experience with us. I have personally taken note of the scores you have given us for the different ranges of the survey, with the intention of acting on everything that we can modify to achieve higher levels of satisfaction. Be that as it may, we hope to welcome you again soon so that in addition to enjoying our services and facilities, above all, you can check that we work day by day acting directly on the advice and comments of our customers. Kind regards, Alexandra Fuentes, Assistant Manager

    Round Indicators
    spearce53 Fort Lauderdale, Florida. 09/08/2017 Couples

    “Nice hotel but....”

    Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well presented, plentiful with a great selection. Our room was clean and comfortable. However, the hotel needs some refurbishing. The place is a bit shabby. There are dead potted plants all over the hotel. Throw them out and buy new plants. It could be such a nice little hotel but it's let down by untidy shabby areas in the hotel. It looks like nobody cares.

    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
     Dear spearce53, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Occidental Estepona and I can also confirm, that your comments and suggestions are not only considered among us here at the hotel, but also in our main offices. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can check that your words are taken into account apart from enjoying our services again. Best regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

    Round Indicators
    A3016IOrobertc Marbella, Spain. 09/06/2017 Couples

    “Very poor reception & awful rooms very hard beds & red basins in bathroom!!! Looks like a holiday inn with 5 star price!”

    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!! Even on check in we had to pay 50 per cent of our 1 week stay!!! Even though we didn't stop there!!! We checked out straight away & the manager made us pay !!!! Really upset & they didn't give a damm

    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
     Dear A3016IOrobertc, Although I am quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your short stay at Occidental Estepona, first of all I would like to convey my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay. Nevertheless and in response to your words, I would like to add that paying the full stay on the check in is becoming the usual way in most of the hotels around the world, just as airlines and travel agencies, as well as any online purchase, do and we, consumers, accept it with absolute normality. In any case, please accept our apologies and believe we do extend them with all sincerity. Best regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Julie S Plymouth, England, United Kingdom. 09/04/2017

    “Not relaxing !!”

    This is my review for the Occidental hotel and thalassotherapy spa hotel near estepona On arrival at 12:45am we were informed the bar was closed so we couldn't relax with a drink after traveling for 9 hours. We were asked for our card to pre pay the bill of 1,236 euros .. weird after staying in hundreds of hotel all over the world, a swipe to guarantee payment yes.. but immediate payment on check in?? I wonder why? The mini bar in the room was empty except for 2 old yogurts and an orange left by the previous guests. You have to ask for it to be stocked with a choice of 4 menus and pre payment is taken !! We walked onto our balcony to see the main motorway that runs down the coast... traffic noise all night .. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room No robes, no slippers.. no conditioner, really poor wifi. Oh well bed. Dry and noisy. The first morning. Buffet breakfast. Cold eggs.. everything was luke warm, cereals soft and stale, The coffee was great though.. Cloudy .. so let's go to the Spa Oh no sorry it's an extra 30 euros per day to use the spa 😳.. no mention of this on the website or Booking dot com... This is a Spa hotel??? Ok well let have a few drinks at the pool bar. Oh sorry it's closed because it's cloudy? You know us English types, grateful that it's not raining.. but no staff to cover the bar on a cloudy day? Ok let's have a drink in the piano bar.. oh sorry there's no piano.. but a bar with a piano design on it. Total Mis-representation It's actually the lobby bar which is unattended at all times ... unless you ask for service!! Day 2... let's go lie outside on the Balinese beds we saw in the brochure... Oh no sorry, these have to be paid for at a cost of another 30 euros per day 😢 it gets worse.. Well any sun bed will do I suppose So I asked to check out and for a refund .. I was told I would have to pay 628 euros. Half the cost of our entire 9 Night stay. The manager Alex was lovely and very helpful, we were offered a quieter room on the 4th floor. Slightly less traffic noise away from the main motorway.. and a complimentary Spa pass. The service is terrible due to a real lack of staff. One waiter told me there were only 3 staff to cover the pool bar, the lobby bar, room service, lunch orders etc for the entire hotel! All the staff were running ragged back and forth from bars and the restaurant, consequently you waited ages for a drink and food. This hotel is therefore not the relaxing spa break we paid for. The staff remained cheerful and helpful but the holiday was really very stressful for us. I think the Barcelo group should be ashamed.. this is August, the height of the season and their efforts to save money on staff has made this a holiday I would not want to repeat.. We have renamed the hotel the "Accidental hotel and Spa". Do not stay here, there are many other hotels to stay in with more soul, more life and more atmosphere.. service when you want it and for less money. After staying at Other Barcelo hotels, this was extremely disappointing... day 8 is very windy with umbrellas blowing every where. But no staff to deal with it. I have seen 4 near misses today already... it's an accident waiting to happen.

