Surroundings at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel

Occidental Playa de Palma

Texto: 105339 Right in the heart of Playa de Palma, this hotel boasts an exclusive selection of sports facilities including a prestigious cycling centre. CL Fra Joan Llabrés, 16 | 07600 Playa de Palma, Palma de Mallorca (Mallorca)
+34 971 261 700 +34 971 266 936
Occidental Playa de Palma Texto: 105339 4 out of 5 based on 1352 ratings. 1352 user reviews.
Occidental Playa de Palma reviewed by hopedene123 on . Mrs loten Hotel is very clean and food nice the whole resort is catered for Germans even all the bars have German writing on them and also the shops all the t-shirts is all written in German very few English... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Playa de Palma

CL Fra Joan Llabrés, 16   07600 Playa de Palma, Palma de Mallorca (Mallorca)  


Places of Interest

6 km Son Sant Joan International Airport

7 km Son Antem Golf Course

200 m Palma beach

200 m Bus to Palma

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Playa de Palma

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1437 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

31% Complete

456

Very good

40% Complete

586

Average

18% Complete

272

Poor

5% Complete

82

Very poor

2% Complete

43

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Annalisa22013 Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States. 06/13/2017 Family

    “Fake "free" cancellation policy BEWARE”

    I made an August reservation in the January prior, as the cancellation policy clearly stated free cancellation until a few weeks before the August arrival date. Now just went to check on my reservation, and the cancellation policy language has disappeared from my online confirmation details. I cancelled the reservation online and was immediately charged the full amount, called the 800 number in the US and they couldn't do anything. This hotel chain in many ways is very unprofessional and does not follow standard international hotel norms, but this is shocking. DON'T RESERVE HERE BECAUSE THEY WILL CHANGE THE CANCELLATION POLICY AND CHARGE YOU.

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Annalisa, First and foremost, we sincerely regret reading the difficulties you encountered with your reservation and lament hearing that you had to cancel your trip. We however would like to take the opportunity to clarify that for all bookings made through our official website barcelo.com or our call center, our guests receive a confirmation email in an unalterable PDF document including all terms and condition of cancellation or modification depending on the chosen rate, therefore we can only assume that you booked your holiday through an external partners website. Nevertheless, please do not hesitate to contact our call center should you have booked through us, all numbers and a contact form are available through this link: https://barcelo-en.custhelp.com/ , we will be pleased to assist. Kindest Regards, Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    james p London, United Kingdom. 06/12/2017 Couples

    “Absolutely not a relaxing time”

    I wish I'd read more reviews before hastily booking this place. The whole area is swamped with drunken Germans, all shops in the area cater for Germans, no Spanish food in sight, the hotel is noisy, old fashioned and generally crap. German magaluf as another review said is bang on. Tomorrow going to find another hotel !

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear James, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Occidental Playa de Palma fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We understand that Playa de Palma might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit the website where you can find a detailed description about the hotel and the location or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true and fulfills your holiday expectations. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future in one of our hotels. Best regards, Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    lolohusam 06/09/2017 Family

    “Not 4 star hotel ”

    The room is very smelly and the cover also and the aircondition is old and not working good and you can't sleep good because a lot of noise there and you can't use the kettle because it's dirty and they didn't give you any tea or coffee bags and there is no shampoo and conditioner just one bottle for everything actually I'm wondering why it is 4star and we paid 180 for one night for nothing

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Playa de Palma, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our réception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness , this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    christineshowmyhouse Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom. 06/08/2017

    “German magaluf not for kids but hotel good”

    Great place to stay if you want to be in the centre of the equilivant of Magaluf it's full of loud parties and all you expect literally of 18 yrs old and upwards, in fairness lot of older folks partying 👍😎 walk out of town and it's great after half a mile !!! Hotel is fine but dynamics change daily based on seasons and does cater for large groups of party people . Food very good basic but good standard n varied , rooms fine , air con rubbish , staff very good esp bar and restaurant . We came before the mad main season would come again out of season but not for youngsters and if you have teenagers !!!! We had a great time hotel good location great for group parties not for calm and tranquility

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Christine, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Playa de Palma we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are very sorry to read the disturbances caused by the air conditionning unit in your room and not being immediately informed as we would have been able to send a technician and have it repaired in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything we may do for you to fully enjoy your stay among us. On the other hand It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    Jrdalbion Birmingham, United Kingdom. 06/02/2017 Family

    “A great short break”

    Recently stayed for a few days in a junior suite & would recommend. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The suite, whilst not huge, was modern and contemporary and had everything you could need. Particularly worth a mention was the very comfortable beds and amazing shower. The suites had 2 large plasma tv's, but little choice for English speakers (I wouldn't normally mention this as you don't go on holiday to watch tv, but they were a feature of the room - we did enjoy listening to the radio on them though). The food was excellent, both in terms of choice & quality. 2 great pools & a small one for young children. Free wifi in all areas was a valued bonus. The clientele was mixed nationalities, although majority German (we were aware of this before we booked, but it's not a consideration for us personally). I would say the guests were aged in their 20's, or more mature couples. Wouldn't really recommend this as a family hotel. The only negatives I had (and why this is not a 5* review) is that because people were often checking in/out in large groups that I had to wait longer than I would expect when wanting/needing to speak with reception. Also, some of the groups could, on occasion, get a little boisterous, but harmless enough. I would suggest if this may be an issue for you, that not only would this hotel not be for you, but neither would the resort as a whole. Final positive points is that the hotel is conveniently located in the resort, easy to travel into Palma and a short transfer to the airport.

