Barceló Cala Viñas Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments
map

Occidental Cala Viñas

AL Coral, 2-4   07181 Cala Viñas, Calvià , Islas Baleares   España  


Places of Interest

23 km Son Sant Joan International Airport

1 km Cala Viñas beach

14 km Bendinat Golf Course

10 m Bus to Cala Viñas

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Cala Viñas

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2375 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

34% Complete

821

Very good

37% Complete

880

Average

17% Complete

423

Poor

6% Complete

164

Very poor

3% Complete

87

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    vickyjane9 08/17/2018 Family

    “Alright”

    Hotel is in the sticks so not much to do around area two shops near by walking distance( spar and local supermarket). One on the complex is cheaper than shop next to hotel 😉 About 30 mins ish in to centre on a bus. Hotel was nice and view outstanding. The food is alright not mega choice but always avaiable in restraunts. The only issue was the snack bar wasnt always full with food late afternoon so had to go to restaurant. That was the only issue.😔 we have been to a few barcelo hotels now and this was clean friendly pools entertained the kids and beach was on doorstep. Dont think we go back to this hotel as wasnt enough for us personally to walk and see ie shops and just to have a meal/snack outside the hotel for a change without getting on a bus 😊.
    Round Indicators
    Ocean018 Port Moody, Canada. 08/17/2018

    “Access Resort pool and beach”

    Relaxing atmosphere of a warm, modest, neat and confortable 3 buildings with a pool. The convenient access to the beach that makes that hotel a preferred destination for family-friendly multigenerational. A few meters from the beach connecting another hotel Sentido Calas Vinas (adults only if prefered). My option was Half Board. Breakfast Buffet: 7:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m (beverages included) Dinner Buffet : 7:30 p.m to 10:30 (Beverages are not included but a la carte) Excellent Mediterranen and international speciliaties. Bars on the Resort or just beside. Also, there is a mini supermercado (corner store) behind the back street hotel and ATM machine. You can buy 5L of water for 1.85$ EU - Dont forget a All in in travel Plug Power adapter for recharging your phone - Accidental jelly fish stings cause pain and raised welts. (Bring Baking soda and vinegar) Excursion pick-up in front of Sentidos Calas Vinas (5 minutes walk by the beach) - City Bus has a schedule available at the Hotel reception ( between 1.50$ to 3.80S Euro) to got shop Magaluf (10 minutes ) Palma (1h15)
    Round Indicators
    djurhuus2018 Torshavn, Faroe Islands. 08/16/2018 Family

    “Very good family friendly hotel”

    We were 2 adults with 2 children (age 6 and 3) and stayed at the hotel for one week in Aug 2018. We enjoyed the stay very much. We had “All inclusive” included in our stay. The hotel is very family friendly. Our children liked very much the children entertainment in the evening (mini disco), and they looked forward to it every day. Good hotel rooms, nice swimming pools and a good variety of food at the buffet 3 times a day - Especially the breakfast buffet was very good.
    Round Indicators
    smithn463 Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom. 08/15/2018 Family

    “So disappointed! Wasted nearly €5,000 for our annual family holiday”