    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Julie S, Although I am quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your stay at Occidental Estepona as non of these are normal nor usual and you can check this website and others to check it, but anyway you can rest assured that every point depending on us will be investigated properly and deeply in order to erradicate any possible deviation of our strict quality standards. I would also like to inform you that in Occidental Hotels & Resort we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement therefore and apart from appreciating your critic, I am honestly sorry if we could not cover your expectations fully this time and whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. Sincerely, Pablo Canca General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Sherry F London, United Kingdom. 09/03/2017 Couples

    “Relaxing holiday ”

    We enjoyed a 6 night stay here. Staff are fantastic and very welcoming. Very clean everywhere, rooms are large with everything you need. We stayed full board and enjoyed the excellent selection at each mealtime. The spa is a must, very therapeutic! Loved the fact that there were always plenty of sunbeds although the umbrellas need some new pins ( ask at the pool bar and they will improvise). Best part was no children so we could fully relax in the peaceful atmosphere.

    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Assistant Manager at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Sherry F, Thank you for the great feedback of your visit and experience at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa. For us, our guest satisfaction is the number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Alexandra Fuentes Assistant Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 11 2017
    • Couples

    bernadette547

    “Bernie”


    This hotel is to far out from a town. Is surrounded by noisy traffic. I would not recommend anyone to stay there unless you have a car. Taxi service was just out side but cost a fortune twice a day to get to beach and back to restaurant in evenings.


    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Assistant Manager at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs. Close, In first place, I would like to thank you for informing us of your concerns regarding your stay with us, as we at Occidental Hotels & Resorts are convinced that there is always room for improvement and your comments will certainly help us in the continuous efforts to meet the expectations of our guests, for which I greatly appreciate the time you have spent sharing your experience with us. I have personally taken note of the scores you have given us for the different ranges of the survey, with the intention of acting on everything that we can modify to achieve higher levels of satisfaction. Be that as it may, we hope to welcome you again soon so that in addition to enjoying our services and facilities, above all, you can check that we work day by day acting directly on the advice and comments of our customers. Kind regards, Alexandra Fuentes, Assistant Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 8 2017
    • Fort Lauderdale, Florida
    • Couples

    spearce53

    “Nice hotel but....”


    Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well presented, plentiful with a great selection. Our room was clean and comfortable. However, the hotel needs some refurbishing. The place is a bit shabby. There are dead potted plants all over the hotel. Throw them out and buy new plants. It could be such a nice little hotel but it's let down by untidy shabby areas in the hotel. It looks like nobody cares.


    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
    Dear spearce53, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Occidental Estepona and I can also confirm, that your comments and suggestions are not only considered among us here at the hotel, but also in our main offices. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can check that your words are taken into account apart from enjoying our services again. Best regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 6 2017
    • Marbella, Spain
    • Couples

    A3016IOrobertc

    “Very poor reception & awful rooms very hard beds & red basins in bathroom!!! Looks like a holiday inn with 5 star price!”


    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!! Even on check in we had to pay 50 per cent of our 1 week stay!!! Even though we didn't stop there!!! We checked out straight away & the manager made us pay !!!! Really upset & they didn't give a damm


    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
    Dear A3016IOrobertc, Although I am quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your short stay at Occidental Estepona, first of all I would like to convey my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have suffered during your stay. Nevertheless and in response to your words, I would like to add that paying the full stay on the check in is becoming the usual way in most of the hotels around the world, just as airlines and travel agencies, as well as any online purchase, do and we, consumers, accept it with absolute normality. In any case, please accept our apologies and believe we do extend them with all sincerity. Best regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 4 2017
    • Plymouth, England, United Kingdom

    Julie S

    “Not relaxing !!”


