Barceló Santiago Hotel Pool

Barceló Santiago

Texto: 38536 Hotel that forms a balcony over the ocean that offers the best views of La Gomera and the Los Gigantes cliffs. C/ La Hondura, 8 | 38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife)
+34 922 860 912 +34 922 861808
Barceló Santiago Texto: 38536 4 out of 5 based on 5726 ratings. 5726 user reviews.
Barceló Santiago reviewed by JatnRob on . A great location, wonderful views and a first class staff Spent the first week of September in Puerto Santiago & stayed at the Barceló Sanitiago – it was a good choice. The views from the hotel were impressive: to the west, on the horizon, lay the island... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Santiago

C/ La Hondura, 8   38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife)  


Places of Interest

43.4 km Tenerife–South Airport

200 m Puerto Santiago beach

9 km Abama Golf Course

106 km Port of Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Santiago

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 5752 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

42% Complete

2430

Very good

37% Complete

2149

Average

13% Complete

773

Poor

4% Complete

261

Very poor

2% Complete

141

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    toyota65 Diss, United Kingdom. 09/18/2017 Couples

    “Disappointing”

    First the positive points:- nice staff, pool towels issued, clean towels and toiletries every day and BBC and ITV available to view on the television albeit a bit of a grainy picture and wifi all around the hotel. Bad points:- paid for a "superior" room but I wouldn't bother unless you're wanting bathrobes, slippers, a one off entry to the spa and a pillow menu, apart from these all the standard rooms are the same and less money. Mini fridge didn't work well, the one bottle of water given each day didn't get cold. Terrible smell of sewage when the air conditioning left on for any length of time and it dripped. Decor in the bedroom and bathroom very tired, hairdryer electrical part hanging out of the wall. Glass wall was separating the bedroom and bathroom and then a wardrobe put in front of it so why the glass wall? The bathroom and toilet door both slide and don't stay closed very well and not very functional. Patio window curtains not the best I have seen,. Restaurant is a typical free for all, not a lot of room around the various stations, the food is not the best I have ever encountered whilst on holiday, same dishes every day with the exception of the meat/fish that is cooked in view, desserts typical of this type of establishment and the same as many other hotels. Unable to book a late check out room until the day of departure and then none available so have to hang around for 5 hours until pickup, were offered the opportunity to shower at the spa but not ideal as have to book a time for this. This hotel is in my opinion not worthy of its 4*, it's more a 3*. I personally would not come back to this hotel again as I would others I have visited, it doesn't seem to offer much for families with teenage children as there isn't much to do unlike other hotels where there are lots of free activities like mini golf, water slides, driving ranges etc, I would definitely recommend the Protur Safari in Majorca over this hotel. Obviously people have different views on what they like and dislike and I hope that this review is of help to anyone who may be thinking of booking this hotel, we certainly won't be returning to this one and this is the second in the Barcelo chain we have stayed at this year.
    Round Indicators
    jack f 09/18/2017 Couples

    “2nd time going”

    yet again we had a lovely welcome and gave us a lovely room on 5 that overlooked the sea. watched some lovely sunsets at night. food was perfect we stayed for 2 weeks and always found something to eat. during day did have our lunch at pool bar again meals spot on. Swimming pool was lovely and always got a sunbed.staff always friendly and work very hard to keep us all happy. The garden around hotel taken great care of the gardener working hard. cleaners always gave us a smile and said hello. Already booked for next june cant wait to come back yet again.
    Round Indicators
    Jordan H 09/16/2017 Couples

    “Decent hotel, dire food”

    We went here during the first week of September, which is a fantastic time to visit the island as the weather is amazing. When booking this hotel make sure you book a sea view room but don't bother with the superior room, very very little difference and not worth the money. The rooms are nice but a bit tired. Beds are firm but very comfy and had the best sleep all week. Rooms were kept nice and clean during my stay so no problems here. Facilities are good, three decent pools and always plenty of sun beds even if the best ones went by people going down at 7am. The hotel has signs up to say "no reserving sun beds" but they don't enforce it. Staff were hit and miss. They were all very efficient and you didn't have to wait long for them to bring drinks but a lot of them came across as quite rude. Food.... where do I start... some of the worst I've experienced on holiday. Similar every night and tasteless. I lived on pizza and chips for the most of the week. All inclusive doesn't mean all inclusive. The hotel has an upgrade to "all inclusive premium" but if you don't have that, you can only use bars up to 11pm and you can't have every drink on the menu. We didn't find it too much of a problem though. Be sure to pop into the spa where you can use the facilities for 1 hour and a half for €10. In summary, I had a nice stay but I wouldn't return to this resort. I think it's the first ever holiday where I lost weight!! So not all bad ;-)