    We wait all year to have our holiday like many others, spend 1 year saving and are so excited! Never been so disappointed!! Gutted even. We are still on holiday here and I am writing this sat by the pool having watched a lady slip and fall with her small baby approx 4 month old (baby landed safely on a sunbed and was unhurt luckily)...this happened in the same spot I myself fell and watched at least 1 person fall almost ever other day. You expect slips by pools but as pictures show the combination of step, water and laminated type floor at an angle is an accident waiting to happen. It was the last straw, so I've spent part of my holiday writing this and resizing images. The lifeguard is useless! Not once has she attended these accidents, no safety mat has appeared or sign. Today's accident could of been very nasty but this is just one of many negatives... I'm going to list them as SO MANY: - As mentioned above lifeguard is useless, just a young girl who looks bored to death. I fell badly myself and hurt my ankle right next to her at accident spot. She never came over or reported the incident or put a 'careful slippy' sign or anything. - Our room supposedly a Superior (I paid more for) has no kettle / tea etc, extremely basic, 2 children on a shared sofa bed meant sleepless nights, sheets not big enough for their bed so they are uncovered directly under air con every night so I'm up several times trying to recover them... , sides of sofa bed metal edges bad design... both boys hurt their legs several times getting out of bed. - First room had black in bathroom, cracked tiles and finishes - see pics - broken air con, I complained moved to a slightly better room with with a broken balcony door - wouldn't lock - security issue and safety with 2 children ages 5 and 7. - Room - very poor for a superior; no hooks to hang anything, 2 TINY draws only, no full length wardrobe, we are living out of suitcases....4 of them piled on top preacher other as no room. No chair in bedroom only a stool. Lighting so poor can only do make up in steamed up bathroo. Nothing in balcony to hang clothes on to dry. 2 towels for a family of 4 in bathroom. Loo paper is paper literally! TV often no signal as seen in pic, x2/3 English channels including cbeebies. The pictures taken of the room are the room as we found it for first time, no bed made up for kids and loo seat up. - No air con in main hotel, it's unbearable at times - no loo on bar floor which seems crazy planning. - Appears to be short staffed, they are manic in restaurant, not a relaxing environment to eat in at all. On main bar only 1 staff member so long wait for drinks. - Sports bar closed on an evening so you are stuck the one with no loo or air con - see pic - Entertainment is shocking!! Mostly Spanish very little English spoken at all even at kids mini disco, no space, outdoor entertainment area only so heavy rain meant wet chairs, no staff took in the seat cushions so all were wet through. - Sexist entertainment feel like I've stepped back in time, Benny Hill music chasing round on stage and bouncing around on lilo pretending to... need I say more... This is supposed to be FAMILY hotel lots of little kids about as was still early. By the pool in the day I witnessed entertainment guy recruit and approach the young women he deemed attractive enough to take part in some sort of parade and strip to bikinis in front of 3 embarrassed looking male judges. Cringe wasn't the word, myself and many others absolutely gobsmacked at what we were seeing, embarrassing stuff. Maybe ypur bag but certainly not mine... else I'd be in Magaluff. - Restaurant - canteen at best. Awful food and very poor selection. Very small food area for size of hotel. Staff are manic. My 5 year old nearly got taken out by a trolley going at speed piled high with dishes when he got up from his chair. The staff couldn't see him as piled too high and going way too fast, missed him by inches. I was hit abruptly by a speeding trolley on my own chair too the same evening whilst eating my meal. If it had hit my body it would of hurt! Lucky caught the chair side only. Huge bang many people turned around as not just a passing clip. It's just one thing after another! - Snack bar - shocking! Like this all the time and food is disgusting standard see my pics they say it all... I'm still on this holiday and if we get home in one piece it will be a miracle. Roll on ...3 days left, work so hard for annual holiday and to be so disappointed is crushing, not to mention the waste of money. Positives - beautiful views as set in a stunning location. I've stayed with Barcelo hotels many many times before and loved them that's why I chose this one, such a shock to be so very disappointed. It is 3 star at VERY VERY best. It does not deserve it's 4 star rating at all. Expensive hotel for very little. Not the same standard as other Barcelos at all. Look at my pictures and decide for yourself but I will never go back ever and would not recommend. If I could give 0 rating I would.

    Calaviñas H, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Cala Vinas, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs. Smith, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Cala Viñas hotel. Due to the conversation we manteined personaly, we would like you to know that we will take into account every point you mentioned in order to get better. It would have been a pleasure for us to help you with the different issues you state in your comment during your stay, but unfortunetely, we got the information too late. For a next visit we encourage you to contact reception and they will act immediately in order to solve the different problems. We hope you to give us the opportunity to make your next stay with us an unforgettable experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you plan to come back to Mallorca in a future. Best wishes, Alicia Carramiñana Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    Jeff S 08/14/2018 Family

    “Good Location - Average Property”

    My family and nanny stayed here 6 nights/7days........the check in process took a really long time when we have 2 little kids.....and just had a long day getting on and off our flights and getting the rental car. The rooms were nice although they had a welcome pastry that had ants all over it.......the one they replaced it with had ants as well....blah!........the property was located right on an inlet so that was very nice and convenient. There was a lot for your kids to do...so that was really nice and freed up a good bit of time for my wife and I. The restaurants all have set times....like a cruise ship.....so that was a little annoying. Over all I would say this place is about average....not awful.......but not great.

