Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

Occidental Jandía Playa

Texto: 26971 Hotel with a spectacular pool area, kid’s playground and an endless choice of activities for the whole family. Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable | 35625 | Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) | Islas Canarias | España
+34 928 54 60 00 +34 928 542 626
Occidental Jandía Playa Texto: 26971 4 out of 5 based on 6211 ratings. 6211 user reviews.
Occidental Jandía Playa reviewed by Jo D on . Pleasant stay but would not return My husband and I stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis for a week at the beginning of May. The positives: the hotel was very clean; the quality of food was very good, especially the... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Jandía Playa

Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable   35625   Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura)   Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

400 m Jandía beach

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

1 km Jandía Golf

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Playa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6220 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

32% Complete

2041

Very good

40% Complete

2548

Average

16% Complete

1034

Poor

6% Complete

375

Very poor

3% Complete

222

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    carloakes Birmingham, United Kingdom. 05/15/2018 Couples

    “AI Review”

    Currently on a 14 day stay in block 7... Positives... Loverly Views (do visit the beach) Room kept clean with fresh towels and bed linen All staff friendly and mostly helpful Plenty of space around the pools Entertainment not bad Great choice of drinks in AI Snack bar loverly Negatives Graffiti on back of toilet doors! No hand soap for 10 days in toilets! Restaurant is quite honestly not up to a 4* rated hotel. Whilst food at first glance looks nice it’s not guaranteed to be hot , the presentation could be a lot better, not enough serving implements, the tables aren’t cleared (lack of staff). And one word of warning whatever you do remember to wear your wrist band ... last night we were treated almost like criminals and made to feel extremely embarrassed in front of other guests ... simply because we didn’t wear ours ... Strange that both the manager and other member of staff on the door had spoken to us regularly for the past 10 days but all of a sudden didn’t recognise us !!! I think the hotel needs to focus on either being a 4* AI or Royal ... because at the moment it feels more like a 3* B&B

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Carlo, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us in our restaurants, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. However we would like to clarify that the bands are for us a method to know if our guests are an all inclusive with drinks included, or half board, drinks not included, that have a private area in our restaurant. We are deeply sorry if in this occasion you did not feel welcome in our restaurant. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. On the other hand we are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for Barceló we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is basic for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    Ellisd91 London, United Kingdom. 05/15/2018 Couples

    “Friendly staff & great views/grounds”

    I stayed here at the beginning of May on an all inclusive basis. I had a great time, despite what other reviews have said I actually found all of the staff that I dealt with to be friendly and helpful, the check in staff on reception, bar staff and the staff at dinner. The hotel grounds are massive, I agree with what other reviews have said though and I do not recommend this hotel if you don't like walking / aren't mobile as it is very hilly and depending on where you are staying, a long walk to dinner and reception. The selection of drinks is great on AI, so is the snack bar if you miss breakfast / dinner, added bonus is the self serve drinks! I also highly recommend the spa, it only costs 12 euro for the whole day and it is very modern and clean, and the outdoor pool there is very relaxing too. There are however a few negatives, the food wasn't great, the breakfast was cold and at dinner it was very repetitive even for just the 4 nights we were there so if you stay longer it would get very boring. Often we had to call a waiter over to get a glass for a drink or cutlery. Another negative is the pools are very cold, I like a cold pool when it is hot but they are uncomfortably cold, which is a shame as there was always plenty of sunbeds so that would've made sunbathing much better! And finally, the bars are great however there isn't enough seating, and we were there out of season so I can imagine it is much worse in peak season. All the bars close at 11.30 (if you are lucky enough to get a seat in one) and there is nothing nearby so if you are after staying up later than this then you have no chance! Overall it is a nice enough hotel but with some improvements it could be much better.

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Ellis, The vision of our guests is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. We lament reading that our buffet offer in terms of variety did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We would also like to highlight that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Regarding our pools, we deeply regret your disappointment however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that the water temperature cannot go above 27 degrees as per health and safety reasons to prevent the appearance of bacteria, our guests' safety being of course our main concern at all times. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also grateful to read that you have appreciated our Wellness Center that provides our guests with a relaxing area with thermal circuit and other facilities such as hot tubs, sauna, Turkish bath as well as a selection of sophisticated treatments and a fully equipped gym. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager, Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    Jo D Cardiff, United Kingdom. 05/14/2018 Couples

    “Pleasant stay but would not return”

    My husband and I stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis for a week at the beginning of May. The positives: the hotel was very clean; the quality of food was very good, especially the morning omelettes. Plenty of sun beds available at any time of the day and good service from restaurant and bar staff. The negatives: poor customer service from reception staff. We were ignored on the few occasions we visited reception as staff chatted amongst themselves and when they could be bothered to speak to us we were dismissed very quickly with a shrug of the shoulders and given the impression that they were not interested. Don’t bother asking for a late checkout room (as advertised in the hotel information) as the maids finish cleaning at 15:30. We were refused and had the maid knocking our door at 11:30 asking to clean the room. Pleasant week in the sun but would not return as this hotel does not seem to understand the importance of customer satisfaction.

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Jo, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision. However we understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s services prior to your arrival and would like to take the opportunity to point out that a full description of our services is available on our website; as you will see the late check out being subject to availability are duly reported; due to the high season and complete occupation of our hotel we cannot guarantee late check outs, however as you well say we always offer the possibility to use a courtesy room for our guests with late flights to be able to use the hotel’s facilities and freshen up before departing for the airport.  On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    KateB8594 Coventry, United Kingdom. 05/14/2018 Couples

    “Not impressed”

    We chose this hotel after our original hotel advised building works so we opted to swap hotel looked very nice in the photos but we were not impressed. The food was cold, regardless of whether we got there bang on them opening the doors! The pools were freezing to the point you couldn’t stand it! The one heated pool was very shallow and was always over crowded. Found other guests to be quite rude, especially at meal times, we felt very intimidated. Our room was nice, but I don’t think you can really call them clean....I could write my name in dust on the side table! And the bath/shower wasn’t cleaned once whilst we were there! We were also dragged into doing a photo shoot with the hotel photographers, told free of charge (of course we knew it wouldn’t be!) you then feel obliged and pressured to purchase the photos (€120 for a photo album with 20 photos in and a memory stick that has the same photos on plus an additional 5) However whilst there it was my birthday and the hotel gave me a bottle of cava and some chocolates which I did think was a lovely touch. We won’t be in any hurry to return to this hotel as it is not what we expected at all!

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Kate, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at our Hotel we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. Regarding our pools, we deeply regret your disappointment however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that the water temperature cannot go above 27 degrees as per health and safety reasons to prevent the appearance of bacteria, our guests' safety being of course our main concern at all times. We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Occidental welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday.  We would also like to highlight that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. On the other hand we are really happy to read that you have appreciated the birthday's present we have send to you. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, please for the next time do not hesitate tto visit our website to choose the Barcelo Hotel that can meet your expectations. We are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    plbailie York, United Kingdom. 05/11/2018 Family

    “Very rude hotel staff and guests”

    Visited this sham of a hotel for x1 week for our daughters 1st birthday. Never ever again would we stay here. On arrival we arrived late but was told we could go and get a drink at the bar before closing as they would accommodate us as we had just arrived. Went straight for a drink to be rudely told goodbye finished by a male bar tender then he turned his back on us. Disgusting and awful first impressions. Secondly the food is very poor. Same poor quality food which is lukewarm every day. Every time we visited the restaurant we had to ask for a high chair and at breakfast time there was a few days we were left without being offered tea or coffee. At meal times it is a mad rush for food and I can't count how many times was nearly knocked over. The evening entertainment was terrible. X1 hour show of very amateur acts. Pool tables you have to pay for. Other than that there is nothing to do. If you want somewhere to sit on an evening then you will be lucky finding a seat. Poor amenities for guests. Got stopped by hotel photographer and said we didn't want any photos. He said it was all free it was just for hotel pictures. After the photos were taken we then were pressured into very expensive photo packages which we didn't commit too. We asked for a birthday cake at guest services and paid €20 for a chocolate cake with our daughters name on, only to find it was just a normal cake to be served at all inclusive meal times with no name on it . Not even a candle or happy birthday. We asked guest services if there was horse riding excursion in Jandia. The lady rang up a place and booked it for us. After we got picked up we soon realised it wasn't in Jandia but actually over x1 hour away and non English speaking. All German run. The guy was smoking in the car transfer which was disgusting. We arrived to find out it wasn't accommodating to beginners for my husband. Long story short. I got shouted at in German and my husband and i rightly so decided not to take part and asked for transfer back to hotel. The owner wanted the full money out of us and wouldn't let us leave without doing so. Plus he wasn't going to transfer us back to the hotel. We said we weren't paying for an excursion we did not do. He nearly rang police on us and we said we were more than happy for him to do this to sort out situation.to which he swore at my husband. We rang guest services back at the hotel and after a long time of unhelpfully sorting the situation out we managed to get a taxi to the hotel from our own money. I am shocked that we were put in this situation which was recommended and booked with guest services. They had a duty of care to which shockingly let us down. We also had asked numerous times if we could keep our room for a couple of hours for our baby to use before leaving for airport. The female receptionist was an absolute disgrace with her service to customers. She kept walking off from us and talking to other staff members and abruptly told us no we could not have the room. We had things go missing in our room and my parents room including my babies prescription cream for her skin rash. This was taken from our room. Finally after days of complaining it miraculously turned up in a random place in our room the same with items in my mum's room. My mum asked the male staff receptionist I think he's Marco, if the bus was turning up for the beach front as it was supposed to turn up at 10.30 and she had been waiting 10-15minutes before hand. He was very very rude to my mum and abruptly said no it's gone and walked away from her. I am actually writing this review whilst sat by the pool as I am fuming with this hotel. What was supposed to be a lovely first holiday as a family for my daughter has been nothing but hassle. I have travelled many many places and not once have I experienced such rude staff. Being spoken to like your nothing but a problem to them. Don't complain here as you will only get frowned upon. We saw alot of guests complaining one morning in front of us and they too were just dismissed. Please please please avoid this hotel at all costs. It is not worth the money and you will leave feeling like you need another holiday.

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. At Occidental we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enourmous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Furthermore, we are sorry that you didn´t really appreciate the efforts of our entertainment team either. They do try to involve and animate our guests although we do appreciate that not everybody is into this, therefore our team is trained to entertain without disturbing guests that are solely looking for relaxation and have no interest joining in the program being offered.  For future occasion please contact with our reception or guest service for any issue you can find in our services. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 15 2018
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    carloakes

    “AI Review”


    Currently on a 14 day stay in block 7... Positives... Loverly Views (do visit the beach) Room kept clean with fresh towels and bed linen All staff friendly and mostly helpful Plenty of space around the pools Entertainment not bad Great choice of drinks in AI Snack bar loverly Negatives Graffiti on back of toilet doors! No hand soap for 10 days in toilets! Restaurant is quite honestly not up to a 4* rated hotel. Whilst food at first glance looks nice it’s not guaranteed to be hot , the presentation could be a lot better, not enough serving implements, the tables aren’t cleared (lack of staff). And one word of warning whatever you do remember to wear your wrist band ... last night we were treated almost like criminals and made to feel extremely embarrassed in front of other guests ... simply because we didn’t wear ours ... Strange that both the manager and other member of staff on the door had spoken to us regularly for the past 10 days but all of a sudden didn’t recognise us !!! I think the hotel needs to focus on either being a 4* AI or Royal ... because at the moment it feels more like a 3* B&B


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Carlo, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us in our restaurants, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. However we would like to clarify that the bands are for us a method to know if our guests are an all inclusive with drinks included, or half board, drinks not included, that have a private area in our restaurant. We are deeply sorry if in this occasion you did not feel welcome in our restaurant. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. On the other hand we are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for Barceló we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is basic for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 15 2018
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Ellisd91

    “Friendly staff & great views/grounds”


    I stayed here at the beginning of May on an all inclusive basis. I had a great time, despite what other reviews have said I actually found all of the staff that I dealt with to be friendly and helpful, the check in staff on reception, bar staff and the staff at dinner. The hotel grounds are massive, I agree with what other reviews have said though and I do not recommend this hotel if you don't like walking / aren't mobile as it is very hilly and depending on where you are staying, a long walk to dinner and reception. The selection of drinks is great on AI, so is the snack bar if you miss breakfast / dinner, added bonus is the self serve drinks! I also highly recommend the spa, it only costs 12 euro for the whole day and it is very modern and clean, and the outdoor pool there is very relaxing too. There are however a few negatives, the food wasn't great, the breakfast was cold and at dinner it was very repetitive even for just the 4 nights we were there so if you stay longer it would get very boring. Often we had to call a waiter over to get a glass for a drink or cutlery. Another negative is the pools are very cold, I like a cold pool when it is hot but they are uncomfortably cold, which is a shame as there was always plenty of sunbeds so that would've made sunbathing much better! And finally, the bars are great however there isn't enough seating, and we were there out of season so I can imagine it is much worse in peak season. All the bars close at 11.30 (if you are lucky enough to get a seat in one) and there is nothing nearby so if you are after staying up later than this then you have no chance! Overall it is a nice enough hotel but with some improvements it could be much better.


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Ellis, The vision of our guests is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. We lament reading that our buffet offer in terms of variety did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We would also like to highlight that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Regarding our pools, we deeply regret your disappointment however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that the water temperature cannot go above 27 degrees as per health and safety reasons to prevent the appearance of bacteria, our guests' safety being of course our main concern at all times. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also grateful to read that you have appreciated our Wellness Center that provides our guests with a relaxing area with thermal circuit and other facilities such as hot tubs, sauna, Turkish bath as well as a selection of sophisticated treatments and a fully equipped gym. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager, Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 14 2018
    • Cardiff, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Jo D

    “Pleasant stay but would not return”


    My husband and I stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis for a week at the beginning of May. The positives: the hotel was very clean; the quality of food was very good, especially the morning omelettes. Plenty of sun beds available at any time of the day and good service from restaurant and bar staff. The negatives: poor customer service from reception staff. We were ignored on the few occasions we visited reception as staff chatted amongst themselves and when they could be bothered to speak to us we were dismissed very quickly with a shrug of the shoulders and given the impression that they were not interested. Don’t bother asking for a late checkout room (as advertised in the hotel information) as the maids finish cleaning at 15:30. We were refused and had the maid knocking our door at 11:30 asking to clean the room. Pleasant week in the sun but would not return as this hotel does not seem to understand the importance of customer satisfaction.


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Jo, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision. However we understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s services prior to your arrival and would like to take the opportunity to point out that a full description of our services is available on our website; as you will see the late check out being subject to availability are duly reported; due to the high season and complete occupation of our hotel we cannot guarantee late check outs, however as you well say we always offer the possibility to use a courtesy room for our guests with late flights to be able to use the hotel’s facilities and freshen up before departing for the airport.  On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 14 2018
    • Coventry, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    KateB8594

    “Not impressed”


    We chose this hotel after our original hotel advised building works so we opted to swap hotel looked very nice in the photos but we were not impressed. The food was cold, regardless of whether we got there bang on them opening the doors! The pools were freezing to the point you couldn’t stand it! The one heated pool was very shallow and was always over crowded. Found other guests to be quite rude, especially at meal times, we felt very intimidated. Our room was nice, but I don’t think you can really call them clean....I could write my name in dust on the side table! And the bath/shower wasn’t cleaned once whilst we were there! We were also dragged into doing a photo shoot with the hotel photographers, told free of charge (of course we knew it wouldn’t be!) you then feel obliged and pressured to purchase the photos (€120 for a photo album with 20 photos in and a memory stick that has the same photos on plus an additional 5) However whilst there it was my birthday and the hotel gave me a bottle of cava and some chocolates which I did think was a lovely touch. We won’t be in any hurry to return to this hotel as it is not what we expected at all!


