Ocio en el hotel Barceló Santiago
;
map

Map and location

La Hondura, 8   38683 Puerto Santiago (Tenerife) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

43.4 km Tenerife–South Airport

200 m Puerto Santiago beach

9 km Abama Golf Course

106 km Port of Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Santiago

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 7257 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

42% Complete

3109

Very good

36% Complete

2652

Average

13% Complete

972

Poor

4% Complete

342

Very poor

2% Complete

182

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    candarmcd Leeds, United Kingdom. 01/23/2019 Couples

    “Fabulous hotel BUT...”

    We booked through TUI. This hotel has excellent facilities, including well equipped fitness room which we used every day. The spa was luxurious too, though not free. The staff are by and large very good, but let down by one or two ignorant and unpleasant bar staff. The food? It is extremely varied and excellent quality; how they pull it off at such volumes is a real credit to them. How anyone could complain at the food and restaurant experience is beyond me. Great use of touch screen technology in reception. Had to pay for pool towels, luggage scale, kettle and room safe (eh??) but everything else was good value. Not all food/drink in poolside bar is included in ‘all-inclusive’ but the choice is good and excellent quality. Drinks stop being free at 11pm but this suited us fine. The entertainment was absolutely great. Particularly the animations staff and the instrumentalists who were ace. Route 66 bar across the street has an amazing blues/pop/rock band - we did Friday night there it was superb. All good, BUT... We came as 2 couples. Our room was fabulous, overlooking the amazing volcanic cliffs and the sea, fabulous bed and shower, aircon. Well... our friends room was an awful ground floor hovel, complete with cockroaches... it took the hotel 2 days to relocate them. The moral of this story is to only pay when you have written confirmation that your room is one of the very latest refurbished ones above floor 2, and if you have paid for it, a sea view at the back of the hotel. Our room was 308 (the whole row was refurbed..). Despite all of this don’t be put off 😎
    Round Indicators
    Pilou-Malou Waterloo, Belgium. 01/21/2019 Couples

    “Disappointed - unfortunately because it's a lovely place”

    It's the 7th time we're coming. We booked one year ago directly with the hotel as we usually do. For the first time, we did not get our "favorite" room (in a range of 5 different requested rooms). POSITIVE POINTS : - the "adult" swimming pool is now heated which is really pleasant because the other "heated" swimming pool is nice but small and with activities (and in that case it's not possible to swim) - we had friends in the "renovated" rooms and those are really really nicely renovated (nice material, italian shower but there should be a hand to give support, kettle with tea and coffee, nice colors) : this is really a very positive point because the hotel becoming quite old and need to be completely refreshed - Food is good and would be very difficult not to find something nice to eat NEGATIVE POINTS : - the rule has always been that one cannot book a table in the restaurant. We're always there on time to be one of the first ones to enter the restaurant in order to be able to choose our table on the outside terrace. Since this year, when we arrive, some table are "booked" with wine on the table and the concerned people arrive later. For us, this is very unfair : - we pay the same price - we queue in advance in order to get what we wish (this also allows us to discuss with our friends from next table as we do since 7 years) - the rule has to be the same for everybody. I did call the reception on that subject and they told me to go and see the "restaurant's manager" which I did. I'm not sure she understood and she kept telling me "you understand we need to book for disabled or handicapped people" : for sure I understand that very well and would never request such a table ….BUT THIS IS NOT THE CASE on the terrace. She then asked me which table I wanted and I said "no, the rule is that you cannot reserve and I don't want that … I just want to choose my table when I arrive first". I told her that I thought that the restaurant staff should refuse tips or refuse to reserve tables for people. Obviously, she did not do anything as yesterday, nothing had changed. She saw me but stayed far away with a big smile. I guess it will be the same for the rest of our stay :( :( Directors or managers have to show themselves to the clients and discuss with them asking what they think, if there are happy, if things can be improved, etc … This is the sign that they respect their clients. This could be taken as stupid but it's just a fact and not fair. - the other issue is the bar. The hotel has more than 500 rooms and the bar is really small and very noisy. There are, in front of the restaurant, 2 big rooms which are empty most of the time and where it could pleasant to have the possibility to drink something and discuss quietly with friends. We were quite shoked to see jacuzzi on the ground floor on the terrace in a part of the hotel where you've got no sun, it's not so warm, I don't think a lot of people use it, it has to be cleaned Everyday, even if not used, because of sand. And for the first time, the jacuzzi, next to the swimming pool is colder than the swimming pool so it's empty but running all day for nothing. We're thinking of changing our habits next year and we're surprise to see the number of people which are also disappointed (coming since 10 or 15 or 20 years from different countries). We hope that the rest of the hotel will finally be refreshed this year and that things will change in a positive way again.

