Benefits that can only be enjoyed by booking through Barcelo.com

Book at Barcelo.com and register for the my Barceló programme for the best rate guaranteed, free Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, a welcome gift and a gift voucher worth 5% of the cost of your booking to spend on extra services.

You will also get VIP services and an additional discount of up to 10% off your next bookings. Exclusive benefits only at Barcelo.com!

Barceló Margaritas Hotel Barceló Margaritas Superior Room

Occidental Margaritas

Texto: 39563 Exclusive hotel that brings guests closer to the best beaches, golf courses and nightlife on the Costa del Sol. Avenida Gran Canaria, 40 | 35100 Playa del Inglés, Gran Canaria
+34 928 76 11 12 +34 928 765380
Occidental Margaritas Texto: 39563 4 out of 5 based on 3814 ratings. 3814 user reviews.
Occidental Margaritas reviewed by Mary R on . Confusing OK here are the good points. The grounds and pool area are lovely, clean and tidy. There is a beach football, volleyball area that the kids love. The Aloha bar is lovely, great place to sit and... Rating: 2
map

Occidental Margaritas

Avenida Gran Canaria, 40   35100 Playa del Inglés, Gran Canaria  


Places of Interest

30 km Gran Canaria

2 km Maspalomas Golf Course

1.5 km Playa del Inglés

1.5 km Maspalomas dunes

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Margaritas

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3823 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

36% Complete

1396

Very good

35% Complete

1363

Average

17% Complete

685

Poor

6% Complete

232

Very poor

3% Complete

148

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    walkergm2016 Bristol, United Kingdom. 02/17/2017 Couples

    “Mixed bag”

    Hotel rooms very nice and clean. Staff pleasant and helpful. Restaurant more like canteen . Very busy and tables too close together. The food was overall good - not always hot enough. The entertainment wasn't up to much. Had a good meal in the a la carte restaurant. The gardens and pool areas all very good. Didn't like the resort- built up and a bit tatty. Overall reasonable value for money- all inclusive deal on a late booking. Feb 2017.
    Round Indicators
    Mary R carviero. 02/15/2017 Family

    “Confusing”

    OK here are the good points. The grounds and pool area are lovely, clean and tidy. There is a beach football, volleyball area that the kids love. The Aloha bar is lovely, great place to sit and have a refreshment. Here are the confusing points....we have a 10 year old and have no idea what is going on with the animation!!! We have previously stayed at barcelo in Jandia where the animation we excellent and always felt confident in them. That is not the case here. The restaurant is a nightmare. ..simply too busy. You can eat in the Aloha bar in the evening for 1 night for free, then the menu is half price after that if you are all inclusive...you have to ask for this information and book your table. It is well worth it to avoid the scrum in the restaurant. You can also have breakfast here and again it is much calmer and pleasant. Bad points...we had booked a hotel room, but were upgraded to an apartment...the apartments are not refurbished, they do not look like the pictures on the website. They are dated and tired and I found them a bit depressing. They are not the usual Barcelo standard. We asked to be moved on the first and second days but were told there was no rooms available. The outside of the apartments have huge bits of render missing making it look as if it has been mortared!! Paths are cordoned off in case it falls on your head. We found Playa De Inglese a bit sleazy and the roads are very busy so not suitable for families. The hotel is a good half hour walk to the beach but aaz shuttle bus runs regularly.

    OccidentalMargaritas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this review
     Dear Mary, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Margaritas, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy our entertainment program during your stay at our hotel. Animation takes place in the pool area of the hotel building where the stage is. Our animators work tirelessly every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing shows that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities and they are really a valued asset of our hotel. Concerning the a-la-carte restaurant Aloha 37, we are sorry to read that you were not well informed about it. We will inform our reception manager about your comments to take the appropriate measures. In regards of the buffet, we lament your disappointing feelings about our restaurant. We kindly inform you that there are 3 hours for breakfast and lunch and 3:30 for dinner in order to spread the affluence of people, also we advise people to avoid peak times to ensure a more comfortable service. It has been disappointing to read your opinion of the room we accommodated you in for the duration of your holiday. More so because all the types of rooms we have are thoroughly described on our website. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience. About the outside of the apartment building, we are making some improvements and just for security part of one path is closed. Once again, we are sorry for any inconvenience this might cause you. Furthermore, we are sorry that Playa del Inglés was not of your liking, as this natural beauty of various kilometers of sand and dunes is a symbol of the island. Also near the hotel there is a theme park and nearby there a lot of activities and tours that would be nice for a family. For future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff who will be more than glad to advise you the best ways to enjoy your holiday to the fullest. On the other hand, we are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. We also thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. In addition, we are so glad to read that you enjoyed the tranquility and relax at our Aloha Bar. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards

    Round Indicators
    oysteinl2017 Maspalomas, Spain. 02/14/2017 Friends getaway

    “Fine”

    Fine good hotel. very nice people ho working there. nice place, good everything there. we like us there, if you want a excellent very good nice place in gran canary maspalomas you have to book this hotel
    Round Indicators
    EmmaWeddingWorld Liverpool, United Kingdom. 02/14/2017 Family

    “Amazing family stay”

    Feb stay. Speedy check in. Amazing room. But stayed in room 201...it was noisy from a generator outside bathroom window. Great food and drink. Very clean in all areas. I work in the travel industry and standards are high. This hotel is worth while booking and I will return. Great for kids under 10 years. Nothing for teenagers.
    Round Indicators
    Hema D 02/14/2017 Family

    “Never again!!!”

    Where do I begin - Thomas cook sold me this place (all inclusive) which if you go on the website is misleading as I was sold the 'apartment' (which to anyone & even the agent selling advised it's much better & no pics of the apartments- I know why now!) compared to a hotel room. She was SO wrong! The apartments are falling to pieces (inside & out)! Our 3rd day here and we're trying to find ways to stay away from the complex! I have a 5yr old son where I believed this complex would be perfect for! Again, SO wrong! The room - the bathroom tap broke, the air con/heating doesn't work, the socket was faulty/hazardous, it's very dated!! 4 star hotel- more like 2 star!! Don't even thinking of staying here unless you know exactly what you're getting. Also the staff weren't willing to accommodate - and passed me onto Thomas cook who only advised I need to speak to the hotel as it's a 'flexi trip'. In my opinion I don't care what type of package it is as this was not stated on booking and bottom line is I booked with Thomas Cook so they should sort it out. Last time I ever go to Thomas cook!!

    OccidentalMargaritas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this review
     Dear Hema, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel Occidental Margaritas. It has been disappointing to read your opinion of the room we accommodated you in for the duration of your holiday. More so because all the types of rooms we have are thoroughly described on our website, for future occasions we would like to offer you a personalized booking guidance through our reservation and reception departments so as to guarantee you make a reservation for the room type that perfectly fits your requirements. Furthermore, we are sorry for any inconvenience in your room, as all them are checked our maintenance staff. However, our maintenance manager is aware and he is taking the appropriate action to prevent this to happen in the future. We are sorry for not being aware of your dissatisfaction while you were staying at our hotel. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception team so we can solve any event as soon as possible. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2017
    • Bristol, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    walkergm2016

    “Mixed bag”


    Hotel rooms very nice and clean. Staff pleasant and helpful. Restaurant more like canteen . Very busy and tables too close together. The food was overall good - not always hot enough. The entertainment wasn't up to much. Had a good meal in the a la carte restaurant. The gardens and pool areas all very good. Didn't like the resort- built up and a bit tatty. Overall reasonable value for money- all inclusive deal on a late booking. Feb 2017.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2017
    • carviero
    • Family

    Mary R

    “Confusing”


    OK here are the good points. The grounds and pool area are lovely, clean and tidy. There is a beach football, volleyball area that the kids love. The Aloha bar is lovely, great place to sit and have a refreshment. Here are the confusing points....we have a 10 year old and have no idea what is going on with the animation!!! We have previously stayed at barcelo in Jandia where the animation we excellent and always felt confident in them. That is not the case here. The restaurant is a nightmare. ..simply too busy. You can eat in the Aloha bar in the evening for 1 night for free, then the menu is half price after that if you are all inclusive...you have to ask for this information and book your table. It is well worth it to avoid the scrum in the restaurant. You can also have breakfast here and again it is much calmer and pleasant. Bad points...we had booked a hotel room, but were upgraded to an apartment...the apartments are not refurbished, they do not look like the pictures on the website. They are dated and tired and I found them a bit depressing. They are not the usual Barcelo standard. We asked to be moved on the first and second days but were told there was no rooms available. The outside of the apartments have huge bits of render missing making it look as if it has been mortared!! Paths are cordoned off in case it falls on your head. We found Playa De Inglese a bit sleazy and the roads are very busy so not suitable for families. The hotel is a good half hour walk to the beach but aaz shuttle bus runs regularly.