    This is my review for the Occidental hotel and thalassotherapy spa hotel near estepona On arrival at 12:45am we were informed the bar was closed so we couldn't relax with a drink after traveling for 9 hours. We were asked for our card to pre pay the bill of 1,236 euros .. weird after staying in hundreds of hotel all over the world, a swipe to guarantee payment yes.. but immediate payment on check in?? I wonder why? The mini bar in the room was empty except for 2 old yogurts and an orange left by the previous guests. You have to ask for it to be stocked with a choice of 4 menus and pre payment is taken !! We walked onto our balcony to see the main motorway that runs down the coast... traffic noise all night .. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room No robes, no slippers.. no conditioner, really poor wifi. Oh well bed. Dry and noisy. The first morning. Buffet breakfast. Cold eggs.. everything was luke warm, cereals soft and stale, The coffee was great though.. Cloudy .. so let's go to the Spa Oh no sorry it's an extra 30 euros per day to use the spa 😳.. no mention of this on the website or Booking dot com... This is a Spa hotel??? Ok well let have a few drinks at the pool bar. Oh sorry it's closed because it's cloudy? You know us English types, grateful that it's not raining.. but no staff to cover the bar on a cloudy day? Ok let's have a drink in the piano bar.. oh sorry there's no piano.. but a bar with a piano design on it. Total Mis-representation It's actually the lobby bar which is unattended at all times ... unless you ask for service!! Day 2... let's go lie outside on the Balinese beds we saw in the brochure... Oh no sorry, these have to be paid for at a cost of another 30 euros per day 😢 it gets worse.. Well any sun bed will do I suppose So I asked to check out and for a refund .. I was told I would have to pay 628 euros. Half the cost of our entire 9 Night stay. The manager Alex was lovely and very helpful, we were offered a quieter room on the 4th floor. Slightly less traffic noise away from the main motorway.. and a complimentary Spa pass. The service is terrible due to a real lack of staff. One waiter told me there were only 3 staff to cover the pool bar, the lobby bar, room service, lunch orders etc for the entire hotel! All the staff were running ragged back and forth from bars and the restaurant, consequently you waited ages for a drink and food. This hotel is therefore not the relaxing spa break we paid for. The staff remained cheerful and helpful but the holiday was really very stressful for us. I think the Barcelo group should be ashamed.. this is August, the height of the season and their efforts to save money on staff has made this a holiday I would not want to repeat.. We have renamed the hotel the "Accidental hotel and Spa". Do not stay here, there are many other hotels to stay in with more soul, more life and more atmosphere.. service when you want it and for less money. After staying at Other Barcelo hotels, this was extremely disappointing... day 8 is very windy with umbrellas blowing every where. But no staff to deal with it. I have seen 4 near misses today already... it's an accident waiting to happen.


    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Julie S, Although I am quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your stay at Occidental Estepona as non of these are normal nor usual and you can check this website and others to check it, but anyway you can rest assured that every point depending on us will be investigated properly and deeply in order to erradicate any possible deviation of our strict quality standards. I would also like to inform you that in Occidental Hotels & Resort we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement therefore and apart from appreciating your critic, I am honestly sorry if we could not cover your expectations fully this time and whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. Sincerely, Pablo Canca General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 3 2017
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Sherry F

    “Relaxing holiday ”


    We enjoyed a 6 night stay here. Staff are fantastic and very welcoming. Very clean everywhere, rooms are large with everything you need. We stayed full board and enjoyed the excellent selection at each mealtime. The spa is a must, very therapeutic! Loved the fact that there were always plenty of sunbeds although the umbrellas need some new pins ( ask at the pool bar and they will improvise). Best part was no children so we could fully relax in the peaceful atmosphere.


    OccidentalEsteponaGM, Assistant Manager at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Sherry F, Thank you for the great feedback of your visit and experience at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa. For us, our guest satisfaction is the number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Alexandra Fuentes Assistant Manager

    Barceló Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments  Estepona Thalasso Spa

    A haven of luxury and relaxation on the Costa del Sol

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates