Swimming pool at the Occidental Tamarindo hotel

Occidental Tamarindo

Texto: 105383 All-inclusive hotel integrated harmoniously with the natural landscapes of Playa Langosta that features an incredible pool area. Playa Langosta | Guanacaste, Tamarindo
+506 2653 03 63 +506 2653 03 85
Occidental Tamarindo Texto: 105383 4 out of 5 based on 2448 ratings. 2448 user reviews.
Occidental Tamarindo reviewed by Jorge A on . Average Experience I stayed on the hotel for a few days, the service was really good, all people from reception to the cleaning staff was always nice and kind, very respectful and ready to help us. Nothing to complaint... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Tamarindo

Playa Langosta   Guanacaste, Tamarindo  


Places of Interest

69.3 km Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

650 m Langosta Beach

16 km Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2488 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

1126

Very good

30% Complete

755

Average

14% Complete

363

Poor

5% Complete

125

Very poor

4% Complete

120

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    GregandDebbie R Kingston, Canada. 11/21/2017 Friends getaway

    “Average overall”

    We stayed in November as part of a group of mostly "seniors" from Canada. Overall the stay was average. In the room there was no information about services provided at the hotel. Staff were for the most part friendly and solicitous, especially the porter at Reception (such a smiling man!), the female Receptionists, the water/coffee servers in the dining room and the room cleaners. The hotel was busy for the weekends during our one week stay, with many local families and young people, making lineups for lunch and dinner buffet very long, crowded and noisy. During the week it was quieter and we were fine. Food was average to decent overall-lots of fresh fruit, nice breads, good selection of salad items. Hot dishes were less attractive but some were very good. There was a grill at one end of the room where a chef grilled meats with tortillas, or sausages, paella one night, and did a wonderful "grandma's rice" and other dishes. It was generally less busy at his station than at the "regular" buffet. Rooms are a little dated and would benefit from renovations. Due to the oceanside location, maintenance must be a challenge. Our a/c did not work well and therefore our clothing always felt damp, as did our sheets. We had changed rooms as the first room was very close to the pool and was too noisy. Others in our group also changed rooms for various reasons (no a/c, no hot water, too dark, poor location). There is a safe in the room and a mini fridge, our room also had a coffee maker. The beach is walkable but there are a lot of rocks which inhibit safe swimming. The better beach is across the estuary-it's not developed-cross at low tide and you'll be fine. We did that several mornings, walked for an hour, watched surfers. Hardly any rocks on that beach, better swimming, and great walking. Animals seen on the premises include howler monkeys, iguanas, squirrels and a coati.
    Round Indicators
    Helen P Stow. 11/18/2017 Couples

    “Occidental Tamarindo”

    Excellent place to stay. Service and staff were exceptional. Food was good. Rooms were always clean and beds were very comfortable. Took several excursions which were handled professionally. Tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Estimada Helen P: Muchas gracias por su excelente y súper-positivo post en TripAdvisor acerca de nuestro Occidental Tamarindo. Siempre nos resulta agradable saber que nuestros huéspedes han regresado a sus casas con grandes recuerdos de sus vacaciones, sin duda nos motiva a seguir trabajando con la misma ilusión del primer día. Me gustaría poder recibirle nuevamente en su casa de Tamarindo, cuente con nosotros para todo lo que necesite. Le deseo una excelente semana, un saludo cordial. Alvaro Fontenla. Director General. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    CaliforniaKFR California. 11/17/2017 Solo travel

    “Despite having the flu, the staff were there for me”

    At first I didn't like that my room was on the first floor, but when I realized the location on the property, I stayed with it. I ended up getting very sick (gripe - respiratory flu) on my 3rd day and was in bed with a fever for 3 days. Since I was traveling solo it was difficult, but the staff were very helpful and sympathetic. Front desk and bell boy - Jose, Bayron, Paola, Jenny, Emily and Jaime were awesome. So was Hilda who cleaned my room, Maricruz at the spa, and Jully, Edwin and Alberto at the bar. And the 2 gentleman who did the omelets and carving stations were great - checked in on me each day since they knew I was sick. When I had some strength back, I enjoyed the beach, and really enjoyed watching local surfers and the sunset each night.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear CaliforniaKFR: Thank you very much for this nice words, it's really important for us you share your experience in TripAdvisor with the rest of the travellers. I'll forward it to all my crew, and I'm sure they will be as thrilled as I'm with it. It will be a pleasure to having you back anytime. In the meantime, I wish you all the best and thank you for staying with us! Have a wonderful week. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Kayla H Edmonton, Canada. 11/13/2017 Couples

    “Amazing Week”

    The hotel was great and very close to town. The workers are very friendly and provide great service. The rooms were clean, always supplied with refreshments in the fridge, towel art on the odd day...it is a little dated in some places but clean. I’m not there to stay in room so I don’t complain. The bed was comfy. The food can be repetitive but keep in mind it’s a smaller place. The a la carte is amazing...do go there! The sunsets on the beach are amazing, do not miss it and when it’s low tide you can walk very far! Carlos around the snack bar and Fabian around the lobby bar are fantastic. The entertainment team is also fantastic! Check the show out!