    Calaviñas H, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Cala Vinas, responded to this review
     Dear Jeff, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Cala Viñas hotel for your holidays in Mallorca and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you experienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Moreover, we are very sorry to hear your comment about the pastry; Nevertheless, we would like to inform you that depending on the humidity and heat, the presence of insects in any hotel, business or private house is unavoidable, nevertheless we have in place a specific preventive pest control plan as well as regular treatments to avoid their presence in the hotel.  On the other hand, we are very happy to know that your kids had fun with our entertainment team, our little guests are one of the most important things for us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a not too distant future and thank you again for your kind words towards us. Best wishes, Alicia Carramiñana Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2018
    • Family

    vickyjane9

    “Alright”


    Hotel is in the sticks so not much to do around area two shops near by walking distance( spar and local supermarket). One on the complex is cheaper than shop next to hotel 😉 About 30 mins ish in to centre on a bus. Hotel was nice and view outstanding. The food is alright not mega choice but always avaiable in restraunts. The only issue was the snack bar wasnt always full with food late afternoon so had to go to restaurant. That was the only issue.😔 we have been to a few barcelo hotels now and this was clean friendly pools entertained the kids and beach was on doorstep. Dont think we go back to this hotel as wasnt enough for us personally to walk and see ie shops and just to have a meal/snack outside the hotel for a change without getting on a bus 😊.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2018
    • Port Moody, Canada

    Ocean018

    “Access Resort pool and beach”


    Relaxing atmosphere of a warm, modest, neat and confortable 3 buildings with a pool. The convenient access to the beach that makes that hotel a preferred destination for family-friendly multigenerational. A few meters from the beach connecting another hotel Sentido Calas Vinas (adults only if prefered). My option was Half Board. Breakfast Buffet: 7:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m (beverages included) Dinner Buffet : 7:30 p.m to 10:30 (Beverages are not included but a la carte) Excellent Mediterranen and international speciliaties. Bars on the Resort or just beside. Also, there is a mini supermercado (corner store) behind the back street hotel and ATM machine. You can buy 5L of water for 1.85$ EU - Dont forget a All in in travel Plug Power adapter for recharging your phone - Accidental jelly fish stings cause pain and raised welts. (Bring Baking soda and vinegar) Excursion pick-up in front of Sentidos Calas Vinas (5 minutes walk by the beach) - City Bus has a schedule available at the Hotel reception ( between 1.50$ to 3.80S Euro) to got shop Magaluf (10 minutes ) Palma (1h15)


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 16 2018
    • Torshavn, Faroe Islands
    • Family

    djurhuus2018

    “Very good family friendly hotel”


    We were 2 adults with 2 children (age 6 and 3) and stayed at the hotel for one week in Aug 2018. We enjoyed the stay very much. We had “All inclusive” included in our stay. The hotel is very family friendly. Our children liked very much the children entertainment in the evening (mini disco), and they looked forward to it every day. Good hotel rooms, nice swimming pools and a good variety of food at the buffet 3 times a day - Especially the breakfast buffet was very good.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 15 2018
    • Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
    • Family

    smithn463

    “So disappointed! Wasted nearly €5,000 for our annual family holiday”


