Views of Barceló Jandía Mar  Hotel Complex
map

Map and location

Playa del Jable s/n. Barranco de Vinamar   35625 Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

600 m Jandía beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Mar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6523 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

32% Complete

2150

Very good

38% Complete

2521

Average

17% Complete

1157

Poor

6% Complete

422

Very poor

4% Complete

273

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    geoff e Aberystwyth, United Kingdom. 10/19/2018 Couples

    “Fantastic Hotel”

    This was our 8th time in Fuerteventura & this is by far the best hotrl/ resort we've stayed at. Absolutely nothing to complain about, lovely food, a different theme every night in the buffet. How anyone could fault this place amazes me, the staff were great, always happy & smiling, their job isn't easy 52 weeks a yr. We will definitely come back , totally enjoyed the 10 days we spent there, thoroughly recommend the Jandia Mar

    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
     Dear geoff e, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    Jack H 10/18/2018 Couples

    “Lovely location”

    We have just got back from 2 weeks here and the weather was simply stunning. As for the hotel it is well maintained in the main building but 90% of the rooms, which are situated in blocks around the complex, are dated yet still managed to be clean and comfortable with air con, fan, tv etc. Reception staff were not at all helpful, asked for a late checkout prior to arrival only to be told we would have to wait until our penultimate day to find out if this was possible, in our case it wasn’t. No help to the room with bags, we had a circle drawn on a map around our block with vague directions in broken English. The food on the whole was ok, you get what you pay for and there is always the option to eat out as there are a few nice restaurants nearby. I wouldn’t eat at the snack bar as it is a food safety nightmare, with unlabelled uncovered food and mystery meat burgers. We struggled to get sunbeds on a couple of days but this was to be expected. There is a hill to the beach but easily walked in 10 minutes or so, well worth the hardship! I would definitely return to the area but I would be hesitant in booking all inclusive with Barcelo again as I felt once they had our money they wanted little to do with us.

    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
     Dear Jack H, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our courtesy room for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing for the airport. On the other part, according to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Occidental holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Kind regards, Guest Experience

    Round Indicators
    Kaz83 Belfast. 10/18/2018 Family

    “A good hotel let down immensely by loud entertainment and poor rooms”

    Just back from a holiday with our 2 year old. I'll start with the good points...Hotel grounds are very clean (pool areas etc). We always got a sun lounger no problem, not sure if this would be the case in July/August. Our toddler just loved the splash park and it was never busy. He was too young for the barcy club so we can't comment on that. The 2 pools were a great size and we had a lovely time splashing about in them. We didn't experience any of the broken tiles in the pool which others have commented on. We were not all inclusive plus but didn't feel like we missed out on much in this respect. The buffet restaurant was good. Plenty of choice and a different theme each night. The desserts were lovely. I can't comment on the alcohol as i'm pregnant so couldn't take advantage of this! Yes, the beach is at the bottom of a very steep hill but it doesn't take long to get to and we walked up at our toddler's pace, which suited us fine! The beach is just stunning. Now for the bad points....The complex is absolutely huge! When we got checked in we had to get to our room, which was up and down many steps, with our 2 cases, hand luggage and toddler in pram, which is just no fun when your 5 months pregnant! There was 1 lift for 1 part of it and the rest you had to take the steps. The entertainment at night is all outdoors (even though there is plenty of room inside) and it is ridiculously loud! It was therefore impossible for us to get our child to sleep. Also, the walls are paper thin so you can hear absolutely everything from next door (beeps from the safe, snoring and light switches). We got moved room half way through the holiday with the promise it is a nice quiet area so we spent half the day packing our things, tackling the steps, waiting for new room, unpacking our things, and of course we could hear everything just as loud! So annoying. It is ridiculous that this huge complex could not find us a quieter room. The issue is really the loud entertainment, I think you would hear it from the coast of Africa. No need at all. Might be ok if you had no young children with you. The rooms were also very dated and run down. Although they were clean enough and comfortable beds. Jandia is a beautiful area and this hotel has so much potential but is greatly let down by its rooms and loud entertainment.
    Round Indicators
    aar0nb207 Bristol, United Kingdom. 10/17/2018 Couples

    “A fantastic 7 nights away”