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear guest, In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. We have taken note of your comments regarding the reservation of tables in our buffet restaurant, and we are surprised to read your opinion, as only the tables closest to the entrance are previously reserved for customers with reduced mobility. We sincerely apologize for not having correctly fulfilled our standards. Your comment will be shared with our department head for further review. We have taken note of your comments on your reservation and we would like to inform you that at our hotel we always take into account the special requests of our guests when making the reservation, although it is not always possible to carry them out as they are subject to hotel availability. We sincerely apologize for not having been able to exceed your expectations on this occasion. We have taken good note of your remarks related to influx of customers in the restaurant. Please know that your review has been shared with our head of department and the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for a future. We would like to take this opportunity to explain that one of the rooms we have in front of our buffet restaurant is our a la carte restaurant, which we open once a week. The other room is focused so that our guests can have a quiet place to relax, read watch TV, etc. We would also like to inform you that, during this year, we will carry out the reform of the rest of our rooms, getting to have our 400 renovated rooms, together with the common areas, in order to offer our guests the quality service they deserve. On the other hand, we also want to thank your kind comments towards our pool area, a place where you can sunbathe and relax, and enjoy the outdoor scenery, having our pool bar at hand to cool off. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    nataliesmith3112 Northampton, United Kingdom. 01/20/2019 Couples

    “Week of winter sun”

    Didn’t realise that it would be hour and half transfer. We had room 226 but requested to move as bad drain smell, air conditioning dipping on floor and bathroom flooding when having a shower, was given room 558 which was a lot better. You need to know that a lot of the rooms that although have a sea view do not get the sun. Apart from that the bed was comfortable. Beach towels need a deposit of 12€ each refundable on return and another 2€ each for a clean one. There is no beach near by. The food is average and was always luke warm at best. Getting a coffe/tea in the morning is a nightmare queuing to get one takes an age, Also you have to sign for your drinks in the evening as you come out of the restaurant which causes queuing again. Thank god for the nice weather. There is work going on in the hotel and outside, do there are mounds of mud and half finished balcony upgrades. This is a 3 star trying to be a 4. Will not return to this hotel of resort.

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Regarding the smell and the drains, we are sorry if there was a problem with the functioning of the system in your roomm however, we were glad that we had availability and could change your room. We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. in regards to your comment about the building work outside the hotel, I would like to inform you this renovation is not being done by the hotel but by the City hall of Puerto Santiago, in that case we do not have any control over when and where they are building. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    SueC436 Bognor Regis, United Kingdom. 01/19/2019 Friends getaway

    “Great holiday!”