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Kate, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at our Hotel we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. Regarding our pools, we deeply regret your disappointment however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that the water temperature cannot go above 27 degrees as per health and safety reasons to prevent the appearance of bacteria, our guests' safety being of course our main concern at all times. We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Occidental welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday.  We would also like to highlight that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. On the other hand we are really happy to read that you have appreciated the birthday's present we have send to you. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, please for the next time do not hesitate tto visit our website to choose the Barcelo Hotel that can meet your expectations. We are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 11 2018
    • York, United Kingdom
    • Family

    plbailie

    “Very rude hotel staff and guests”


    Visited this sham of a hotel for x1 week for our daughters 1st birthday. Never ever again would we stay here. On arrival we arrived late but was told we could go and get a drink at the bar before closing as they would accommodate us as we had just arrived. Went straight for a drink to be rudely told goodbye finished by a male bar tender then he turned his back on us. Disgusting and awful first impressions. Secondly the food is very poor. Same poor quality food which is lukewarm every day. Every time we visited the restaurant we had to ask for a high chair and at breakfast time there was a few days we were left without being offered tea or coffee. At meal times it is a mad rush for food and I can't count how many times was nearly knocked over. The evening entertainment was terrible. X1 hour show of very amateur acts. Pool tables you have to pay for. Other than that there is nothing to do. If you want somewhere to sit on an evening then you will be lucky finding a seat. Poor amenities for guests. Got stopped by hotel photographer and said we didn't want any photos. He said it was all free it was just for hotel pictures. After the photos were taken we then were pressured into very expensive photo packages which we didn't commit too. We asked for a birthday cake at guest services and paid €20 for a chocolate cake with our daughters name on, only to find it was just a normal cake to be served at all inclusive meal times with no name on it . Not even a candle or happy birthday. We asked guest services if there was horse riding excursion in Jandia. The lady rang up a place and booked it for us. After we got picked up we soon realised it wasn't in Jandia but actually over x1 hour away and non English speaking. All German run. The guy was smoking in the car transfer which was disgusting. We arrived to find out it wasn't accommodating to beginners for my husband. Long story short. I got shouted at in German and my husband and i rightly so decided not to take part and asked for transfer back to hotel. The owner wanted the full money out of us and wouldn't let us leave without doing so. Plus he wasn't going to transfer us back to the hotel. We said we weren't paying for an excursion we did not do. He nearly rang police on us and we said we were more than happy for him to do this to sort out situation.to which he swore at my husband. We rang guest services back at the hotel and after a long time of unhelpfully sorting the situation out we managed to get a taxi to the hotel from our own money. I am shocked that we were put in this situation which was recommended and booked with guest services. They had a duty of care to which shockingly let us down. We also had asked numerous times if we could keep our room for a couple of hours for our baby to use before leaving for airport. The female receptionist was an absolute disgrace with her service to customers. She kept walking off from us and talking to other staff members and abruptly told us no we could not have the room. We had things go missing in our room and my parents room including my babies prescription cream for her skin rash. This was taken from our room. Finally after days of complaining it miraculously turned up in a random place in our room the same with items in my mum's room. My mum asked the male staff receptionist I think he's Marco, if the bus was turning up for the beach front as it was supposed to turn up at 10.30 and she had been waiting 10-15minutes before hand. He was very very rude to my mum and abruptly said no it's gone and walked away from her. I am actually writing this review whilst sat by the pool as I am fuming with this hotel. What was supposed to be a lovely first holiday as a family for my daughter has been nothing but hassle. I have travelled many many places and not once have I experienced such rude staff. Being spoken to like your nothing but a problem to them. Don't complain here as you will only get frowned upon. We saw alot of guests complaining one morning in front of us and they too were just dismissed. Please please please avoid this hotel at all costs. It is not worth the money and you will leave feeling like you need another holiday.


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. At Occidental we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enourmous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times. Our staff's service and kindness is one of our main strenghts and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at our the réception desk; nevertheless we will not fail to share your comments with our head of department for information and further revision. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Furthermore, we are sorry that you didn´t really appreciate the efforts of our entertainment team either. They do try to involve and animate our guests although we do appreciate that not everybody is into this, therefore our team is trained to entertain without disturbing guests that are solely looking for relaxation and have no interest joining in the program being offered.  For future occasion please contact with our reception or guest service for any issue you can find in our services. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

    Quality and comfort with a Canary Island soul

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...