    I went on a couple holiday with my girlfriend and it was lovely. Rooms were very nice and the food was also nice. Not always loads of choice but there was always plenty to eat if you didn't like that food. Chicken Nuggets e.t.c. I really enjoyed the stay here and the beach is very close except from the very step hill back up to the hotel. You can cut through the other hotel to go down to the beach but you cannot go back through the hotel to go back to the hotel as your card will not work on there gate which maybe needs to be changed. Expect from the kids jumping in and out of the pool constant which you would expect the pool was very nice and always clean. The only thing I would say is was to many flies, always around you while your eating which is very annoying. The reception staff are not very helpful. We had to pay to hire the golf course which I think is bad as you pay your deposit too. Entertainment was okay but not great!! Got a bit boring but again your abroad and I don't think any hotel is fantastic but overall I enjoyed our stay here. If the island was not so windy I would come here again but because of the wind I don't think I would. The town next to the hotel is great and only costs around 2-3 euros to get there by taxi which is good. We visited around 3-4 times while we stayed otherwise was out sun bathing. The flies has put me off and do not sit at the back of the restaurant as this is where all the flies are and it makes you feels like you cannot leave your food on the table to get drinks without the flies wanting to eat your food too. Other than this the stay was nice.
    Round Indicators
    Sue T Hexham, United Kingdom. 10/16/2018 Couples

    “It was ok”

    I really still cannot make my mind up about this hotel, some of it good and some bad. You just have to make your mind up what is important to you. Good points: Large rooms with lovely comfortable beds, great showers, rooms kept very clean, towels changed every day if you want. Most staff very friendly, if you are friendly and polite towards them. The animation team is very good and one of the best teams we have ever come across, very enthusiastic and friendly, not at all pushy. There are a nice range of smoothies and fruit juices on offer and the ice cream in the Mimosa Restaurant is yummy. Bad points: Food very boring, I am a vegetarian and struggled to get enough protein also some of the mixed salads were not labelled and contained meat which you couldn’t see, also same for the pasta it was hard to tell which ones were meat free. Generally I found the food to be quite flavourless certainly not as much choice as other hotels we visit. The two sitting system for Dinner is not working all that happens if you are not in before the end of 1st sitting a huge queue forms then when the doors open again the big influx of people causes queues to form everywhere causing bedlam. My top tip is to get in for 7.30pm when it is reasonably calm. Finally if like me you are concerned for the environment you will be horrified at the amount of unnecessary plastic waste this place generates. One trip plastic glasses are used at the poolside bars, most hotels at least use reusable type, add up the number of drinks consumed poolside per each person and the plastic waste mountain will be massive 😢 Same goes for the polystyrene cups used for coffee. I am definitely going to start taking my reusable eco mug on holiday for my drinks, which would also mean I could have a decent size cup of tea at breakfast (their breakfast cups are tiny!)

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 19 2018
    • Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    geoff e

    “Fantastic Hotel”


    This was our 8th time in Fuerteventura & this is by far the best hotrl/ resort we've stayed at. Absolutely nothing to complain about, lovely food, a different theme every night in the buffet. How anyone could fault this place amazes me, the staff were great, always happy & smiling, their job isn't easy 52 weeks a yr. We will definitely come back , totally enjoyed the 10 days we spent there, thoroughly recommend the Jandia Mar


    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
    Dear geoff e, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 18 2018
    • Couples

    Jack H

    “Lovely location”


    We have just got back from 2 weeks here and the weather was simply stunning. As for the hotel it is well maintained in the main building but 90% of the rooms, which are situated in blocks around the complex, are dated yet still managed to be clean and comfortable with air con, fan, tv etc. Reception staff were not at all helpful, asked for a late checkout prior to arrival only to be told we would have to wait until our penultimate day to find out if this was possible, in our case it wasn’t. No help to the room with bags, we had a circle drawn on a map around our block with vague directions in broken English. The food on the whole was ok, you get what you pay for and there is always the option to eat out as there are a few nice restaurants nearby. I wouldn’t eat at the snack bar as it is a food safety nightmare, with unlabelled uncovered food and mystery meat burgers. We struggled to get sunbeds on a couple of days but this was to be expected. There is a hill to the beach but easily walked in 10 minutes or so, well worth the hardship! I would definitely return to the area but I would be hesitant in booking all inclusive with Barcelo again as I felt once they had our money they wanted little to do with us.