    We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel for a 2 week stay. We were a booking of 11 for my husbands 50th birthday. Upon arrival we were very disappointed to find the rooms we were allocated were the furthest from reception/lifts/restaurant that they could be and on level 2. The rooms were dark and small and although they looked out directly to the front and towards Gomera Island, the coastal path was directly over the balcony glass with people walking and sitting outside. On booking we had specifically asked for level 5 as this is reception/road level or close to lifts for mobility reasons. We stayed on level 5 previously and found it to be perfect. One of our party was in a wheel chair, and 2 have difficulty walking. The only requirements that had been noted were that we were together or close to each other. We complained immediately and were told that nothing could be done as the hotel was full and we would have to wait several days to move. Not very helpful as we couldn't unpack and settle in properly. We had to borrow a wheel chair from reception for my husband as the trip to the room was extremely painful for him to walk. We were eventually moved to level 3 and a short walk to the lifts. We had a much larger room, light and airy and less shabby. I feel we were only moved here after talking to the Tui rep who was really helpful. I can't be sure but it seems that all the uneven number rooms are allocated to Tui and larger holiday companies. Another in our party decided not to move as they only there for a week, they had two children with them and I was dismayed to note the broken tiles on top of the walls around the balcony, when I checked there was a lot with broken tiles on the balconies. In my view this could cause nasty injuries, as broken tiles are like broken glass, I'm very surprised these haven't been removed or replaced with plastic as many have.The hotel is undergoing a total refurb, which will take 4 years apparently. All the even number rooms seem to have been refurbed, with larger smart TVs walk in showers, kettles, bathrobes etc and in some cases on ground level jacuzzi baths in the gardens (very overlooked though by those above) My advise would be to book either direct with the hotel or with an independent travel agent to make sure you get what you want. The rest of the Hotel has improved greatly, the staff are lovely and very helpful, always smiling. On the night of my husbands birthday we had a big table with Cava and birthday cake provided which was lovely. There was much better entertainment this time with live music at the pool most days, saxophone, violin etc, thoroughly enjoyable. The pool area itself is one of the nicest of all the hotels we have been to. Plenty of sun beds, glass surrounds so that the view isn't spoiled and the addition of the Bali beds, which you have to pay extra for, but they look good and add to look of the area. The pool bar is lovely and serves food when the restaurant isn't open, so you never have to worry about missing breakfast or lunch, and is now open in the evening, a tad chilly but they have patio heaters. At night there is music of some sort in the downstairs bar for an hour or so, then entertainment from 9.30 in the entertainment area. Much improved from the last time we were here. The bar staff, David, Diego and 'Charlie' who served us most nights in the bar at reception were outstanding. Have to admire the speed with which they work, and their professionalism. Great to watch. We love this hotel and will definitely be back when all the rooms have been refurbed, although I guess they are heading for 5 star status, so maybe it'll be more expensive to stay here. However the setting, the views, and the experience will be worth it. Thank you Barcelo Santiago for a great holiday!

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Santiago hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us. We have taken note of your comments on your reservation and we would like to inform you that at our hotel we always take into account the special requests of our guests when making the reservation, although it is not always possible to carry them out as they are subject to hotel availability. However, we always assign our rooms according to the category of room that our guest has made. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. For a future occasion, we recommend that you contact our reservations department directly so that we can provide you with all the information you need about the rooms and services offered, and thus ensure that your reservation meets your expectations. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that in the next month of April we will begin with the new reform to renovate the rest of our hotel rooms, as well as a large part of the common services. We would like to inform you that, we stipulate that the reform will be completely completed in the month of August of this year. On the other hand, we are very grateful that you have chosen our hotel to spend your birthday with us. We are delighted that we have been able to exceed your expectations, as we always take care of the little details so that our guests can have memorable memories on their special day. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our pools. Without a doubt we offer a unique experience to have the luck to be located in this magical area of the island, being able to enjoy our wonderful views towards the Cliffs of the Giants and the Island of La Gomera. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    David M Solihull. 01/18/2019 Couples

    “Rather disappointed with their response to our complaint”

    As a frequent Barcelo customer ("Unique" level membership, for what that's worth) I expected my complaint regarding the rather shabby suite I was allocated at Christmas to be taken seriously, along with another couple of fairly minor, but important to my wife and I, quibbles. The hotel's written response, while perfectly polite, seemed to be more about compensation avoidance than actually addressing the problem. All very understandable, except I wasn't asking for compensation!

    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We have taken note of your comments about your reservation and would like to inform you that we always try to offer a room upgrade to our My Barceló Unique clients, but it is not always possible to do so as they are subject to hotel availability, and during your stay Hotel had a high occupancy. However, we always assign our rooms according to the category of room that our guest has made. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. We would also like to apologize for the imperfections you found in your room. All rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion. We hope that the small inconveniences have not prevented you from enjoying your holidays at our hotel. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 23 2019
    • Leeds, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    candarmcd

    “Fabulous hotel BUT...”


