Benefits that can only be enjoyed by booking through Barcelo.com

Book at Barcelo.com and register for our my Barceló programme for the best rate guaranteed, free Wi-Fi, complimentary water, a welcome gift and a gift voucher worth 5% of the cost of your booking to spend on extra services.

You will also get VIP services and an additional discount of up to 10% off your next bookings. Exclusive benefits only at Barcelo.com!

Barceló Lanzarote Resort Hotel deluxe suite

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Texto: 38014 Located in Costa Teguise, this resort is perfect for families and offers the best pool and spa facilities. Avenida del Mar, 5 | 35508 Costa Teguise (Lanzarote)
+34 928 59 13 29 +34 928 591337
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Texto: 38014 4 out of 5 based on 4450 ratings. 4450 user reviews.
Occidental Lanzarote Mar reviewed by Paul F on . excellant for Kids Took my Two grand kids away for a week weather was great facilities ate great' the entertainment for the Kids was more than expected the Kids crew worked realy hard both in the day and at night. Food... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Avenida del Mar, 5   35508 Costa Teguise (Lanzarote)  


Places of Interest

15 km Guacimeta

3 km Costa Teguise Golf Course

400 m Cala del Ancla beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 4464 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

31% Complete

1426

Very good

36% Complete

1620

Average

19% Complete

858

Poor

7% Complete

334

Very poor

5% Complete

226

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    piotrw361 Warsaw, Poland. 02/21/2017 Family

    “Reccomend”

    After a two-week stay with family, we are delighted. Great food, lots of choice. Interesting animation for adults and children. Great animators. Good location, close to the promenade by the ocean.Reccomend

    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
     Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel for your visit to Lanzarote and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely time in our resort, and hope you will come back in the future. Kind regards, The management

    Round Indicators
    Jennifer B Scotland, United Kingdom. 02/21/2017 Family

    “Great hotel for familys, but small improvements could make it a lot better.”

    We had a lovely February stay here, the hotel is good for families with young children and we would return. There were some things about our stay which were very good, but also some smallish basic details which need improvement. I'll put my review in basic points. CONFUSION on trip advisor as to Name Change, photos ect. - The hotel seems to have changed name several times over the past few years, as has their property across the road, they used to be Barcelo Lanzarote Mar, Barceló Lanzarote Playa (across the street), It seems that the one across the road changed to Occidental Lanzarote Playa, and this one is changing to Occidental Lanzarote Mar, somehow this one is now Lanzarote Barceló Resort, I don't think there could be much confusion, once you get there you would see that. We had a good nosey around the playa hotel and Mar looked slightly better. We were also worried about some pictures that were put up before we left on this site showing the kids club under renovation. The people putting up those pics probably didn't realize that a brand new bigger and better kids club had already been built at the opposite end of the hotel and is open and in action, they will be making the old kids club in to something else I would imagine. ACCESSABILITY: I think that there are areas of access in the hotel that need addressed, we do not have a wheelchair, but a double buggy that cannot be bumped up and down stairs like a single. The lifts seem to leave you between floors so you still need to go up and down stairs when you exit. There is a giant ramp up from reception which is great and looks new, but at the top you either need to go left which is a big long route if you are going right, if you turn right there are 3 steps. We were unable to access the new kids club with our buggy as there is just no way to get there without hitting multiple staircases. We tried every route and asked at reception a few times. OUR ROOM. We had a family suite it was newly refurbished ultra modern very good, cannot fault the layout, had fridge and microwave. Best hotel room we have stayed in to date that properly accommodates 2 adults and 3 kids. Balcony had adult chairs and toddlers. The only problem was we had a little garden with toys in it and it was impossible for the kids to use as ours was so overgrown, the neighbouring ones did not seem to have this issue. KIDS ENTERTAINMENT: The mini club is amazing so much to do but our kids just do not want to stay without us ! We must be so great! lol! That's fine we are on holiday as a family to spend time together anyway, they staff at the club are very super talented and amazing and the mini disco is the best we have seen at any hotel. FOOD~: Food was ok, Id say on the whole good. Its nice that its fresh cooked but runs out quickly, so mad rush for stuff when its put out like chips at lunch and croissants in the morning I saw some heated exchanges over those items :0 , The dinner items at night a few times we received undercooked. I would assume its due to staff being under pressure to be faster, we got raw fish a few times, then bloody roast pork that was almost raw (yuk). They need to do something to stagger the diners, in honesty the restauruant opened quite late for us ? 6.30 there is a massive queue of brittish starving screaming kids at the door! maybe they could open at 6? If it was open at 5pm Id be there then . DRINKS: Drinks are good there is a All inclusive bit at the back of each bar, self service which is great for us normally, but if you want to be served that's ok too you can just order as normal too. WIFI: Oh dear :( massive thumbs down. so I have to answer emails for 1 hour aprox per day whilst on holiday (no rest when you are your own boss). This was really my biggest issue with this hotel, So no internet at all at our room, the reception area you could connect for maybe a minute and then it kicked you out then reconnected continuously so annoying ! the 1st 2 days my hours work took me 4 hours and caused us problems, receptionist claimed someone was coming to fix it ? hmm? I asked lots where there was an internet café no one seemed to know!? ! until I realise the wee pub on the corner gives you free wifi if you buy a drink, surely they know that? its physically joined to the hotel thought not part of it. So Anyone looking for decent wifi should go there. So our internet charges from mobile and internet from going to the café each day and paying for a drink £5 to use wifi, aprox £400 for 11 days. So I'm SORRY NO FREE WIFI Id return to the hotel, but I feel the following small details should be addressed: 1. buffet management 2. wifi - needs sorted 3. Front desk doesn't seem to communicate well with other departments.
    Round Indicators
    JB-Widnes Widnes, United Kingdom. 02/21/2017 Family