    We wait all year to have our holiday like many others, spend 1 year saving and are so excited! Never been so disappointed!! Gutted even. We are still on holiday here and I am writing this sat by the pool having watched a lady slip and fall with her small baby approx 4 month old (baby landed safely on a sunbed and was unhurt luckily)...this happened in the same spot I myself fell and watched at least 1 person fall almost ever other day. You expect slips by pools but as pictures show the combination of step, water and laminated type floor at an angle is an accident waiting to happen. It was the last straw, so I've spent part of my holiday writing this and resizing images. The lifeguard is useless! Not once has she attended these accidents, no safety mat has appeared or sign. Today's accident could of been very nasty but this is just one of many negatives... I'm going to list them as SO MANY: - As mentioned above lifeguard is useless, just a young girl who looks bored to death. I fell badly myself and hurt my ankle right next to her at accident spot. She never came over or reported the incident or put a 'careful slippy' sign or anything. - Our room supposedly a Superior (I paid more for) has no kettle / tea etc, extremely basic, 2 children on a shared sofa bed meant sleepless nights, sheets not big enough for their bed so they are uncovered directly under air con every night so I'm up several times trying to recover them... , sides of sofa bed metal edges bad design... both boys hurt their legs several times getting out of bed. - First room had black in bathroom, cracked tiles and finishes - see pics - broken air con, I complained moved to a slightly better room with with a broken balcony door - wouldn't lock - security issue and safety with 2 children ages 5 and 7. - Room - very poor for a superior; no hooks to hang anything, 2 TINY draws only, no full length wardrobe, we are living out of suitcases....4 of them piled on top preacher other as no room. No chair in bedroom only a stool. Lighting so poor can only do make up in steamed up bathroo. Nothing in balcony to hang clothes on to dry. 2 towels for a family of 4 in bathroom. Loo paper is paper literally! TV often no signal as seen in pic, x2/3 English channels including cbeebies. The pictures taken of the room are the room as we found it for first time, no bed made up for kids and loo seat up. - No air con in main hotel, it's unbearable at times - no loo on bar floor which seems crazy planning. - Appears to be short staffed, they are manic in restaurant, not a relaxing environment to eat in at all. On main bar only 1 staff member so long wait for drinks. - Sports bar closed on an evening so you are stuck the one with no loo or air con - see pic - Entertainment is shocking!! Mostly Spanish very little English spoken at all even at kids mini disco, no space, outdoor entertainment area only so heavy rain meant wet chairs, no staff took in the seat cushions so all were wet through. - Sexist entertainment feel like I've stepped back in time, Benny Hill music chasing round on stage and bouncing around on lilo pretending to... need I say more... This is supposed to be FAMILY hotel lots of little kids about as was still early. By the pool in the day I witnessed entertainment guy recruit and approach the young women he deemed attractive enough to take part in some sort of parade and strip to bikinis in front of 3 embarrassed looking male judges. Cringe wasn't the word, myself and many others absolutely gobsmacked at what we were seeing, embarrassing stuff. Maybe ypur bag but certainly not mine... else I'd be in Magaluff. - Restaurant - canteen at best. Awful food and very poor selection. Very small food area for size of hotel. Staff are manic. My 5 year old nearly got taken out by a trolley going at speed piled high with dishes when he got up from his chair. The staff couldn't see him as piled too high and going way too fast, missed him by inches. I was hit abruptly by a speeding trolley on my own chair too the same evening whilst eating my meal. If it had hit my body it would of hurt! Lucky caught the chair side only. Huge bang many people turned around as not just a passing clip. It's just one thing after another! - Snack bar - shocking! Like this all the time and food is disgusting standard see my pics they say it all... I'm still on this holiday and if we get home in one piece it will be a miracle. Roll on ...3 days left, work so hard for annual holiday and to be so disappointed is crushing, not to mention the waste of money. Positives - beautiful views as set in a stunning location. I've stayed with Barcelo hotels many many times before and loved them that's why I chose this one, such a shock to be so very disappointed. It is 3 star at VERY VERY best. It does not deserve it's 4 star rating at all. Expensive hotel for very little. Not the same standard as other Barcelos at all. Look at my pictures and decide for yourself but I will never go back ever and would not recommend. If I could give 0 rating I would.


    Calaviñas H, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Cala Vinas, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs. Smith, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Cala Viñas hotel. Due to the conversation we manteined personaly, we would like you to know that we will take into account every point you mentioned in order to get better. It would have been a pleasure for us to help you with the different issues you state in your comment during your stay, but unfortunetely, we got the information too late. For a next visit we encourage you to contact reception and they will act immediately in order to solve the different problems. We hope you to give us the opportunity to make your next stay with us an unforgettable experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you plan to come back to Mallorca in a future. Best wishes, Alicia Carramiñana Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 14 2018
    • Family

    Jeff S

    “Good Location - Average Property”


    My family and nanny stayed here 6 nights/7days........the check in process took a really long time when we have 2 little kids.....and just had a long day getting on and off our flights and getting the rental car. The rooms were nice although they had a welcome pastry that had ants all over it.......the one they replaced it with had ants as well....blah!........the property was located right on an inlet so that was very nice and convenient. There was a lot for your kids to do...so that was really nice and freed up a good bit of time for my wife and I. The restaurants all have set times....like a cruise ship.....so that was a little annoying. Over all I would say this place is about average....not awful.......but not great.


    Calaviñas H, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Cala Vinas, responded to this review
    Dear Jeff, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Cala Viñas hotel for your holidays in Mallorca and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you experienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Moreover, we are very sorry to hear your comment about the pastry; Nevertheless, we would like to inform you that depending on the humidity and heat, the presence of insects in any hotel, business or private house is unavoidable, nevertheless we have in place a specific preventive pest control plan as well as regular treatments to avoid their presence in the hotel.  On the other hand, we are very happy to know that your kids had fun with our entertainment team, our little guests are one of the most important things for us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a not too distant future and thank you again for your kind words towards us. Best wishes, Alicia Carramiñana Guest Experience Manager

    Barceló Cala Viñas Hotel Beach Views

    Perfect family hotel with direct access to the idyllic Cala Viñas cove

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    We’ll also give you an additional discount of up to 10% depending on the sort of booking For more information