Barceló Santiago Hotel Pool

Barceló Santiago

Texto: 38500 Hotel that forms a balcony over the ocean that offers the best views of La Gomera and the Los Gigantes cliffs. C/ La Hondura, 8 | 38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife)
+34 922 860 912 +34 922 861808
Barceló Santiago Texto: 38500 4 out of 5 based on 6176 ratings. 6176 user reviews.
Barceló Santiago reviewed by Deb L on . Barceló Santiago Just returned home from a weeks visit to this lovely hotel, our room wasn’t refurbished and was looking a little tired however it was perfectly adequate and the views out to sea were fabulous . The... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Santiago

C/ La Hondura, 8   38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife)  


Places of Interest

43.4 km Tenerife–South Airport

200 m Puerto Santiago beach

9 km Abama Golf Course

106 km Port of Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Santiago

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6299 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

42% Complete

2667

Very good

37% Complete

2340

Average

13% Complete

852

Poor

4% Complete

290

Very poor

2% Complete

150

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    zandersharp Scotland. 02/20/2018 Couples

    “Not what we expected”

    We were very disappointed by the hotel. We were given a room on the ground floor and people waking past could look right in. The room smelt off sewage so we reported it to the hotel and asked for a different room higher up. The hotel told us they could not change our room for a few days. I asked if we could upgrade our room I was told it would cost extra 200 euros but that there was still no rooms .we spook to the Thomson rep and asked to be moved or find us another hotel. They said it would cost £600 pounds to move. On day three we were offered a new room two doors along with the same problems and in a very rundown state no way is this a four star hotel. On the fourth day we were move to level five to a room that was better but did not get any sun. We move to this room as it was cleaner and had no one looking . We felt that this hotel was a great letdown and the pictures shown on the internet were nothing like what we were given .
    Round Indicators
    day422017 Essex, United Kingdom. 02/20/2018 Couples

    “Pleasant setting”

    Arrived at hotel reception and were given usual card to fill in with passport details.no welcome drinks were offered and whole experience was very disappointing.have stayed in four star hotels and always love the welcome drink and staff telling you about facilities. Room was pleasant enough but I think that kettle and tea coffee should be provided in all rooms in a four star hotel not just certain rooms. Beds very comfortable Restaurant was good but no chef serving any joints of meat or anything special .have received far better food in evening t other hotels of four star status.They have a hand sanitiser on the counter as you go in restaurant but everyone is hitting the top to use it which is not very hygienic! a proper dispenser that drops the liquid onto people’s hands would be of more use! Pool area and bar is lovely and always plenty of sun beds to go round. Pleasant setting. I enjoyed week here but it needs to make all customers welcome not just some. We saw other people arrive to a welcome drink and it should be standard for all! Internet was rubbish.didnt get it at all in room only in certain areas and was hit and miss. Overall nice hotel but have stayed in better ones in the surrounding area.
    Round Indicators
    Lucindamay1 Oxford, United Kingdom. 02/18/2018 Couples

    “Not a 4 star! ”

    Recently went for a week early Feb, had all inclusive board. First off our sea view room was not ready so we had one night in a different room, this was not an issue however having to check out at 12pm then wait and check in at 3pm to our new room was inconvenient and ruined the first full day. The view in the sea view room was amazing, however the actually room was very poor, we were in a double but it was two singles put together but still made up as singles! Poor decor very dated, and ants everywhere! Pool side was nice and modern with good sun loungers! Food was ok, buffets are never going to be amazing! The staff was very mixed, only had a few experiences with really good staff in the restaurant, the rest really didn’t seem to enjoy their job. Same as bar staff and receptionists, all not particularly friendly. Location is good, nice little area but quite hilly. Avis car rental service from hotel was very convenient. It was a nice holiday but I wouldn’t return or recommend hotel.

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment to send us information about your last stay with us, although we are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied due to several points you found not appropriate and for which we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies. We can guarantee that we do all our best and we work hard to avoid giving our customers the perceptions you describe. Regarding the conditions of our hotel rooms, we apologize if you did not find them appropriate. Nevertheless, we are happy to inform you that we are undergoing a renovation this upcoming year that include new room categories. On the other hand, we are pleased to read that we were able to change your room. I do understand it has been quite an inconvenient for you having to wait until 3Pm for the other room, I would like to sincerely apologies for this, we try our best to make the room moves as smooth as possible but due to high occupancy it can be quite challenging. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our beautiful Pool area and the amazing views, one of the best places in Tenerife. We sincerely hope that you can give us another opportunity and spend future holidays among us. If this should be the case, we kindly request you to contact us beforehand to arrange for a personalized welcome and make sure we offer you our best image Kind regards, Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    StephEastMidlands East Midlands. 02/17/2018 Couples

    “A good hotel in a beautiful location”

