If you wish, you can change language

Ocio en el hotel Barceló Santiago
;
map

Map and location

La Hondura, 8   38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

43.4 km Tenerife–South Airport

200 m Puerto Santiago beach

9 km Abama Golf Course

106 km Port of Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Santiago

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 7499 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

42% Complete

3205

Very good

36% Complete

2732

Average

13% Complete

1005

Poor

4% Complete

363

Very poor

2% Complete

194

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    maxofpax Bramhall, United Kingdom. 04/23/2019 Couples

    “Very disappointed ”

    I rarely write negative reviews but I’m surprised to see so many recent five star reviews of this hotel and don’t feel they are representative. We started off in room 112, having paid extra for a jacuzzi and sea view. We arrived after dark and were amazed the following morning before 8am to be woken by the hotel being torn to pieces with pneumatic drills immediately to our left, and local council diggers immediately in front. See pictures. It’s just astonishing that a hotel would put guests in these rooms but they continued to do so the entirety of our stay. We tried to make the best of it but complained on the Friday night and were assured there wouldn’t be construction over the weekend. The council works were suspended over the weekend, but the hotel’s own works actually got louder and started at 8am on the Saturday morning. This is extremely noisy building work immediately adjacent to rooms with guests — nobody could put up with it and I don’t understand why there are so few negative reviews. There will be no doubt be a response to this review saying the hotel tries to minimise disruption during necessary building work. This is not true. The food was almost all unlabelled, so if you have any dietary requirements then it’s basically pot luck. The only proper cooked meal during our whole stay was a lasagne, apart from stews which all tasted the same. There is a big pan paella dish next to the grill but it was always lukewarm and very poor quality. The desserts are all factory-made. There’s really no cooking going on here apart from the grill which neither of us could face after a week. On April 15th the lasagne was labelled as vegetable but looked like meat (see picture), so I asked the restaurant manager. He was dismissive and told me it was vegetarian before walking off. It turned out he went to check with the kitchen and it was meat, but all he did was remove the label and that experience was representative of the buffet during the stay. On April 19th at breakfast there was rancid milk in the outdoor coffee machine for quite some time — don’t think it was resolved before the end of service. On a positive note, I’d say that apart from the male restaurant manager all the staff were friendly and doing their best in sometimes difficult circumstances. The views towards Los Gigantes are wonderful and if you get a room facing away from the building work (as we did after telling them we were leaving), then it really isn’t too noisy. Other minor complaints are that the hotel claims to have parking for €10/day but there is no parking on site (see picture). The nearest parking is quite a walk away, too far to wheel bags, and is €12. The steam room was out of action throughout our stay. In the refurbished rooms, the toilet is in the same room as the bed with only a partial-height glass door, so you need to be on very close terms with whoever you’re sharing the room with! And similarly with the shower; any water that gets on the shower door flows directly onto the bedroom floor. Their app gives you the names of everyone who’s stayed in your room recently and asks which one is you, which is surely illegal under GDPR. In summary the whole operation is rather amateur.
    Round Indicators
    Liz637 Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom. 04/22/2019 Family

    “Family trip for neice's 40th Birthday”

    The hotel is undergoing renovation but this did not stop us enjoying it. We were given a newly refurbished room in a quiet part of the hotel with amazing sea views. Their was some noise during the day around the pool area from the renovations but the views more than made up for it. We found the staff extremely hard working and could not do enough for us. The food was good and from the wide variety it was always possible to find something to enjoy. The animation team worked hard to provide classes and entertainment We particularly enjoyed the Candyliious day, the magician and acrobat show. Missed the adult archery but was told it should be available later on in the year once the renovations are finished. The bar staff worked very hard to keep everyone supplied with drinks. On the whole a very enjoyable stay and would love to go back once everything has been finished.

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to Barceló Santiago hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished rooms, designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated. Last, but not least, we appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Maribel Sanjuán de Caso Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    friend9999 Winchester, United Kingdom. 04/22/2019 Couples

    “Amazing time off!!”