    “Lovely Half Term Break”

    Booked this hotel for a well needed week away, taking my parents on their first ever holiday abroad. The hotel was good. The rooms were spacious and clean and we had a nice sea view room that was a little sun trap late afternoon, which was good when it got windy in the main area. The restaurant provided a wide selection of food for each meal, always serving food freshly prepared on the griddle. There is another restaurant outside that you can eat in once, this was free when using the hotel voucher. Food was really good. Pools were cold, but didn't stop the kids enjoying themselves. Plenty to keep them busy when not in the pool with the games room with table tennis, pool tables, air hockey etc... The complimentary shuttle bus is great, taking no more than 10 mins to get into the local town. We preferred to walk along the coastal path, which took about 45 minutes. We booked this as a Barcelo hotel but seems Occidental are taking over. Would be nice if you could also use the facilities of the Occidental hotel directly over the road. Overall we had an enjoyable week away.

    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, being our main goal to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, we highly value your time and constructive comments. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our food service, as well as the entertainment provided for all the family. In reference to the change, even if the hotel is called Occidental, it still belongs to the Barceló group. There has been a rebranding within the company and some hotel have changed their names. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, The management

    Round Indicators
    Leazza Birmingham, United Kingdom. 02/21/2017 Family

    “Family holiday”

    Good family venue although evening entertainment could be varied and put on different times. The pool were too cold - to enjoy the pools. Consideration needs to be given to heat both pools. Great bus service to other locations of the island and to attend the beach. The hotel was in easy access from the airport

    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your opinion is crucial to our future success. We assure you we will take note of your comments, in order to be able to upgrade the quality of our service. Thank you once again for making us your choice and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, The management

    Round Indicators
    shaunals1 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom. 02/21/2017 Couples

    “First Holiday Together - Feb 2017”

    I stayed at this hotel from the 2nd February til the 9th February on an all inclusive package with Thompson's. Location: The hotel was only about a 15/20 minute journey from air port so we were one of the first people to be dropped off on our transfer. Yo an walk down to the beach within around 5-10 minutes and there is a lovely walk way along the promenade which we walked most evenings after our dinner. Reception and Staff: We arrived at the hotel and were seen to straight away to be checked in. Staff were friendly and were very efficient. All Inclusive Food and Drinks; The food was lovely and hot and there was plenty of choice. There were a few themed nights and staff were very helpful within the restaurant. Drinks were a variety of local branded alcoholic beverages and the cocktails were lovely (My favourite was the pina colada). You can pay extra to upgrade to products such as Smirnoff and Malibu. A La Carte We arrived on the Thursday 2nd and the hotel provided n invitation to dine in the Al La Carte on Friday 3rd Feb. this was a free visit as we booked with Thompson's. The food was Delicious! It was so tasty and there was a nice variety to choose from. We also returned to this restaurant later in week to have their lunch time menu. We recommend trying the bruschetta which again, was delicious and we only paid 4.50 Euro as we received discount for staying at the hotel, Rooms: We stayed in room 1127 which was located a few minutes away from reception. We arrived and the room was very clean and had recently been decorated. The room s very spacious for the 2 of us to stay and there was plenty of storage for our items. I requested a fridge for my medication and this was provided. The room did state to have a coffee machine, however, there was not one when we arrived. We did not contact reception about this as we probably wouldn't have used this anyways. The bed was comfortable and very large. Rooms were cleaned daily. Sheets changed every 3 days unless requested to be changed daily, towels changed every 2 days or when required (we were advised to leave them in bath tub) if we wanted changed daily. Wi-Fi: We managed to get Wi-Fi in all parts of the hotel including our room and coverage was great. Entertainment. The entertainment at this hotel was excellent, all of the staff tried their hardest to keep both children and adults entertained. There was a variety of different entertainment available throughout day and an evening. Check-Out: Check out was straight forward. The AI services stopped at 12 noon on day of departure, This can be extended and reception can help you with this. There is also a luggage room available to use to store your large suitcases. The key is available from reception. We would recommend this hotel and would look to stay here again in the future.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Warsaw, Poland
    • Family