    I agree with most of the reviews shown below. The hotel is in a great position, with views acrocss the sea to La Gomera and also views up and down the coast, particularly Los Gigantes. Before we came, we knew from reading Trip Advisor, that the bedrooms were in need of a facelift and they were a bit tired. Also, having read the reviews, we requested rooms above the second floor, so that passers by were unable to look in. All the useful information came from Trip Advisor and not our travel agent Tui. However, I have to praise the Tui reps in the hotel, who were very helpful and always available. Our bedrooms were on the third floor, facing out to sea and they were fine. Spacious enough, with a large balcony and very clean. There was a constant smell of drains in the bathroom, but the wind was so strong, that I think it stirred everything up. Also, the management are in the process of renovating all the bedrooms. The beds were so very comfortable and there was plenty of storage and hangers. If you have a standard room, you can request tea and coffee facilities at €3 a day, which is very cheap and well worth it. The public rooms were good and appropriate for a 4* hotel. The dining room is very nice and if the weather allows, you can sit outside. It is very crowded, when the weather 's bad and you had to queue sometimes to find a table. Also, the inside bar is too small for such a large hotel. The swimming area is outstanding, with great views and a very good bar, which can be used in the evening, if it's warm enough. There are three pools and one is heated. There were plenty of sunbeds and pool towels are available from the spa, for a refundable deposit. (The theatre is like a draughty, depressing barn, but probably a good place to take kids for the entertainment (which was enthusiastic, but not good). Drinks are slightly cheaper than U.K. but much cheaper in the bars outside the hotel (Cava is very cheap). The food was good and there was plenty of choice, as with all buffets, it does become a bit monotonous, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby, if you want a change. The spa's pleasant, but quite small and we didn't have any treatments, so I can't comment on that. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Without exception, they were helpful, friendly and efficient. They worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. Always a friendly smile. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We are glad to hear you all had such a good time during your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the remarks that you wrote in Tripadvisor. As you know it is our main intention to provide you with our best image and our commitment is to achieve the complete satisfaction of our guests. Regarding the conditions of our hotel rooms, we apologize if you did not find them appropriate. Nevertheless, we are happy to inform you that we are undergoing a renovation that include new room categories. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Tenerife. We look forward welcoming back to Barcelo Santiago. Kind regards, Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    BoltonMusicman Bolton. 02/17/2018 Couples

    “Great stay”

    This was our second visit and we enjoyed it even more than last time in 2012. All the staff were very attentive and helpful and the place was kept spotlessly clean. The food choice was amazing and of good quality. We loved the hotel and its location and we will definitely return. The views from the sea view rooms are as good as any you could find anywhere. The hotel tries really hard and succeeds in making the guests welcome.

    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Barceló Santiago. Since your comments and feedback is very important for us. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff. The staff is very important and makes the difference of the guest’s stay. Thank you for especially commenting on the team. A big compliment for us. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to Barcelo Santiago. Kind regards Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2018
    • Scotland
    • Couples

    zandersharp

    “Not what we expected”


    We were very disappointed by the hotel. We were given a room on the ground floor and people waking past could look right in. The room smelt off sewage so we reported it to the hotel and asked for a different room higher up. The hotel told us they could not change our room for a few days. I asked if we could upgrade our room I was told it would cost extra 200 euros but that there was still no rooms .we spook to the Thomson rep and asked to be moved or find us another hotel. They said it would cost £600 pounds to move. On day three we were offered a new room two doors along with the same problems and in a very rundown state no way is this a four star hotel. On the fourth day we were move to level five to a room that was better but did not get any sun. We move to this room as it was cleaner and had no one looking . We felt that this hotel was a great letdown and the pictures shown on the internet were nothing like what we were given .


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2018
    • Essex, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    day422017

    “Pleasant setting”


    Arrived at hotel reception and were given usual card to fill in with passport details.no welcome drinks were offered and whole experience was very disappointing.have stayed in four star hotels and always love the welcome drink and staff telling you about facilities. Room was pleasant enough but I think that kettle and tea coffee should be provided in all rooms in a four star hotel not just certain rooms. Beds very comfortable Restaurant was good but no chef serving any joints of meat or anything special .have received far better food in evening t other hotels of four star status.They have a hand sanitiser on the counter as you go in restaurant but everyone is hitting the top to use it which is not very hygienic! a proper dispenser that drops the liquid onto people’s hands would be of more use! Pool area and bar is lovely and always plenty of sun beds to go round. Pleasant setting. I enjoyed week here but it needs to make all customers welcome not just some. We saw other people arrive to a welcome drink and it should be standard for all! Internet was rubbish.didnt get it at all in room only in certain areas and was hit and miss. Overall nice hotel but have stayed in better ones in the surrounding area.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 18 2018
    • Oxford, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Lucindamay1

    “Not a 4 star! ”


    Recently went for a week early Feb, had all inclusive board. First off our sea view room was not ready so we had one night in a different room, this was not an issue however having to check out at 12pm then wait and check in at 3pm to our new room was inconvenient and ruined the first full day. The view in the sea view room was amazing, however the actually room was very poor, we were in a double but it was two singles put together but still made up as singles! Poor decor very dated, and ants everywhere! Pool side was nice and modern with good sun loungers! Food was ok, buffets are never going to be amazing! The staff was very mixed, only had a few experiences with really good staff in the restaurant, the rest really didn’t seem to enjoy their job. Same as bar staff and receptionists, all not particularly friendly. Location is good, nice little area but quite hilly. Avis car rental service from hotel was very convenient. It was a nice holiday but I wouldn’t return or recommend hotel.