    We had amazing time off at Barceló Santiago Hotel. Warm welcome at the reception than bottle of cava in the room was great surprise as we were celebrating our our 13th anniversary. Excellent service, room clean with breathtaking views and hot tub. Food was great with lots of varieties, staff was always nice and helpful. Pool area is fantastic with lots of sun beds, spectacular views on the ocean and cliffs. The only thing we were disappointed at was spa, some of the features of hydrotherapy circuit pool wasn’t working and we were unable to book couples massage. Overall we had amazing holiday, visited lots of great places, enjoyed fantastic food and drinks and the most important we have relaxed and enjoyable stay and have unforgettable memories. Highly recommended !
    Round Indicators
    Compass54547033933 Chicago, Illinois. 04/20/2019 Friends getaway

    “Great Scenery, Service, and Value”

    Overall we had a great stay and are happy we chose this hotel. I was especially impressed in 3 ways: 1) The staff all tried hard to make sure the guests have fun and don't have to wait for anything 2) The value of the all-inclusive package was very good and premium charges were negligible 3) The location and the place are truly beautiful We left with a level of satisfaction I haven't had in a while. We also stayed in a more expensive place in Adeje for 2 nights after this. Adeje is a more popular tourist area so I guess this is typical, but the service, food, scenery and value at Barcelo were definitely better.
    Round Indicators
    Tour606838 04/20/2019 Family

    “Breathtaking a definite must!!”

    A hotel that felt family run, staff OUTSTANDING!, rooms spotless & the views are to die for & the gym was great,The restaurant certainly didn’t lack choice my only complaint would be although the ingredients were varied & of a high standard, The vegetables generally were over cooked & although deserts looked amazing they lack consistency, but as it’s impossible to please all of the people all of the time, it wouldn’t prevent us returning

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at Barceló Santiago; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our rooms, designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Last, but not least, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day and our Mini Club team, with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our little guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Maribel Sanjuán de Caso Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 23 2019
    • Bramhall, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    maxofpax

    “Very disappointed ”


    I rarely write negative reviews but I’m surprised to see so many recent five star reviews of this hotel and don’t feel they are representative. We started off in room 112, having paid extra for a jacuzzi and sea view. We arrived after dark and were amazed the following morning before 8am to be woken by the hotel being torn to pieces with pneumatic drills immediately to our left, and local council diggers immediately in front. See pictures. It’s just astonishing that a hotel would put guests in these rooms but they continued to do so the entirety of our stay. We tried to make the best of it but complained on the Friday night and were assured there wouldn’t be construction over the weekend. The council works were suspended over the weekend, but the hotel’s own works actually got louder and started at 8am on the Saturday morning. This is extremely noisy building work immediately adjacent to rooms with guests — nobody could put up with it and I don’t understand why there are so few negative reviews. There will be no doubt be a response to this review saying the hotel tries to minimise disruption during necessary building work. This is not true. The food was almost all unlabelled, so if you have any dietary requirements then it’s basically pot luck. The only proper cooked meal during our whole stay was a lasagne, apart from stews which all tasted the same. There is a big pan paella dish next to the grill but it was always lukewarm and very poor quality. The desserts are all factory-made. There’s really no cooking going on here apart from the grill which neither of us could face after a week. On April 15th the lasagne was labelled as vegetable but looked like meat (see picture), so I asked the restaurant manager. He was dismissive and told me it was vegetarian before walking off. It turned out he went to check with the kitchen and it was meat, but all he did was remove the label and that experience was representative of the buffet during the stay. On April 19th at breakfast there was rancid milk in the outdoor coffee machine for quite some time — don’t think it was resolved before the end of service. On a positive note, I’d say that apart from the male restaurant manager all the staff were friendly and doing their best in sometimes difficult circumstances. The views towards Los Gigantes are wonderful and if you get a room facing away from the building work (as we did after telling them we were leaving), then it really isn’t too noisy. Other minor complaints are that the hotel claims to have parking for €10/day but there is no parking on site (see picture). The nearest parking is quite a walk away, too far to wheel bags, and is €12. The steam room was out of action throughout our stay. In the refurbished rooms, the toilet is in the same room as the bed with only a partial-height glass door, so you need to be on very close terms with whoever you’re sharing the room with! And similarly with the shower; any water that gets on the shower door flows directly onto the bedroom floor. Their app gives you the names of everyone who’s stayed in your room recently and asks which one is you, which is surely illegal under GDPR. In summary the whole operation is rather amateur.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 22 2019
    • Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Liz637

