If you wish, you can change language

Aerial View of Barceló Hotel Punta Cana
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Macao, S/N, Playa Arena Gorda   23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia ,   República Dominicana  


Places of Interest

28.4 km Punta Cana International Airport

14.3 km Macao beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Caribe

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 12017 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

38% Complete

4671

Very good

28% Complete

3403

Average

15% Complete

1900

Poor

8% Complete

1066

Very poor

8% Complete

977

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    PuntaCanaParents 06/26/2019 Friends getaway

    “Occidental Caribe Punta Cana DR”

    Large resort. The rooms were dated and could use some renovation but the resort was kept clean. We spent a week with group of high school grads. There were a lot of activities- pool party, beach party, trapeze, dance lessons, and a different show each night in their theatre just to name a few. Overall the staff was friendly. Visible security on the beach and perimeter of resort so we felt safe. The food was mediocre at best in large buffet. Slightly better food in smaller ethnic restaurants which you need to make a reservation in advance with guest services. Can book side excursions with several companies there. Recommend happy hour boat cruise and boogie trip- both fun for teens and adults. Nice beach which was kept clean every day.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    NAVYJO23 Manama, Bahrain. 06/25/2019 Family

    “***PLEASE READ*** Locals Weekend hotel”

    Just got back from a 7 days family of 4 vacation at this hotel. we were disappointed from day one, check in was awful, it was a mess, super-hot due to being an open front desk area. The front desk staff was not friendly at all, not even a "Welcome", after a very long check in process due to disorganization on the front desk, they put us in the worst room we have ever been in all this years of traveling. roaches can out running from the bathroom, sand all over the floor, No towels, mini fridge missing items, smelled like it was just painted and they expected us to stay there inhaling all those paint fumes. we demanded a change and then they gave us what they call an "upgrade" due to the inconvenience. haha they put us in this other room, that was semi-clean, and a little better, No towels still, no beer in the fridge, etc... safe wasn't working so we had to wait until someone came and fixed it. room service was ok the first 2 days, after that it looked like they changed the initial cleaning lady and the other one did not came in at all some days, there was days that we would come back to the room at 6pm to get ready for dinner and the room was still not done. Make your restaurant reservations the first morning there, they will try to tell you that you can only make one reservation a day, no, fight it, because I've seen Latinos come out of there with the whole week reserved at a different restaurant for every night. Take some singles with you, the staff won't even look at you if they don't see a dollar bill in your hand for a tip. and for double shot or the good Rum, Brugal or Barcelo. if you don't ask they will give you the worst quality rum there is, all drinks are some weird brands, see my pictures. Food at the buffet, is average, nothing out of another world, service at the buffet is terrible, servers can't keep up with the tables, patrons leave and tables are still full of dirty dishes and not turned over.. staff looks like is not happy working there, maybe they are not being treated right because there was actual comments made between them saying how bad working conditions were and that they were reaching their 13th hour working that shift and other comments made against the management. The mini bar consist in a coke, a juice and a water, they said it supposed to have two mini beers but they act like those are hard to get, I only got mini beers twice and because i called and ask for them, if not... Staff that looks like managers don't even face you or say hello or good morning, as they see you coming they turn their face away and avoid contact at all. Did I mention that the Front desk staff is super rude! it’s like you are bothering them with a simple question. There is no Car Rental on site, and the ATM only gives Pesos, and it was Out of Order 3 out of the 7 days we were there. Don't check in on Friday, is when all the locals from around DR common for the weekend, the lines at the front desk are terrible all day Friday and Saturday, they come to spend the weekend and the service is worst during this days. Furniture and facilities throughout this place need to be replaced, facilities are terrible, the so "Sports Bar" has a few pool tables that are all in terrible conditions, and smells like pure mold in there. the Gym is disgusting, those machines look like they were never whipped down or sanitized, and it was out of service a few times during our stay, and it doesn't open until 7am, don't even try to work out early. Beach/Pool towels, you only get one a day, and there is only one towel location in this huge place, so get your towels early, because later you won't find any left... it happened to us a couple of times that they were out of towels. and those people working the towels desk are super rude. They thought I didn't understand Spanish and i herd all their dumb comments against us when we went to ask for towels. everyone is rude, service is terrible, if you don't show them the tip in advance they won't give you a semi good service, I’ve never felt like this at any other resort in Cancun or Jamaica or many other places we have been. Bad customer service is what’s preventing me from returning to Dominican Republic.. they treat tourists bad!! and expect a tip for bad service.. if you want to hang out with some rude and loud locals, book at this hotel. the Night shows are average, they try but not reaching there yet, sound in the theater is one of the worst I've seen. Spend a little more and go to Royalton or Riu or many other much better hotels.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Caribe, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our reception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the reception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion. We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate (locals people) at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Occidental Caribe welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Companion515915 06/25/2019 Friends getaway