    We booked through TUI. This hotel has excellent facilities, including well equipped fitness room which we used every day. The spa was luxurious too, though not free. The staff are by and large very good, but let down by one or two ignorant and unpleasant bar staff. The food? It is extremely varied and excellent quality; how they pull it off at such volumes is a real credit to them. How anyone could complain at the food and restaurant experience is beyond me. Great use of touch screen technology in reception. Had to pay for pool towels, luggage scale, kettle and room safe (eh??) but everything else was good value. Not all food/drink in poolside bar is included in ‘all-inclusive’ but the choice is good and excellent quality. Drinks stop being free at 11pm but this suited us fine. The entertainment was absolutely great. Particularly the animations staff and the instrumentalists who were ace. Route 66 bar across the street has an amazing blues/pop/rock band - we did Friday night there it was superb. All good, BUT... We came as 2 couples. Our room was fabulous, overlooking the amazing volcanic cliffs and the sea, fabulous bed and shower, aircon. Well... our friends room was an awful ground floor hovel, complete with cockroaches... it took the hotel 2 days to relocate them. The moral of this story is to only pay when you have written confirmation that your room is one of the very latest refurbished ones above floor 2, and if you have paid for it, a sea view at the back of the hotel. Our room was 308 (the whole row was refurbed..). Despite all of this don’t be put off 😎


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 21 2019
    • Waterloo, Belgium
    • Couples

    Pilou-Malou

    “Disappointed - unfortunately because it's a lovely place”


    It's the 7th time we're coming. We booked one year ago directly with the hotel as we usually do. For the first time, we did not get our "favorite" room (in a range of 5 different requested rooms). POSITIVE POINTS : - the "adult" swimming pool is now heated which is really pleasant because the other "heated" swimming pool is nice but small and with activities (and in that case it's not possible to swim) - we had friends in the "renovated" rooms and those are really really nicely renovated (nice material, italian shower but there should be a hand to give support, kettle with tea and coffee, nice colors) : this is really a very positive point because the hotel becoming quite old and need to be completely refreshed - Food is good and would be very difficult not to find something nice to eat NEGATIVE POINTS : - the rule has always been that one cannot book a table in the restaurant. We're always there on time to be one of the first ones to enter the restaurant in order to be able to choose our table on the outside terrace. Since this year, when we arrive, some table are "booked" with wine on the table and the concerned people arrive later. For us, this is very unfair : - we pay the same price - we queue in advance in order to get what we wish (this also allows us to discuss with our friends from next table as we do since 7 years) - the rule has to be the same for everybody. I did call the reception on that subject and they told me to go and see the "restaurant's manager" which I did. I'm not sure she understood and she kept telling me "you understand we need to book for disabled or handicapped people" : for sure I understand that very well and would never request such a table ….BUT THIS IS NOT THE CASE on the terrace. She then asked me which table I wanted and I said "no, the rule is that you cannot reserve and I don't want that … I just want to choose my table when I arrive first". I told her that I thought that the restaurant staff should refuse tips or refuse to reserve tables for people. Obviously, she did not do anything as yesterday, nothing had changed. She saw me but stayed far away with a big smile. I guess it will be the same for the rest of our stay :( :( Directors or managers have to show themselves to the clients and discuss with them asking what they think, if there are happy, if things can be improved, etc … This is the sign that they respect their clients. This could be taken as stupid but it's just a fact and not fair. - the other issue is the bar. The hotel has more than 500 rooms and the bar is really small and very noisy. There are, in front of the restaurant, 2 big rooms which are empty most of the time and where it could pleasant to have the possibility to drink something and discuss quietly with friends. We were quite shoked to see jacuzzi on the ground floor on the terrace in a part of the hotel where you've got no sun, it's not so warm, I don't think a lot of people use it, it has to be cleaned Everyday, even if not used, because of sand. And for the first time, the jacuzzi, next to the swimming pool is colder than the swimming pool so it's empty but running all day for nothing. We're thinking of changing our habits next year and we're surprise to see the number of people which are also disappointed (coming since 10 or 15 or 20 years from different countries). We hope that the rest of the hotel will finally be refreshed this year and that things will change in a positive way again.