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Santiago hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. We regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. On the other hand, we are really happy to know you had a nice time in our U-spa. We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    Gwen49Cheshire Cheshire. 09/16/2017 Couples

    “A wonderfully relaxing holiday”

    Just back from a 10 day stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was on the first floor so no views of the sea or the stunning cliffs for us- not that we were bothered by that at all as we're not patio/balcony dwellers. The beds were very comfortable, and there was plenty of space for us in the room and the bathroom. The shower could have been a bit more powerful- but it still did the job and on the plus side there was a proper hairdryer! The room was kept very clean each day. The restaurant was fantastic-the food was the best that we have ever had on an AI holiday-really good quality. Particular standouts for me were the omelettes at breakfast cooked 'live' and the little salad bowls at dinner time-so fresh and delicious. There were plenty of choices f both hot and cold food daily. The restaurant has a small outside eating area-which was very popular. It's waiter service for drinks at lunchtime & dinner-made it more of an occasion' and the service could not be faulted. It was waiter service for drinks at the pool bar in the evenings too-service was good and the staff friendly and helpful. A nice touch was that they remembered our drinks round-doesn't always happen! The downstairs bar has an outside sitting area too-lovely for a pre-dinner drink watching people come and go. The pools are very good-never got too warm-so the much needed dips in the hot sunshine were always refreshing. The views, both during the day and evenings were stunning-I never got tired of seeing the Los Gigantes cliffs change hues in the wonderful sunsets. I would recommend a Cabana day-€20 per person per day with Cava & fruit; they are so comfortable and relaxing. Having said that the sunbeds were good-there are plenty about. We did one boat trip-on the Flipper Uno-which was a great half day out, and we saw dolphins which was a great treat. We booked this locally-much cheaper! Then spent the evening in Los Gigantes town-which is a lovely little town full narrow alleyways with shops & bar/restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear guest, I would like to thank you choosing our hotel Barceló Santiago for your deserved vacations and for reaching out to us posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with hotel facilities. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Looking forward to receiving you again very soon, Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    Sue C Devizes, United Kingdom. 09/14/2017 Family

    “Fabulous Hotel”

    We've stayed at this hotel twice this year, once for our honeymoon in May and again in August when we returned with our 3 teenage sons. The hotel's location is superb, with stunning views. The staff are a real credit to the hotel - they are so helpful, polite and happy. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, with so much choice. Lots of things are cooked fresh in front of you and the restaurant runs extremely efficiently with food being replenished, tables cleaned and spillages cleared up. On our second visit we had a couple of niggles - the air conditioning was not very good and after having a blocked bath sorted, our room was very smelly for a few days (until the bath blocked again!). There are great boat rides to go on in nearby Puerto Santiago - book when you get into the town for the best deals rather than using a rep at the hotel. We will definitely be returning with friend early in 2018.

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Sue, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to mach your holidays expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Tenerife. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2017
    • Diss, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    toyota65

    “Disappointing”


    First the positive points:- nice staff, pool towels issued, clean towels and toiletries every day and BBC and ITV available to view on the television albeit a bit of a grainy picture and wifi all around the hotel. Bad points:- paid for a "superior" room but I wouldn't bother unless you're wanting bathrobes, slippers, a one off entry to the spa and a pillow menu, apart from these all the standard rooms are the same and less money. Mini fridge didn't work well, the one bottle of water given each day didn't get cold. Terrible smell of sewage when the air conditioning left on for any length of time and it dripped. Decor in the bedroom and bathroom very tired, hairdryer electrical part hanging out of the wall. Glass wall was separating the bedroom and bathroom and then a wardrobe put in front of it so why the glass wall? The bathroom and toilet door both slide and don't stay closed very well and not very functional. Patio window curtains not the best I have seen,. Restaurant is a typical free for all, not a lot of room around the various stations, the food is not the best I have ever encountered whilst on holiday, same dishes every day with the exception of the meat/fish that is cooked in view, desserts typical of this type of establishment and the same as many other hotels. Unable to book a late check out room until the day of departure and then none available so have to hang around for 5 hours until pickup, were offered the opportunity to shower at the spa but not ideal as have to book a time for this. This hotel is in my opinion not worthy of its 4*, it's more a 3*. I personally would not come back to this hotel again as I would others I have visited, it doesn't seem to offer much for families with teenage children as there isn't much to do unlike other hotels where there are lots of free activities like mini golf, water slides, driving ranges etc, I would definitely recommend the Protur Safari in Majorca over this hotel. Obviously people have different views on what they like and dislike and I hope that this review is of help to anyone who may be thinking of booking this hotel, we certainly won't be returning to this one and this is the second in the Barcelo chain we have stayed at this year.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2017
    • Couples

    jack f

    “2nd time going”


    yet again we had a lovely welcome and gave us a lovely room on 5 that overlooked the sea. watched some lovely sunsets at night. food was perfect we stayed for 2 weeks and always found something to eat. during day did have our lunch at pool bar again meals spot on. Swimming pool was lovely and always got a sunbed.staff always friendly and work very hard to keep us all happy. The garden around hotel taken great care of the gardener working hard. cleaners always gave us a smile and said hello. Already booked for next june cant wait to come back yet again.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2017
    • Couples