    OccidentalMargaritas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this review
    Dear Mary, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Margaritas, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy our entertainment program during your stay at our hotel. Animation takes place in the pool area of the hotel building where the stage is. Our animators work tirelessly every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing shows that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities and they are really a valued asset of our hotel. Concerning the a-la-carte restaurant Aloha 37, we are sorry to read that you were not well informed about it. We will inform our reception manager about your comments to take the appropriate measures. In regards of the buffet, we lament your disappointing feelings about our restaurant. We kindly inform you that there are 3 hours for breakfast and lunch and 3:30 for dinner in order to spread the affluence of people, also we advise people to avoid peak times to ensure a more comfortable service. It has been disappointing to read your opinion of the room we accommodated you in for the duration of your holiday. More so because all the types of rooms we have are thoroughly described on our website. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience. About the outside of the apartment building, we are making some improvements and just for security part of one path is closed. Once again, we are sorry for any inconvenience this might cause you. Furthermore, we are sorry that Playa del Inglés was not of your liking, as this natural beauty of various kilometers of sand and dunes is a symbol of the island. Also near the hotel there is a theme park and nearby there a lot of activities and tours that would be nice for a family. For future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff who will be more than glad to advise you the best ways to enjoy your holiday to the fullest. On the other hand, we are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. We also thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. In addition, we are so glad to read that you enjoyed the tranquility and relax at our Aloha Bar. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2017
    • Maspalomas, Spain
    • Friends getaway

    oysteinl2017

    “Fine”


    Fine good hotel. very nice people ho working there. nice place, good everything there. we like us there, if you want a excellent very good nice place in gran canary maspalomas you have to book this hotel


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2017
    • Liverpool, United Kingdom
    • Family

    EmmaWeddingWorld

    “Amazing family stay”


    Feb stay. Speedy check in. Amazing room. But stayed in room 201...it was noisy from a generator outside bathroom window. Great food and drink. Very clean in all areas. I work in the travel industry and standards are high. This hotel is worth while booking and I will return. Great for kids under 10 years. Nothing for teenagers.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2017
    • Family

    Hema D

    “Never again!!!”


    Where do I begin - Thomas cook sold me this place (all inclusive) which if you go on the website is misleading as I was sold the 'apartment' (which to anyone & even the agent selling advised it's much better & no pics of the apartments- I know why now!) compared to a hotel room. She was SO wrong! The apartments are falling to pieces (inside & out)! Our 3rd day here and we're trying to find ways to stay away from the complex! I have a 5yr old son where I believed this complex would be perfect for! Again, SO wrong! The room - the bathroom tap broke, the air con/heating doesn't work, the socket was faulty/hazardous, it's very dated!! 4 star hotel- more like 2 star!! Don't even thinking of staying here unless you know exactly what you're getting. Also the staff weren't willing to accommodate - and passed me onto Thomas cook who only advised I need to speak to the hotel as it's a 'flexi trip'. In my opinion I don't care what type of package it is as this was not stated on booking and bottom line is I booked with Thomas Cook so they should sort it out. Last time I ever go to Thomas cook!!


    OccidentalMargaritas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Margaritas, responded to this review
    Dear Hema, Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel Occidental Margaritas. It has been disappointing to read your opinion of the room we accommodated you in for the duration of your holiday. More so because all the types of rooms we have are thoroughly described on our website, for future occasions we would like to offer you a personalized booking guidance through our reservation and reception departments so as to guarantee you make a reservation for the room type that perfectly fits your requirements. Furthermore, we are sorry for any inconvenience in your room, as all them are checked our maintenance staff. However, our maintenance manager is aware and he is taking the appropriate action to prevent this to happen in the future. We are sorry for not being aware of your dissatisfaction while you were staying at our hotel. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception team so we can solve any event as soon as possible. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards

    Barceló Margaritas Hotel Gardens

    Wonderful paradise with tropical climate all year round

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...