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
     Dear guest, In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. We have taken note of your comments regarding the reservation of tables in our buffet restaurant, and we are surprised to read your opinion, as only the tables closest to the entrance are previously reserved for customers with reduced mobility. We sincerely apologize for not having correctly fulfilled our standards. Your comment will be shared with our department head for further review. We have taken note of your comments on your reservation and we would like to inform you that at our hotel we always take into account the special requests of our guests when making the reservation, although it is not always possible to carry them out as they are subject to hotel availability. We sincerely apologize for not having been able to exceed your expectations on this occasion. We have taken good note of your remarks related to influx of customers in the restaurant. Please know that your review has been shared with our head of department and the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for a future. We would like to take this opportunity to explain that one of the rooms we have in front of our buffet restaurant is our a la carte restaurant, which we open once a week. The other room is focused so that our guests can have a quiet place to relax, read watch TV, etc. We would also like to inform you that, during this year, we will carry out the reform of the rest of our rooms, getting to have our 400 renovated rooms, together with the common areas, in order to offer our guests the quality service they deserve. On the other hand, we also want to thank your kind comments towards our pool area, a place where you can sunbathe and relax, and enjoy the outdoor scenery, having our pool bar at hand to cool off. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 20 2019
    • Northampton, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    nataliesmith3112

    “Week of winter sun”


    Didn’t realise that it would be hour and half transfer. We had room 226 but requested to move as bad drain smell, air conditioning dipping on floor and bathroom flooding when having a shower, was given room 558 which was a lot better. You need to know that a lot of the rooms that although have a sea view do not get the sun. Apart from that the bed was comfortable. Beach towels need a deposit of 12€ each refundable on return and another 2€ each for a clean one. There is no beach near by. The food is average and was always luke warm at best. Getting a coffe/tea in the morning is a nightmare queuing to get one takes an age, Also you have to sign for your drinks in the evening as you come out of the restaurant which causes queuing again. Thank god for the nice weather. There is work going on in the hotel and outside, do there are mounds of mud and half finished balcony upgrades. This is a 3 star trying to be a 4. Will not return to this hotel of resort.


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Regarding the smell and the drains, we are sorry if there was a problem with the functioning of the system in your roomm however, we were glad that we had availability and could change your room. We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. in regards to your comment about the building work outside the hotel, I would like to inform you this renovation is not being done by the hotel but by the City hall of Puerto Santiago, in that case we do not have any control over when and where they are building. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 19 2019
    • Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    SueC436

    “Great holiday!”