    piotrw361

    “Reccomend”


    After a two-week stay with family, we are delighted. Great food, lots of choice. Interesting animation for adults and children. Great animators. Good location, close to the promenade by the ocean.Reccomend


    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
    Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Lanzarote Mar hotel for your visit to Lanzarote and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely time in our resort, and hope you will come back in the future. Kind regards, The management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Scotland, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Jennifer B

    “Great hotel for familys, but small improvements could make it a lot better.”


    We had a lovely February stay here, the hotel is good for families with young children and we would return. There were some things about our stay which were very good, but also some smallish basic details which need improvement. I'll put my review in basic points. CONFUSION on trip advisor as to Name Change, photos ect. - The hotel seems to have changed name several times over the past few years, as has their property across the road, they used to be Barcelo Lanzarote Mar, Barceló Lanzarote Playa (across the street), It seems that the one across the road changed to Occidental Lanzarote Playa, and this one is changing to Occidental Lanzarote Mar, somehow this one is now Lanzarote Barceló Resort, I don't think there could be much confusion, once you get there you would see that. We had a good nosey around the playa hotel and Mar looked slightly better. We were also worried about some pictures that were put up before we left on this site showing the kids club under renovation. The people putting up those pics probably didn't realize that a brand new bigger and better kids club had already been built at the opposite end of the hotel and is open and in action, they will be making the old kids club in to something else I would imagine. ACCESSABILITY: I think that there are areas of access in the hotel that need addressed, we do not have a wheelchair, but a double buggy that cannot be bumped up and down stairs like a single. The lifts seem to leave you between floors so you still need to go up and down stairs when you exit. There is a giant ramp up from reception which is great and looks new, but at the top you either need to go left which is a big long route if you are going right, if you turn right there are 3 steps. We were unable to access the new kids club with our buggy as there is just no way to get there without hitting multiple staircases. We tried every route and asked at reception a few times. OUR ROOM. We had a family suite it was newly refurbished ultra modern very good, cannot fault the layout, had fridge and microwave. Best hotel room we have stayed in to date that properly accommodates 2 adults and 3 kids. Balcony had adult chairs and toddlers. The only problem was we had a little garden with toys in it and it was impossible for the kids to use as ours was so overgrown, the neighbouring ones did not seem to have this issue. KIDS ENTERTAINMENT: The mini club is amazing so much to do but our kids just do not want to stay without us ! We must be so great! lol! That's fine we are on holiday as a family to spend time together anyway, they staff at the club are very super talented and amazing and the mini disco is the best we have seen at any hotel. FOOD~: Food was ok, Id say on the whole good. Its nice that its fresh cooked but runs out quickly, so mad rush for stuff when its put out like chips at lunch and croissants in the morning I saw some heated exchanges over those items :0 , The dinner items at night a few times we received undercooked. I would assume its due to staff being under pressure to be faster, we got raw fish a few times, then bloody roast pork that was almost raw (yuk). They need to do something to stagger the diners, in honesty the restauruant opened quite late for us ? 6.30 there is a massive queue of brittish starving screaming kids at the door! maybe they could open at 6? If it was open at 5pm Id be there then . DRINKS: Drinks are good there is a All inclusive bit at the back of each bar, self service which is great for us normally, but if you want to be served that's ok too you can just order as normal too. WIFI: Oh dear :( massive thumbs down. so I have to answer emails for 1 hour aprox per day whilst on holiday (no rest when you are your own boss). This was really my biggest issue with this hotel, So no internet at all at our room, the reception area you could connect for maybe a minute and then it kicked you out then reconnected continuously so annoying ! the 1st 2 days my hours work took me 4 hours and caused us problems, receptionist claimed someone was coming to fix it ? hmm? I asked lots where there was an internet café no one seemed to know!? ! until I realise the wee pub on the corner gives you free wifi if you buy a drink, surely they know that? its physically joined to the hotel thought not part of it. So Anyone looking for decent wifi should go there. So our internet charges from mobile and internet from going to the café each day and paying for a drink £5 to use wifi, aprox £400 for 11 days. So I'm SORRY NO FREE WIFI Id return to the hotel, but I feel the following small details should be addressed: 1. buffet management 2. wifi - needs sorted 3. Front desk doesn't seem to communicate well with other departments.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Widnes, United Kingdom
    • Family