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment to send us information about your last stay with us, although we are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied due to several points you found not appropriate and for which we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies. We can guarantee that we do all our best and we work hard to avoid giving our customers the perceptions you describe. Regarding the conditions of our hotel rooms, we apologize if you did not find them appropriate. Nevertheless, we are happy to inform you that we are undergoing a renovation this upcoming year that include new room categories. On the other hand, we are pleased to read that we were able to change your room. I do understand it has been quite an inconvenient for you having to wait until 3Pm for the other room, I would like to sincerely apologies for this, we try our best to make the room moves as smooth as possible but due to high occupancy it can be quite challenging. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our beautiful Pool area and the amazing views, one of the best places in Tenerife. We sincerely hope that you can give us another opportunity and spend future holidays among us. If this should be the case, we kindly request you to contact us beforehand to arrange for a personalized welcome and make sure we offer you our best image Kind regards, Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2018
    • East Midlands
    • Couples

    StephEastMidlands

    “A good hotel in a beautiful location”


    I agree with most of the reviews shown below. The hotel is in a great position, with views acrocss the sea to La Gomera and also views up and down the coast, particularly Los Gigantes. Before we came, we knew from reading Trip Advisor, that the bedrooms were in need of a facelift and they were a bit tired. Also, having read the reviews, we requested rooms above the second floor, so that passers by were unable to look in. All the useful information came from Trip Advisor and not our travel agent Tui. However, I have to praise the Tui reps in the hotel, who were very helpful and always available. Our bedrooms were on the third floor, facing out to sea and they were fine. Spacious enough, with a large balcony and very clean. There was a constant smell of drains in the bathroom, but the wind was so strong, that I think it stirred everything up. Also, the management are in the process of renovating all the bedrooms. The beds were so very comfortable and there was plenty of storage and hangers. If you have a standard room, you can request tea and coffee facilities at €3 a day, which is very cheap and well worth it. The public rooms were good and appropriate for a 4* hotel. The dining room is very nice and if the weather allows, you can sit outside. It is very crowded, when the weather 's bad and you had to queue sometimes to find a table. Also, the inside bar is too small for such a large hotel. The swimming area is outstanding, with great views and a very good bar, which can be used in the evening, if it's warm enough. There are three pools and one is heated. There were plenty of sunbeds and pool towels are available from the spa, for a refundable deposit. (The theatre is like a draughty, depressing barn, but probably a good place to take kids for the entertainment (which was enthusiastic, but not good). Drinks are slightly cheaper than U.K. but much cheaper in the bars outside the hotel (Cava is very cheap). The food was good and there was plenty of choice, as with all buffets, it does become a bit monotonous, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby, if you want a change. The spa's pleasant, but quite small and we didn't have any treatments, so I can't comment on that. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Without exception, they were helpful, friendly and efficient. They worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. Always a friendly smile. Thank you for a lovely holiday.


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We are glad to hear you all had such a good time during your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the remarks that you wrote in Tripadvisor. As you know it is our main intention to provide you with our best image and our commitment is to achieve the complete satisfaction of our guests. Regarding the conditions of our hotel rooms, we apologize if you did not find them appropriate. Nevertheless, we are happy to inform you that we are undergoing a renovation that include new room categories. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Tenerife. We look forward welcoming back to Barcelo Santiago. Kind regards, Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2018
    • Bolton
    • Couples

    BoltonMusicman

    “Great stay”


    This was our second visit and we enjoyed it even more than last time in 2012. All the staff were very attentive and helpful and the place was kept spotlessly clean. The food choice was amazing and of good quality. We loved the hotel and its location and we will definitely return. The views from the sea view rooms are as good as any you could find anywhere. The hotel tries really hard and succeeds in making the guests welcome.


    santiagorrpp, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Barceló Santiago. Since your comments and feedback is very important for us. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your comments to our staff. The staff is very important and makes the difference of the guest’s stay. Thank you for especially commenting on the team. A big compliment for us. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to Barcelo Santiago. Kind regards Marta Chincho Guest Experience Manager

    Barceló Santiago Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments

    Fantastic beach hotel perfect for a fun-packed family holiday.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.