    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
    Dear Jack H, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our courtesy room for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing for the airport. On the other part, according to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Occidental holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Kind regards, Guest Experience

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 18 2018
    • Belfast
    • Family

    Kaz83

    “A good hotel let down immensely by loud entertainment and poor rooms”


    Just back from a holiday with our 2 year old. I'll start with the good points...Hotel grounds are very clean (pool areas etc). We always got a sun lounger no problem, not sure if this would be the case in July/August. Our toddler just loved the splash park and it was never busy. He was too young for the barcy club so we can't comment on that. The 2 pools were a great size and we had a lovely time splashing about in them. We didn't experience any of the broken tiles in the pool which others have commented on. We were not all inclusive plus but didn't feel like we missed out on much in this respect. The buffet restaurant was good. Plenty of choice and a different theme each night. The desserts were lovely. I can't comment on the alcohol as i'm pregnant so couldn't take advantage of this! Yes, the beach is at the bottom of a very steep hill but it doesn't take long to get to and we walked up at our toddler's pace, which suited us fine! The beach is just stunning. Now for the bad points....The complex is absolutely huge! When we got checked in we had to get to our room, which was up and down many steps, with our 2 cases, hand luggage and toddler in pram, which is just no fun when your 5 months pregnant! There was 1 lift for 1 part of it and the rest you had to take the steps. The entertainment at night is all outdoors (even though there is plenty of room inside) and it is ridiculously loud! It was therefore impossible for us to get our child to sleep. Also, the walls are paper thin so you can hear absolutely everything from next door (beeps from the safe, snoring and light switches). We got moved room half way through the holiday with the promise it is a nice quiet area so we spent half the day packing our things, tackling the steps, waiting for new room, unpacking our things, and of course we could hear everything just as loud! So annoying. It is ridiculous that this huge complex could not find us a quieter room. The issue is really the loud entertainment, I think you would hear it from the coast of Africa. No need at all. Might be ok if you had no young children with you. The rooms were also very dated and run down. Although they were clean enough and comfortable beds. Jandia is a beautiful area and this hotel has so much potential but is greatly let down by its rooms and loud entertainment.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 17 2018
    • Bristol, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    aar0nb207

    “A fantastic 7 nights away”


    I went on a couple holiday with my girlfriend and it was lovely. Rooms were very nice and the food was also nice. Not always loads of choice but there was always plenty to eat if you didn't like that food. Chicken Nuggets e.t.c. I really enjoyed the stay here and the beach is very close except from the very step hill back up to the hotel. You can cut through the other hotel to go down to the beach but you cannot go back through the hotel to go back to the hotel as your card will not work on there gate which maybe needs to be changed. Expect from the kids jumping in and out of the pool constant which you would expect the pool was very nice and always clean. The only thing I would say is was to many flies, always around you while your eating which is very annoying. The reception staff are not very helpful. We had to pay to hire the golf course which I think is bad as you pay your deposit too. Entertainment was okay but not great!! Got a bit boring but again your abroad and I don't think any hotel is fantastic but overall I enjoyed our stay here. If the island was not so windy I would come here again but because of the wind I don't think I would. The town next to the hotel is great and only costs around 2-3 euros to get there by taxi which is good. We visited around 3-4 times while we stayed otherwise was out sun bathing. The flies has put me off and do not sit at the back of the restaurant as this is where all the flies are and it makes you feels like you cannot leave your food on the table to get drinks without the flies wanting to eat your food too. Other than this the stay was nice.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 16 2018
    • Hexham, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Sue T

    “It was ok”


    I really still cannot make my mind up about this hotel, some of it good and some bad. You just have to make your mind up what is important to you. Good points: Large rooms with lovely comfortable beds, great showers, rooms kept very clean, towels changed every day if you want. Most staff very friendly, if you are friendly and polite towards them. The animation team is very good and one of the best teams we have ever come across, very enthusiastic and friendly, not at all pushy. There are a nice range of smoothies and fruit juices on offer and the ice cream in the Mimosa Restaurant is yummy. Bad points: Food very boring, I am a vegetarian and struggled to get enough protein also some of the mixed salads were not labelled and contained meat which you couldn’t see, also same for the pasta it was hard to tell which ones were meat free. Generally I found the food to be quite flavourless certainly not as much choice as other hotels we visit. The two sitting system for Dinner is not working all that happens if you are not in before the end of 1st sitting a huge queue forms then when the doors open again the big influx of people causes queues to form everywhere causing bedlam. My top tip is to get in for 7.30pm when it is reasonably calm. Finally if like me you are concerned for the environment you will be horrified at the amount of unnecessary plastic waste this place generates. One trip plastic glasses are used at the poolside bars, most hotels at least use reusable type, add up the number of drinks consumed poolside per each person and the plastic waste mountain will be massive 😢 Same goes for the polystyrene cups used for coffee. I am definitely going to start taking my reusable eco mug on holiday for my drinks, which would also mean I could have a decent size cup of tea at breakfast (their breakfast cups are tiny!)


    Barceló Jandía Mar  Hotel Family Room

    Family life under an all-day sun and the best beaches in Fuerteventura.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H