    “Great value”

    bar tenders knowledge in different mixed drinks could be improved. They either didn't know how to make a drink or stated they didn't have ingredients to make the drink that was requested. Staff was very helpful and kind. We only stayed one night so we didn't get the full experience that the resort offered.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    LynVTN 06/25/2019

    “Weekends are for the locals..not great!”

    I was happy with the hotel’s beautiful beach as compared to the hotels (5*) to the right. Buffet was decent but long line up for grilled meats so I ended up eating the ready cooked food instead which was ok but not the best. I arrived Monday and by Thursday, I was thinking of returning to this hotel again for the beach, location, average food and comfortable rooms. However by Friday, the hotel was overcrowded with the locals checking in for the weekend (Friday to Sunday) and the buffet restaurant couldn’t accommodate so many people for lunch or supper. There was no service for water or drinks, and the tables were not cleared and cleaned fast enough for all the regular guests since the locals were better served than tourists. I had to eat lunch at the pool or the Hacienda above the quiet pool, food was so plain and slow service so it was a waste of my time but no other choices since the main buffet was taken over by the locals. I’ll definitely not go back to this hotel unless the management can find a better solution to accommodate the weekend locals without disrupting the guests. Overall my vacation was good for 4 days only (Monday-Thursday) yet I paid for 7 days.. I travel alone and noticed the service at a la carte restaurants was catered more to couples and large groups even when they didn’t tip before leaving..and I did, lol. As for cleaning the rooms, you must tip the cleaning lady if you want a quick tidy up with new towels.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Explore56144777121 06/24/2019 Couples

    “Great Hotel. Lots of echo in the hallways, Belliherent people late at night.ht. Be”

    I loved the size of the hotel, clean and elegant. Clean Beach, clean rooms, I felt safe there. The truth is, people over drinking from early to late, made it difficult to sleep after 10 pm.. You hear yelling, slamming doors, children inside their rooms temper tantrum. Overall a great place that offers many activities for all ages, Great Restaurants, Great Buffet!

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 26 2019
    • Friends getaway

    PuntaCanaParents

    “Occidental Caribe Punta Cana DR”


    Large resort. The rooms were dated and could use some renovation but the resort was kept clean. We spent a week with group of high school grads. There were a lot of activities- pool party, beach party, trapeze, dance lessons, and a different show each night in their theatre just to name a few. Overall the staff was friendly. Visible security on the beach and perimeter of resort so we felt safe. The food was mediocre at best in large buffet. Slightly better food in smaller ethnic restaurants which you need to make a reservation in advance with guest services. Can book side excursions with several companies there. Recommend happy hour boat cruise and boogie trip- both fun for teens and adults. Nice beach which was kept clean every day.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 25 2019
    • Manama, Bahrain
    • Family

    NAVYJO23

    “***PLEASE READ*** Locals Weekend hotel”