    JB-Widnes

    “Lovely Half Term Break”


    Booked this hotel for a well needed week away, taking my parents on their first ever holiday abroad. The hotel was good. The rooms were spacious and clean and we had a nice sea view room that was a little sun trap late afternoon, which was good when it got windy in the main area. The restaurant provided a wide selection of food for each meal, always serving food freshly prepared on the griddle. There is another restaurant outside that you can eat in once, this was free when using the hotel voucher. Food was really good. Pools were cold, but didn't stop the kids enjoying themselves. Plenty to keep them busy when not in the pool with the games room with table tennis, pool tables, air hockey etc... The complimentary shuttle bus is great, taking no more than 10 mins to get into the local town. We preferred to walk along the coastal path, which took about 45 minutes. We booked this as a Barcelo hotel but seems Occidental are taking over. Would be nice if you could also use the facilities of the Occidental hotel directly over the road. Overall we had an enjoyable week away.


    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, being our main goal to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, we highly value your time and constructive comments. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our food service, as well as the entertainment provided for all the family. In reference to the change, even if the hotel is called Occidental, it still belongs to the Barceló group. There has been a rebranding within the company and some hotel have changed their names. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, The management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Leazza

    “Family holiday”


    Good family venue although evening entertainment could be varied and put on different times. The pool were too cold - to enjoy the pools. Consideration needs to be given to heat both pools. Great bus service to other locations of the island and to attend the beach. The hotel was in easy access from the airport


    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your opinion is crucial to our future success. We assure you we will take note of your comments, in order to be able to upgrade the quality of our service. Thank you once again for making us your choice and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, The management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    shaunals1

    “First Holiday Together - Feb 2017”


    I stayed at this hotel from the 2nd February til the 9th February on an all inclusive package with Thompson's. Location: The hotel was only about a 15/20 minute journey from air port so we were one of the first people to be dropped off on our transfer. Yo an walk down to the beach within around 5-10 minutes and there is a lovely walk way along the promenade which we walked most evenings after our dinner. Reception and Staff: We arrived at the hotel and were seen to straight away to be checked in. Staff were friendly and were very efficient. All Inclusive Food and Drinks; The food was lovely and hot and there was plenty of choice. There were a few themed nights and staff were very helpful within the restaurant. Drinks were a variety of local branded alcoholic beverages and the cocktails were lovely (My favourite was the pina colada). You can pay extra to upgrade to products such as Smirnoff and Malibu. A La Carte We arrived on the Thursday 2nd and the hotel provided n invitation to dine in the Al La Carte on Friday 3rd Feb. this was a free visit as we booked with Thompson's. The food was Delicious! It was so tasty and there was a nice variety to choose from. We also returned to this restaurant later in week to have their lunch time menu. We recommend trying the bruschetta which again, was delicious and we only paid 4.50 Euro as we received discount for staying at the hotel, Rooms: We stayed in room 1127 which was located a few minutes away from reception. We arrived and the room was very clean and had recently been decorated. The room s very spacious for the 2 of us to stay and there was plenty of storage for our items. I requested a fridge for my medication and this was provided. The room did state to have a coffee machine, however, there was not one when we arrived. We did not contact reception about this as we probably wouldn't have used this anyways. The bed was comfortable and very large. Rooms were cleaned daily. Sheets changed every 3 days unless requested to be changed daily, towels changed every 2 days or when required (we were advised to leave them in bath tub) if we wanted changed daily. Wi-Fi: We managed to get Wi-Fi in all parts of the hotel including our room and coverage was great. Entertainment. The entertainment at this hotel was excellent, all of the staff tried their hardest to keep both children and adults entertained. There was a variety of different entertainment available throughout day and an evening. Check-Out: Check out was straight forward. The AI services stopped at 12 noon on day of departure, This can be extended and reception can help you with this. There is also a luggage room available to use to store your large suitcases. The key is available from reception. We would recommend this hotel and would look to stay here again in the future.


    Barceló Lanzarote Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Idyllic holiday in a Canary Island paradise.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...