    We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel for a 2 week stay. We were a booking of 11 for my husbands 50th birthday. Upon arrival we were very disappointed to find the rooms we were allocated were the furthest from reception/lifts/restaurant that they could be and on level 2. The rooms were dark and small and although they looked out directly to the front and towards Gomera Island, the coastal path was directly over the balcony glass with people walking and sitting outside. On booking we had specifically asked for level 5 as this is reception/road level or close to lifts for mobility reasons. We stayed on level 5 previously and found it to be perfect. One of our party was in a wheel chair, and 2 have difficulty walking. The only requirements that had been noted were that we were together or close to each other. We complained immediately and were told that nothing could be done as the hotel was full and we would have to wait several days to move. Not very helpful as we couldn't unpack and settle in properly. We had to borrow a wheel chair from reception for my husband as the trip to the room was extremely painful for him to walk. We were eventually moved to level 3 and a short walk to the lifts. We had a much larger room, light and airy and less shabby. I feel we were only moved here after talking to the Tui rep who was really helpful. I can't be sure but it seems that all the uneven number rooms are allocated to Tui and larger holiday companies. Another in our party decided not to move as they only there for a week, they had two children with them and I was dismayed to note the broken tiles on top of the walls around the balcony, when I checked there was a lot with broken tiles on the balconies. In my view this could cause nasty injuries, as broken tiles are like broken glass, I'm very surprised these haven't been removed or replaced with plastic as many have.The hotel is undergoing a total refurb, which will take 4 years apparently. All the even number rooms seem to have been refurbed, with larger smart TVs walk in showers, kettles, bathrobes etc and in some cases on ground level jacuzzi baths in the gardens (very overlooked though by those above) My advise would be to book either direct with the hotel or with an independent travel agent to make sure you get what you want. The rest of the Hotel has improved greatly, the staff are lovely and very helpful, always smiling. On the night of my husbands birthday we had a big table with Cava and birthday cake provided which was lovely. There was much better entertainment this time with live music at the pool most days, saxophone, violin etc, thoroughly enjoyable. The pool area itself is one of the nicest of all the hotels we have been to. Plenty of sun beds, glass surrounds so that the view isn't spoiled and the addition of the Bali beds, which you have to pay extra for, but they look good and add to look of the area. The pool bar is lovely and serves food when the restaurant isn't open, so you never have to worry about missing breakfast or lunch, and is now open in the evening, a tad chilly but they have patio heaters. At night there is music of some sort in the downstairs bar for an hour or so, then entertainment from 9.30 in the entertainment area. Much improved from the last time we were here. The bar staff, David, Diego and 'Charlie' who served us most nights in the bar at reception were outstanding. Have to admire the speed with which they work, and their professionalism. Great to watch. We love this hotel and will definitely be back when all the rooms have been refurbed, although I guess they are heading for 5 star status, so maybe it'll be more expensive to stay here. However the setting, the views, and the experience will be worth it. Thank you Barcelo Santiago for a great holiday!


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Santiago hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us. We have taken note of your comments on your reservation and we would like to inform you that at our hotel we always take into account the special requests of our guests when making the reservation, although it is not always possible to carry them out as they are subject to hotel availability. However, we always assign our rooms according to the category of room that our guest has made. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. For a future occasion, we recommend that you contact our reservations department directly so that we can provide you with all the information you need about the rooms and services offered, and thus ensure that your reservation meets your expectations. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that in the next month of April we will begin with the new reform to renovate the rest of our hotel rooms, as well as a large part of the common services. We would like to inform you that, we stipulate that the reform will be completely completed in the month of August of this year. On the other hand, we are very grateful that you have chosen our hotel to spend your birthday with us. We are delighted that we have been able to exceed your expectations, as we always take care of the little details so that our guests can have memorable memories on their special day. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our pools. Without a doubt we offer a unique experience to have the luck to be located in this magical area of the island, being able to enjoy our wonderful views towards the Cliffs of the Giants and the Island of La Gomera. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 18 2019
    • Solihull
    • Couples

    David M

    “Rather disappointed with their response to our complaint”


    As a frequent Barcelo customer ("Unique" level membership, for what that's worth) I expected my complaint regarding the rather shabby suite I was allocated at Christmas to be taken seriously, along with another couple of fairly minor, but important to my wife and I, quibbles. The hotel's written response, while perfectly polite, seemed to be more about compensation avoidance than actually addressing the problem. All very understandable, except I wasn't asking for compensation!


    GEM B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Santiago, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We have taken note of your comments about your reservation and would like to inform you that we always try to offer a room upgrade to our My Barceló Unique clients, but it is not always possible to do so as they are subject to hotel availability, and during your stay Hotel had a high occupancy. However, we always assign our rooms according to the category of room that our guest has made. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. We would also like to apologize for the imperfections you found in your room. All rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion. We hope that the small inconveniences have not prevented you from enjoying your holidays at our hotel. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Kind regards, Bárbara Galera Guest Experience Manager

    Barceló Santiago Hotel Health and Beauty Treatments

    Fantastic beach hotel perfect for a fun-packed family holiday.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z