Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Instalaciones del hotel Barceló Atenea Mar
;
map

Map and location

Paseo García Faria 37-47   08019 Barcelona , Cataluña   España  


Places of Interest

12 km El Prat

2 km Macao Beach

1 km Golden Atenea Spa

2 km Françia Railway Station

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2274 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

40% Complete

929

Very good

36% Complete

841

Average

13% Complete

304

Poor

5% Complete

122

Very poor

3% Complete

78

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Joan C San Jose, United States. 11/17/2019 Couples

    “Average to good rating”

    Excellent receptionists but Poor temperature control in room. Gets too warm from 10 am til evening even with the thermostat off. Coffee cups were dirty even after room just cleaned one day we were there. Smoke smell from guests in other room that came thru adjoining door. Guests should be reminded at all times that there is no smoking in rooms.

    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Joan C, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Atenea Mar we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. I apologise for the inconveniences that the A/C system may have caused during your stay. As per our previous guests’ feedback, we are making an important investment to improve the A/C system that will allow to have a better control of the temperature in every room. In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room and its furniture, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this situation. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. Regarding the smell, we are a non-smoking hotel and we have some control procedures but there are areas of the hotel, such as the rooms, that are sometimes out of our control. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Lola Miranda Cuyás Assistant Manager

    Round Indicators
    ualgem699897 11/11/2019 Business

    “unpleasant”

    My reservation was for 8 days and I checked out after 5 days, they charged me for the whole reservation 8 days!. This is unusual in other hotels. They don't have flexibility in checkout BE CAREFUL before making reservation.

    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Occidental Atenea Mar hotel to stay in Barcelona. Regarding the comments about your billing, we applied the cancellation policy as per your reservation. For future occasions do not hesitate to ask for further information about the conditions in advance, our staff would be glad to help you. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best regards, Lola Miranda Assistant Manager

    Round Indicators
    Jane P 11/10/2019 Business

    “November Stay for work”

    I don't feel that the window was working correctly because when it was very windy, the noise from the wind was very noisy and did keep me awake on two nights. However the hotel was clean, all staff I dealt with were helpful and the breakfast was good, aside from not having enough Gluten/Wheat Free options.
    Round Indicators
    tordeman 11/07/2019 Business

    “Pick another hotel if you want to relax”

    Maybe they should rename to accidental. I booked this hotel during an event in Barcelona, the price for 4 nights was approx €1800. I was given a suite and all seemed fine when I checked in, although a little delay due to a full hotel, this is acceptable and I eventually got to my room wonderful view and a nice comfy bed. I didn’t at for breakfast so I decided to order breakfast in my room and left the note on my door, as you do on any hotel. The next day no breakfast arrived, I asked in the reception and was told that that type of “note” doesn’t work at this hotel, I was baffled and asked why they provided this in the room I was told to call to get breakfast. They promised I would get one the next day, again no breakfast, I went down to complain and talk to the manager, first I was told I didn’t get breakfast since I hadn’t paid for it. I told him that I was more than willing to pay for it as long as I got it, and that. Wanted to talk to manager. Eventually i was allowed to do so, he apologized and said the request form was a valid product and they promised to deliver breakfast the next day, and they did. Although I didn’t get a new request form I wasn’t able to book breakfast the next day so I skipped it. The form states it costs €17, they charged me €30. So to the room, the room is. I’ve but shows that it is an old hotel, a lot of mold in the bathroom (a lot). My TV never worked, although I complained about it, it had no signal. So if it’s a raining day and you want to stay in and watch TV, don’t. The channel list only had 3-5 English speaking channels, can confirm that tough since the TV didn’t work. Hotel WiFi is okay and works as expected on any hotel. If I would go back, no. If I would recommend the hotel to anyone, no pick another one. Overpriced, under average breakfast, old, and dirty. There are plenty of nice hotels in Barcelona at a lower price, pick those.

    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear guest, thank you for choosing Barceló Hotels, specially Occidental Atenea mar Hotel for your business meeting in Barcelona. Your feedback about your stay in our hotel is very much appreciated and I will forward it to the team in order to correct and improve. I would like to mention that the hotel has been fully refurbished in 2019 and since then our rates are in line with the compset and other 4 stars hotels nearby. On the other hand, and regarding your mention about the cleanliness, I am surprised as it is rated as one of our strengths by our guests, more over on the 4 suites we have. However I have passed over to the Executive Housekeeper in order to investigate further. What I can confirm for sure is that we do have 5 English speaking channels on every TV. I would also like to apologize for the inconsistent breakfast delivery service. I have spoken with the Front Office Manager together with the Food & Beverage Manager and I confirm it was due to a human mistake and miscommunication. We will refresh and reinforce the standards training. For this reason, I thank you once again for your comments, which are always a big help for us. I would love to see you again in our Hotel Occidental Atenea Mar and greet you personally. If you come back to Barcelona, please let me know. With best regards, Miguel Solera Hotel Manager

    Round Indicators
    LarsBeck Taby, Sweden. 11/06/2019 Business

    “Nice and clean”

    Nice and clean hotel with good walking distance to the big conference areas. The room was big and bed nice and bath has a tub. It was also very very quiet wich was very appreciated. Possible to sit outside and have your breakfast even though that was very basic.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 17 2019
    • San Jose, United States
    • Couples

    Joan C

    “Average to good rating”


    Excellent receptionists but Poor temperature control in room. Gets too warm from 10 am til evening even with the thermostat off. Coffee cups were dirty even after room just cleaned one day we were there. Smoke smell from guests in other room that came thru adjoining door. Guests should be reminded at all times that there is no smoking in rooms.


