Views of Barceló Hotel Complex  Allegro Cozumel Resort

Allegro Cozumel

Texto: 32963 A sophisticated resort with special packages for diving at Palancar reef, one of the most spectacular in the world. Carretera Costera Sur Km 16.5 | 77600 San Francisco | Palancar | Cozumel | Quintana Roo | México
+ 52 987 872 97 70 + 52 987 872 97 92
Allegro Cozumel Texto: 32963 3.5 out of 5 based on 4569 ratings. 4569 user reviews.
Allegro Cozumel reviewed by Brandy M on . So dissapointed.... After being forced to re-book a vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Dominican Republic due to Hurricane Irma, we ended up at the Barcelo Allegro in Cozumel...what a let down. We have stayed in... Rating: 1
map

Allegro Cozumel

Carretera Costera Sur Km 16.5   77600 San Francisco   Palancar   Cozumel   Quintana Roo   México  


Places of Interest

18.6 km Cozumel International Airport

300 m Hotel beach

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Allegro Cozumel

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 4570 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

28% Complete

1295

Very good

33% Complete

1540

Average

18% Complete

868

Poor

10% Complete

491

Very poor

8% Complete

377

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Brandy M 09/19/2017 Couples

    “So dissapointed....”

    After being forced to re-book a vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Dominican Republic due to Hurricane Irma, we ended up at the Barcelo Allegro in Cozumel...what a let down. We have stayed in several Barcelo hotels and continue to travel to them because we have always been thrilled with our experience. Barcelo should be ashamed to have this hotel tarnishing their name. "Day Pass"?? - For starters, I guess there was a "day pass" offered to locals at discounted prices so that they could come and eat and drink and stay at the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. What a nightmare. The hotel was taken over. There was no room at the swim up bar, long lines at the beach bar and restaurants. We waited over 45 minutes to get into the buffet for breakfast. Once inside, we waited another 30+ minutes to get an omelette. These guests would pile food on multiple plates at a time and take them back to their tables. I watched two serving trays full of bacon get emptied by 2 guests that piled the bacon 8 inches high on 4 separate plates. What a nightmare. Pool: There is a rubber lining at the bottom of the pools...it is slimy and dirty...ew. On Saturday, we were doing a scuba training in the main pool and could not see our instructor who was 3 feet in front of us. The pool was so disgusting and dirty. After that, we wouldn't get back into the pools. The swim up bar was nice, but was impossible to get to because guests would hang out there all day in large, loud groups. Beach: The beach was ok....I'm wondering if the hurricanes caused more seaweed than normal, but it would have been nice if the seaweed was raked up from time to time. We saw several little critters in the ocean, sting rays, crabs, fish, all right under our feet. It was fun, but also a little scary when the water was too agitated to see the bottom. There was a waiter at the beach that was AMAZING. I wish I would have gotten his name....very quick with drinks and made sure your drink was always full. He was so good. Grounds - Mosquitos...holy mosquitos....they are everywhere. After the first night, my BF and I had a combined total of 87 mosquito bites. I didn't even know that was possible. After that, we drowned ourselves in OFF bug spray and were ok...but what a mistake it was to overlook that on the first night. There were cute little Coaties (raccoon/lemur type animals) that ran around the resort. We also saw iguanas and gigantic frogs. Rumor has it there are also crocodiles nearby, although we never saw them. Food: For the most part, the food was not good. It was edible, but nothing to get excited about. There was a pasta bar at the buffet one night that was really yummy, and the omelette bar at the buffet in the mornings was always great. Also really liked the smoothie station. For a couple days at the breakfast buffet, we were told we couldn't have jam for our toast due to an inspection. Something about the plastic containers? That's fine, but maybe put a bowl of jam out for guests, like the ketchup, not just take it away all together! The Japanese restaurant was good, however, we were given vouchers that we were told could go towards lobster at this restaurant...when we tried to use the vouchers, they told us we couldn't that night due to short notice, but the following night at the Italian restaurant we could use them...come to find out, the Italian restaurant was closed the following night. Food Availability: I think the biggest problem with the food was that there were HUGE gaps between the availability of food. We arrived at the beginning of one of those "gaps" and were starving from the long day of travel. We had to wait over an hour to finally eat. They had "snacks" at the Sports bar, but they were a joke...chips but no salsa or queso, leftover chicken nuggets but no condiments for dipping....cold cuts and some fruit...very minimal. "Premier" level - The "premier" lounge was a joke...food always seemed like leftovers from the previous meal at the buffet. There was a good liquor selection, but never any ice. Also, on Saturday and Sunday, a "day pass" guest EMPTIED out the food from the premier lounge in one stop...loaded up multiple plates of food and carried them out to the main pool to feed lots of people out there. I don't think this would happen if there weren't such huge gaps between food availability. Rooms - The cleanliness of our room was fantastic. We stayed in room 6822. It had a thatched roof, which was kind of fun, but when it rained it smelled terrible. Also, we often had little caterpillars on the bed, in our suitcases, on our towels, etc. My biggest complaint was that the pillows were so STINKY...smelled like mildew to the point that we slept without pillows most of the time. They were so yucky. PROS: The diving staff was awesome. We did an open "discovery" dive with Alec and Balthasar. It was incredible....despite the fact that it was cloudy outside. They were very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. They alleviated all of the anxiety that we had about diving and walked us through the process. It was great! Also, the staff at the beach bar, specifically Eric and Luis, were great! Always friendly and ready with drinks when they saw us coming. Diego (I think), the manager at La Palapa for lunches was SO attentive and friendly. We always looked forward to seeing him. In general, all of the staff was kind, courteous, and helpful. We never had a problem with the staff.
    Round Indicators
    JennyFinlay Hamilton, Canada. 09/18/2017 Friends getaway