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service, without waiting times. We are greatfu for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday expérience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 13 2017
    • Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
    • Family

    Annalisa22013

    “Fake "free" cancellation policy BEWARE”


    I made an August reservation in the January prior, as the cancellation policy clearly stated free cancellation until a few weeks before the August arrival date. Now just went to check on my reservation, and the cancellation policy language has disappeared from my online confirmation details. I cancelled the reservation online and was immediately charged the full amount, called the 800 number in the US and they couldn't do anything. This hotel chain in many ways is very unprofessional and does not follow standard international hotel norms, but this is shocking. DON'T RESERVE HERE BECAUSE THEY WILL CHANGE THE CANCELLATION POLICY AND CHARGE YOU.


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Annalisa, First and foremost, we sincerely regret reading the difficulties you encountered with your reservation and lament hearing that you had to cancel your trip. We however would like to take the opportunity to clarify that for all bookings made through our official website barcelo.com or our call center, our guests receive a confirmation email in an unalterable PDF document including all terms and condition of cancellation or modification depending on the chosen rate, therefore we can only assume that you booked your holiday through an external partners website. Nevertheless, please do not hesitate to contact our call center should you have booked through us, all numbers and a contact form are available through this link: https://barcelo-en.custhelp.com/ , we will be pleased to assist. Kindest Regards, Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 12 2017
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    james p

    “Absolutely not a relaxing time”


    I wish I'd read more reviews before hastily booking this place. The whole area is swamped with drunken Germans, all shops in the area cater for Germans, no Spanish food in sight, the hotel is noisy, old fashioned and generally crap. German magaluf as another review said is bang on. Tomorrow going to find another hotel !


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear James, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Occidental Playa de Palma fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We understand that Playa de Palma might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit the website where you can find a detailed description about the hotel and the location or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true and fulfills your holiday expectations. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future in one of our hotels. Best regards, Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 9 2017
    • Family

    lolohusam

    “Not 4 star hotel ”


    The room is very smelly and the cover also and the aircondition is old and not working good and you can't sleep good because a lot of noise there and you can't use the kettle because it's dirty and they didn't give you any tea or coffee bags and there is no shampoo and conditioner just one bottle for everything actually I'm wondering why it is 4star and we paid 180 for one night for nothing


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Playa de Palma, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. Thorough cleaning is an absolute must for Barceló and we follow very strict protocols to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness in our hotels, for future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our réception in the event of finding any area of uncleanliness , this will give us an opportunity to bring your remarks to the attention of our housekeeping management. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 8 2017
    • Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom

    christineshowmyhouse

    “German magaluf not for kids but hotel good”


    Great place to stay if you want to be in the centre of the equilivant of Magaluf it's full of loud parties and all you expect literally of 18 yrs old and upwards, in fairness lot of older folks partying 👍😎 walk out of town and it's great after half a mile !!! Hotel is fine but dynamics change daily based on seasons and does cater for large groups of party people . Food very good basic but good standard n varied , rooms fine , air con rubbish , staff very good esp bar and restaurant . We came before the mad main season would come again out of season but not for youngsters and if you have teenagers !!!! We had a great time hotel good location great for group parties not for calm and tranquility


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Christine, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Playa de Palma we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are very sorry to read the disturbances caused by the air conditionning unit in your room and not being immediately informed as we would have been able to send a technician and have it repaired in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything we may do for you to fully enjoy your stay among us. On the other hand It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 2 2017
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Jrdalbion

    “A great short break”


    Recently stayed for a few days in a junior suite & would recommend. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The suite, whilst not huge, was modern and contemporary and had everything you could need. Particularly worth a mention was the very comfortable beds and amazing shower. The suites had 2 large plasma tv's, but little choice for English speakers (I wouldn't normally mention this as you don't go on holiday to watch tv, but they were a feature of the room - we did enjoy listening to the radio on them though). The food was excellent, both in terms of choice & quality. 2 great pools & a small one for young children. Free wifi in all areas was a valued bonus. The clientele was mixed nationalities, although majority German (we were aware of this before we booked, but it's not a consideration for us personally). I would say the guests were aged in their 20's, or more mature couples. Wouldn't really recommend this as a family hotel. The only negatives I had (and why this is not a 5* review) is that because people were often checking in/out in large groups that I had to wait longer than I would expect when wanting/needing to speak with reception. Also, some of the groups could, on occasion, get a little boisterous, but harmless enough. I would suggest if this may be an issue for you, that not only would this hotel not be for you, but neither would the resort as a whole. Final positive points is that the hotel is conveniently located in the resort, easy to travel into Palma and a short transfer to the airport.


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service, without waiting times. We are greatfu for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday expérience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards from Mallorca Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience

    Swimming pool at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel

    An unforgettable holiday in Mallorca starts right here

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be 25% of the rate (although in certain hotels the maximum accumulated discount will be 20%). It is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...