    Just got back from a 7 days family of 4 vacation at this hotel. we were disappointed from day one, check in was awful, it was a mess, super-hot due to being an open front desk area. The front desk staff was not friendly at all, not even a "Welcome", after a very long check in process due to disorganization on the front desk, they put us in the worst room we have ever been in all this years of traveling. roaches can out running from the bathroom, sand all over the floor, No towels, mini fridge missing items, smelled like it was just painted and they expected us to stay there inhaling all those paint fumes. we demanded a change and then they gave us what they call an "upgrade" due to the inconvenience. haha they put us in this other room, that was semi-clean, and a little better, No towels still, no beer in the fridge, etc... safe wasn't working so we had to wait until someone came and fixed it. room service was ok the first 2 days, after that it looked like they changed the initial cleaning lady and the other one did not came in at all some days, there was days that we would come back to the room at 6pm to get ready for dinner and the room was still not done. Make your restaurant reservations the first morning there, they will try to tell you that you can only make one reservation a day, no, fight it, because I've seen Latinos come out of there with the whole week reserved at a different restaurant for every night. Take some singles with you, the staff won't even look at you if they don't see a dollar bill in your hand for a tip. and for double shot or the good Rum, Brugal or Barcelo. if you don't ask they will give you the worst quality rum there is, all drinks are some weird brands, see my pictures. Food at the buffet, is average, nothing out of another world, service at the buffet is terrible, servers can't keep up with the tables, patrons leave and tables are still full of dirty dishes and not turned over.. staff looks like is not happy working there, maybe they are not being treated right because there was actual comments made between them saying how bad working conditions were and that they were reaching their 13th hour working that shift and other comments made against the management. The mini bar consist in a coke, a juice and a water, they said it supposed to have two mini beers but they act like those are hard to get, I only got mini beers twice and because i called and ask for them, if not... Staff that looks like managers don't even face you or say hello or good morning, as they see you coming they turn their face away and avoid contact at all. Did I mention that the Front desk staff is super rude! it’s like you are bothering them with a simple question. There is no Car Rental on site, and the ATM only gives Pesos, and it was Out of Order 3 out of the 7 days we were there. Don't check in on Friday, is when all the locals from around DR common for the weekend, the lines at the front desk are terrible all day Friday and Saturday, they come to spend the weekend and the service is worst during this days. Furniture and facilities throughout this place need to be replaced, facilities are terrible, the so "Sports Bar" has a few pool tables that are all in terrible conditions, and smells like pure mold in there. the Gym is disgusting, those machines look like they were never whipped down or sanitized, and it was out of service a few times during our stay, and it doesn't open until 7am, don't even try to work out early. Beach/Pool towels, you only get one a day, and there is only one towel location in this huge place, so get your towels early, because later you won't find any left... it happened to us a couple of times that they were out of towels. and those people working the towels desk are super rude. They thought I didn't understand Spanish and i herd all their dumb comments against us when we went to ask for towels. everyone is rude, service is terrible, if you don't show them the tip in advance they won't give you a semi good service, I’ve never felt like this at any other resort in Cancun or Jamaica or many other places we have been. Bad customer service is what’s preventing me from returning to Dominican Republic.. they treat tourists bad!! and expect a tip for bad service.. if you want to hang out with some rude and loud locals, book at this hotel. the Night shows are average, they try but not reaching there yet, sound in the theater is one of the worst I've seen. Spend a little more and go to Royalton or Riu or many other much better hotels.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Caribe, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our reception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the reception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion. We have read your comment regarding the type of clientele we accommodate (locals people) at our hotel, and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Occidental Caribe welcomes all guests who book to stay with us regardless of their origin, skin tone, religion and age, and strongly believes that everybody has a right to a well-earned holiday. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 25 2019
    • Friends getaway

    Companion515915

    “Great value”


    bar tenders knowledge in different mixed drinks could be improved. They either didn't know how to make a drink or stated they didn't have ingredients to make the drink that was requested. Staff was very helpful and kind. We only stayed one night so we didn't get the full experience that the resort offered.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 25 2019

    LynVTN

    “Weekends are for the locals..not great!”


    I was happy with the hotel’s beautiful beach as compared to the hotels (5*) to the right. Buffet was decent but long line up for grilled meats so I ended up eating the ready cooked food instead which was ok but not the best. I arrived Monday and by Thursday, I was thinking of returning to this hotel again for the beach, location, average food and comfortable rooms. However by Friday, the hotel was overcrowded with the locals checking in for the weekend (Friday to Sunday) and the buffet restaurant couldn’t accommodate so many people for lunch or supper. There was no service for water or drinks, and the tables were not cleared and cleaned fast enough for all the regular guests since the locals were better served than tourists. I had to eat lunch at the pool or the Hacienda above the quiet pool, food was so plain and slow service so it was a waste of my time but no other choices since the main buffet was taken over by the locals. I’ll definitely not go back to this hotel unless the management can find a better solution to accommodate the weekend locals without disrupting the guests. Overall my vacation was good for 4 days only (Monday-Thursday) yet I paid for 7 days.. I travel alone and noticed the service at a la carte restaurants was catered more to couples and large groups even when they didn’t tip before leaving..and I did, lol. As for cleaning the rooms, you must tip the cleaning lady if you want a quick tidy up with new towels.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 24 2019
    • Couples

    Explore56144777121

    “Great Hotel. Lots of echo in the hallways, Belliherent people late at night.ht. Be”


    I loved the size of the hotel, clean and elegant. Clean Beach, clean rooms, I felt safe there. The truth is, people over drinking from early to late, made it difficult to sleep after 10 pm.. You hear yelling, slamming doors, children inside their rooms temper tantrum. Overall a great place that offers many activities for all ages, Great Restaurants, Great Buffet!


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z