    “Family trip for neice's 40th Birthday”


    The hotel is undergoing renovation but this did not stop us enjoying it. We were given a newly refurbished room in a quiet part of the hotel with amazing sea views. Their was some noise during the day around the pool area from the renovations but the views more than made up for it. We found the staff extremely hard working and could not do enough for us. The food was good and from the wide variety it was always possible to find something to enjoy. The animation team worked hard to provide classes and entertainment We particularly enjoyed the Candyliious day, the magician and acrobat show. Missed the adult archery but was told it should be available later on in the year once the renovations are finished. The bar staff worked very hard to keep everyone supplied with drinks. On the whole a very enjoyable stay and would love to go back once everything has been finished.


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to Barceló Santiago hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished rooms, designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated. Last, but not least, we appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Maribel Sanjuán de Caso Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 22 2019
    • Winchester, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    friend9999

    “Amazing time off!!”


    We had amazing time off at Barceló Santiago Hotel. Warm welcome at the reception than bottle of cava in the room was great surprise as we were celebrating our our 13th anniversary. Excellent service, room clean with breathtaking views and hot tub. Food was great with lots of varieties, staff was always nice and helpful. Pool area is fantastic with lots of sun beds, spectacular views on the ocean and cliffs. The only thing we were disappointed at was spa, some of the features of hydrotherapy circuit pool wasn’t working and we were unable to book couples massage. Overall we had amazing holiday, visited lots of great places, enjoyed fantastic food and drinks and the most important we have relaxed and enjoyable stay and have unforgettable memories. Highly recommended !


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 20 2019
    • Chicago, Illinois
    • Friends getaway

    Compass54547033933

    “Great Scenery, Service, and Value”


    Overall we had a great stay and are happy we chose this hotel. I was especially impressed in 3 ways: 1) The staff all tried hard to make sure the guests have fun and don't have to wait for anything 2) The value of the all-inclusive package was very good and premium charges were negligible 3) The location and the place are truly beautiful We left with a level of satisfaction I haven't had in a while. We also stayed in a more expensive place in Adeje for 2 nights after this. Adeje is a more popular tourist area so I guess this is typical, but the service, food, scenery and value at Barcelo were definitely better.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 20 2019
    • Family

    Tour606838

    “Breathtaking a definite must!!”


    A hotel that felt family run, staff OUTSTANDING!, rooms spotless & the views are to die for & the gym was great,The restaurant certainly didn’t lack choice my only complaint would be although the ingredients were varied & of a high standard, The vegetables generally were over cooked & although deserts looked amazing they lack consistency, but as it’s impossible to please all of the people all of the time, it wouldn’t prevent us returning


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at Barceló Santiago; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our rooms, designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Last, but not least, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we are glad to hear that they all contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us, from the housekeeping team, doing their utmost to guarantee spotless accommodations and installations at all times, our entertainment team with their enthusiasm and energy, inviting our guests to take part into the lively sports and leisure activities throughout the day and our Mini Club team, with their kindness and professionalism taking care of our little guests and ensuring that they have a nice time and bring back home good memories of their holidays among us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Maribel Sanjuán de Caso Guest Experience Manager

    Barceló Santiago Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments

    Fantastic beach hotel perfect for a fun-packed family holiday.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z