    “Relaxing and enjoyable vacation!”

    Myself and three other twenty-somethings spent a week at the Allegro Cozumel the last week of April 2017 and we had an amazing time at this resort. Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to families - as there are lot of options for children and the hotel was very quiet and relaxing. If you're looking for a party hotel with a bustling night life this isn't the place, but it did offer us a very quiet, relaxing, and enjoyable vacation where we were able to make our own fun! Room (3.5/5) We had a superior room and I really enjoyed the look and feel. It was very clean, well-kept, air-conditioned and spacious. It has a safe, mini-fridge, and a lot of closet space (which was nice for me). The shower was beautiful and HUGE, however on occasion it took us a long time to get the hot water working. I found the birds to be RELENTLESS as well, but it turned out we had a bit of a hole in our roof, so that's likely why. Maybe earplugs wouldn't be bad just in case if you're a light sleeper. Service (3.5/5) Overall, the service was absolutely fine. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, and available to help whenever we needed it. The excursion staff were very helpful, offering great insight into travelling into town. Our rooms were always restocked, cleaned, and serviced with fresh towels which was nice. Occasionally getting drinks at bars took a while (understandably) and check in to the hotel was extremely timely (about an hour), due to the large number of guests checking in AND because we were at the very back of the line unfortunately. Dining (4/5) I'm not entirely picky when it comes to dining, but I was impressed with the food and the service at this hotel. As a group of 4 the longest we waited to be seated at the buffets was about 5 minutes, the days I dined alone (breakfast) it was seconds. The lunch buffet was centrally located, with a lot of food options. MOSTLY North American cuisine (french fries/chicken burgers/pizza), with some local food as well. The breakfast buffet was very loaded, and dinner buffets were always changing themes but a lot of options for even the pickiest eaters. The Hibachi experience was great, took about 1.5 hours but it was quite enjoyable and the amount of food was perfect! Would definitely recommend doing this if you only have the one option. I'm not sure if it was situational but the Italian restaurant took an extremely long time (which didn't bother me as we were in no rush), so that may be something to be mindful of. Beach/Pool (4/5) The weather when we were there was AMAZING.. however, a bit TOO amazing at times (ie. no clouds/blistering sun). I will say that the beach is rather small and the only shade provided are from a few nicely located palm trees. If you aren't lucky enough to get a spot in the shade, it gets extremely hot. We brought the umbrella from our room to make our own shade and the staff explained that this wasn't allowed. So, be very mindful about that. That being said, there was almost always a chair available in a somewhat shaded area, so this wasn't too much of a problem for us. The water itself was beautiful, and the pools were kept at a very nice temperature, as well as not too crowded.