    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Joan C, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Atenea Mar we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. I apologise for the inconveniences that the A/C system may have caused during your stay. As per our previous guests’ feedback, we are making an important investment to improve the A/C system that will allow to have a better control of the temperature in every room. In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room and its furniture, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this situation. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. Regarding the smell, we are a non-smoking hotel and we have some control procedures but there are areas of the hotel, such as the rooms, that are sometimes out of our control. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Lola Miranda Cuyás Assistant Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 11 2019
    • Business

    ualgem699897

    “unpleasant”


    My reservation was for 8 days and I checked out after 5 days, they charged me for the whole reservation 8 days!. This is unusual in other hotels. They don't have flexibility in checkout BE CAREFUL before making reservation.


    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Occidental Atenea Mar hotel to stay in Barcelona. Regarding the comments about your billing, we applied the cancellation policy as per your reservation. For future occasions do not hesitate to ask for further information about the conditions in advance, our staff would be glad to help you. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best regards, Lola Miranda Assistant Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 10 2019
    • Business

    Jane P

    “November Stay for work”


    I don't feel that the window was working correctly because when it was very windy, the noise from the wind was very noisy and did keep me awake on two nights. However the hotel was clean, all staff I dealt with were helpful and the breakfast was good, aside from not having enough Gluten/Wheat Free options.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 7 2019
    • Business

    tordeman

    “Pick another hotel if you want to relax”


    Maybe they should rename to accidental. I booked this hotel during an event in Barcelona, the price for 4 nights was approx €1800. I was given a suite and all seemed fine when I checked in, although a little delay due to a full hotel, this is acceptable and I eventually got to my room wonderful view and a nice comfy bed. I didn’t at for breakfast so I decided to order breakfast in my room and left the note on my door, as you do on any hotel. The next day no breakfast arrived, I asked in the reception and was told that that type of “note” doesn’t work at this hotel, I was baffled and asked why they provided this in the room I was told to call to get breakfast. They promised I would get one the next day, again no breakfast, I went down to complain and talk to the manager, first I was told I didn’t get breakfast since I hadn’t paid for it. I told him that I was more than willing to pay for it as long as I got it, and that. Wanted to talk to manager. Eventually i was allowed to do so, he apologized and said the request form was a valid product and they promised to deliver breakfast the next day, and they did. Although I didn’t get a new request form I wasn’t able to book breakfast the next day so I skipped it. The form states it costs €17, they charged me €30. So to the room, the room is. I’ve but shows that it is an old hotel, a lot of mold in the bathroom (a lot). My TV never worked, although I complained about it, it had no signal. So if it’s a raining day and you want to stay in and watch TV, don’t. The channel list only had 3-5 English speaking channels, can confirm that tough since the TV didn’t work. Hotel WiFi is okay and works as expected on any hotel. If I would go back, no. If I would recommend the hotel to anyone, no pick another one. Overpriced, under average breakfast, old, and dirty. There are plenty of nice hotels in Barcelona at a lower price, pick those.


    AteneaMarGEM, Manager at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear guest, thank you for choosing Barceló Hotels, specially Occidental Atenea mar Hotel for your business meeting in Barcelona. Your feedback about your stay in our hotel is very much appreciated and I will forward it to the team in order to correct and improve. I would like to mention that the hotel has been fully refurbished in 2019 and since then our rates are in line with the compset and other 4 stars hotels nearby. On the other hand, and regarding your mention about the cleanliness, I am surprised as it is rated as one of our strengths by our guests, more over on the 4 suites we have. However I have passed over to the Executive Housekeeper in order to investigate further. What I can confirm for sure is that we do have 5 English speaking channels on every TV. I would also like to apologize for the inconsistent breakfast delivery service. I have spoken with the Front Office Manager together with the Food & Beverage Manager and I confirm it was due to a human mistake and miscommunication. We will refresh and reinforce the standards training. For this reason, I thank you once again for your comments, which are always a big help for us. I would love to see you again in our Hotel Occidental Atenea Mar and greet you personally. If you come back to Barcelona, please let me know. With best regards, Miguel Solera Hotel Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 6 2019
    • Taby, Sweden
    • Business

    LarsBeck

    “Nice and clean”


    Nice and clean hotel with good walking distance to the big conference areas. The room was big and bed nice and bath has a tub. It was also very very quiet wich was very appreciated. Possible to sit outside and have your breakfast even though that was very basic.


    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information