    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Kayla H: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Shirley R 10/22/2017 Friends getaway

    “Very disappointed ”

    We came to stay for the weekend this was a bad experience the room look dirty and smell bad went we arrive after this we walk over to get something to eat the only place open was the bar by the pool the food was terrible everything was super grease another bad thing then we had dinner the food was really bad we where a group of 26 did not hear one good comment from our group. Will not visit again

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Shirley R: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 21 2017
    • Kingston, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    GregandDebbie R

    “Average overall”


    We stayed in November as part of a group of mostly "seniors" from Canada. Overall the stay was average. In the room there was no information about services provided at the hotel. Staff were for the most part friendly and solicitous, especially the porter at Reception (such a smiling man!), the female Receptionists, the water/coffee servers in the dining room and the room cleaners. The hotel was busy for the weekends during our one week stay, with many local families and young people, making lineups for lunch and dinner buffet very long, crowded and noisy. During the week it was quieter and we were fine. Food was average to decent overall-lots of fresh fruit, nice breads, good selection of salad items. Hot dishes were less attractive but some were very good. There was a grill at one end of the room where a chef grilled meats with tortillas, or sausages, paella one night, and did a wonderful "grandma's rice" and other dishes. It was generally less busy at his station than at the "regular" buffet. Rooms are a little dated and would benefit from renovations. Due to the oceanside location, maintenance must be a challenge. Our a/c did not work well and therefore our clothing always felt damp, as did our sheets. We had changed rooms as the first room was very close to the pool and was too noisy. Others in our group also changed rooms for various reasons (no a/c, no hot water, too dark, poor location). There is a safe in the room and a mini fridge, our room also had a coffee maker. The beach is walkable but there are a lot of rocks which inhibit safe swimming. The better beach is across the estuary-it's not developed-cross at low tide and you'll be fine. We did that several mornings, walked for an hour, watched surfers. Hardly any rocks on that beach, better swimming, and great walking. Animals seen on the premises include howler monkeys, iguanas, squirrels and a coati.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 18 2017
    • Stow
    • Couples

    Helen P

    “Occidental Tamarindo”


    Excellent place to stay. Service and staff were exceptional. Food was good. Rooms were always clean and beds were very comfortable. Took several excursions which were handled professionally. Tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Estimada Helen P: Muchas gracias por su excelente y súper-positivo post en TripAdvisor acerca de nuestro Occidental Tamarindo. Siempre nos resulta agradable saber que nuestros huéspedes han regresado a sus casas con grandes recuerdos de sus vacaciones, sin duda nos motiva a seguir trabajando con la misma ilusión del primer día. Me gustaría poder recibirle nuevamente en su casa de Tamarindo, cuente con nosotros para todo lo que necesite. Le deseo una excelente semana, un saludo cordial. Alvaro Fontenla. Director General. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 17 2017
    • California
    • Solo travel

    CaliforniaKFR

    “Despite having the flu, the staff were there for me”


    At first I didn't like that my room was on the first floor, but when I realized the location on the property, I stayed with it. I ended up getting very sick (gripe - respiratory flu) on my 3rd day and was in bed with a fever for 3 days. Since I was traveling solo it was difficult, but the staff were very helpful and sympathetic. Front desk and bell boy - Jose, Bayron, Paola, Jenny, Emily and Jaime were awesome. So was Hilda who cleaned my room, Maricruz at the spa, and Jully, Edwin and Alberto at the bar. And the 2 gentleman who did the omelets and carving stations were great - checked in on me each day since they knew I was sick. When I had some strength back, I enjoyed the beach, and really enjoyed watching local surfers and the sunset each night.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear CaliforniaKFR: Thank you very much for this nice words, it's really important for us you share your experience in TripAdvisor with the rest of the travellers. I'll forward it to all my crew, and I'm sure they will be as thrilled as I'm with it. It will be a pleasure to having you back anytime. In the meantime, I wish you all the best and thank you for staying with us! Have a wonderful week. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 13 2017
    • Edmonton, Canada
    • Couples

    Kayla H

    “Amazing Week”


    The hotel was great and very close to town. The workers are very friendly and provide great service. The rooms were clean, always supplied with refreshments in the fridge, towel art on the odd day...it is a little dated in some places but clean. I’m not there to stay in room so I don’t complain. The bed was comfy. The food can be repetitive but keep in mind it’s a smaller place. The a la carte is amazing...do go there! The sunsets on the beach are amazing, do not miss it and when it’s low tide you can walk very far! Carlos around the snack bar and Fabian around the lobby bar are fantastic. The entertainment team is also fantastic! Check the show out!


    Alvaro_Fontenla, General Manager at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Kayla H: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 22 2017
    • Friends getaway

    Shirley R

    “Very disappointed ”


    We came to stay for the weekend this was a bad experience the room look dirty and smell bad went we arrive after this we walk over to get something to eat the only place open was the bar by the pool the food was terrible everything was super grease another bad thing then we had dinner the food was really bad we where a group of 26 did not hear one good comment from our group. Will not visit again


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Shirley R: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...