    Jordan H

    “Decent hotel, dire food”


    We went here during the first week of September, which is a fantastic time to visit the island as the weather is amazing. When booking this hotel make sure you book a sea view room but don't bother with the superior room, very very little difference and not worth the money. The rooms are nice but a bit tired. Beds are firm but very comfy and had the best sleep all week. Rooms were kept nice and clean during my stay so no problems here. Facilities are good, three decent pools and always plenty of sun beds even if the best ones went by people going down at 7am. The hotel has signs up to say "no reserving sun beds" but they don't enforce it. Staff were hit and miss. They were all very efficient and you didn't have to wait long for them to bring drinks but a lot of them came across as quite rude. Food.... where do I start... some of the worst I've experienced on holiday. Similar every night and tasteless. I lived on pizza and chips for the most of the week. All inclusive doesn't mean all inclusive. The hotel has an upgrade to "all inclusive premium" but if you don't have that, you can only use bars up to 11pm and you can't have every drink on the menu. We didn't find it too much of a problem though. Be sure to pop into the spa where you can use the facilities for 1 hour and a half for €10. In summary, I had a nice stay but I wouldn't return to this resort. I think it's the first ever holiday where I lost weight!! So not all bad ;-)


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Santiago hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. We regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. On the other hand, we are really happy to know you had a nice time in our U-spa. We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2017
    • Cheshire
    • Couples

    Gwen49Cheshire

    “A wonderfully relaxing holiday”


    Just back from a 10 day stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was on the first floor so no views of the sea or the stunning cliffs for us- not that we were bothered by that at all as we're not patio/balcony dwellers. The beds were very comfortable, and there was plenty of space for us in the room and the bathroom. The shower could have been a bit more powerful- but it still did the job and on the plus side there was a proper hairdryer! The room was kept very clean each day. The restaurant was fantastic-the food was the best that we have ever had on an AI holiday-really good quality. Particular standouts for me were the omelettes at breakfast cooked 'live' and the little salad bowls at dinner time-so fresh and delicious. There were plenty of choices f both hot and cold food daily. The restaurant has a small outside eating area-which was very popular. It's waiter service for drinks at lunchtime & dinner-made it more of an occasion' and the service could not be faulted. It was waiter service for drinks at the pool bar in the evenings too-service was good and the staff friendly and helpful. A nice touch was that they remembered our drinks round-doesn't always happen! The downstairs bar has an outside sitting area too-lovely for a pre-dinner drink watching people come and go. The pools are very good-never got too warm-so the much needed dips in the hot sunshine were always refreshing. The views, both during the day and evenings were stunning-I never got tired of seeing the Los Gigantes cliffs change hues in the wonderful sunsets. I would recommend a Cabana day-€20 per person per day with Cava & fruit; they are so comfortable and relaxing. Having said that the sunbeds were good-there are plenty about. We did one boat trip-on the Flipper Uno-which was a great half day out, and we saw dolphins which was a great treat. We booked this locally-much cheaper! Then spent the evening in Los Gigantes town-which is a lovely little town full narrow alleyways with shops & bar/restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear guest, I would like to thank you choosing our hotel Barceló Santiago for your deserved vacations and for reaching out to us posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with hotel facilities. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Looking forward to receiving you again very soon, Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 14 2017
    • Devizes, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Sue C

    “Fabulous Hotel”


    We've stayed at this hotel twice this year, once for our honeymoon in May and again in August when we returned with our 3 teenage sons. The hotel's location is superb, with stunning views. The staff are a real credit to the hotel - they are so helpful, polite and happy. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, with so much choice. Lots of things are cooked fresh in front of you and the restaurant runs extremely efficiently with food being replenished, tables cleaned and spillages cleared up. On our second visit we had a couple of niggles - the air conditioning was not very good and after having a blocked bath sorted, our room was very smelly for a few days (until the bath blocked again!). There are great boat rides to go on in nearby Puerto Santiago - book when you get into the town for the best deals rather than using a rep at the hotel. We will definitely be returning with friend early in 2018.


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Sue, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to mach your holidays expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Tenerife. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Marta Chincho Gonzalez Guest Experience Manager

    Barceló Santiago Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments

    Fantastic beach hotel perfect for a fun-packed family holiday.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)