    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
     Dear JennyFinlay, In Allegro we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cozumel. Warm regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    Round Indicators
    Mariana_Arpa Merida, Mexico. 09/18/2017 Friends getaway

    “Service and food”

    The hotel is nice but the service is really bad. Sometimes they are very rude. Also the food isn't great with a lot of time without any restaurant opened. All the bars close at 1:30 am so there's nothing to do after.

    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
     Dear Mariana_Arpa, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló XXX for your holidays in XXX and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Allegro we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Warm regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    Round Indicators
    ssucal New York City, New York. 09/18/2017 Family

    “Clean & Nice Resort with Awful sales people lurking around”

    Resort - 4 star as it was very clean. Entire staff was extremely nice and always ready to help. we had issues in room and was moved to another room in no time. Food -Out of 12 days we stayed, We only ate at specialty restaurants except twice at buffet. Over all food was 3 star. We liked japan food best. Sales folks - Sales folks are running biggest scam there. They sit right opposite to reception. if you see them simply run and act you know no english. They took $20 from me as deposit and never returned me. They also threatened me to ask anyone if I can get help. I spent thousands of dollar for this trip and could not care for $20 but this sales dude (Julio) attitude was very negative. I was almost ready to join timeshare but did not join just because these sales people. I would not come back due to Julio and His boss.
    Round Indicators
    Mandy G 09/14/2017 Family

    “Amazing Service!! ”

    We were upgraded to a villa which made our trip more memorable; regular rooms would have been too small for a family of four. The service was AMAZING!!! A special thanks to Alejandro & Antonio Brito that by far we're unbelievably amazing! Best service we've ever had at a resort (including our Sandals trips). Can't want to be back!!

    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
     Dear Mandy G, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Allegro Cozumel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience and please be sure we'll be sharing your kind comments to Alejandro and Antonio in order to encourage them to improve even more their services. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Warm Regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 19 2017
    • Couples

    Brandy M

    “So dissapointed....”


    After being forced to re-book a vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Beach in Dominican Republic due to Hurricane Irma, we ended up at the Barcelo Allegro in Cozumel...what a let down. We have stayed in several Barcelo hotels and continue to travel to them because we have always been thrilled with our experience. Barcelo should be ashamed to have this hotel tarnishing their name. "Day Pass"?? - For starters, I guess there was a "day pass" offered to locals at discounted prices so that they could come and eat and drink and stay at the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. What a nightmare. The hotel was taken over. There was no room at the swim up bar, long lines at the beach bar and restaurants. We waited over 45 minutes to get into the buffet for breakfast. Once inside, we waited another 30+ minutes to get an omelette. These guests would pile food on multiple plates at a time and take them back to their tables. I watched two serving trays full of bacon get emptied by 2 guests that piled the bacon 8 inches high on 4 separate plates. What a nightmare. Pool: There is a rubber lining at the bottom of the pools...it is slimy and dirty...ew. On Saturday, we were doing a scuba training in the main pool and could not see our instructor who was 3 feet in front of us. The pool was so disgusting and dirty. After that, we wouldn't get back into the pools. The swim up bar was nice, but was impossible to get to because guests would hang out there all day in large, loud groups. Beach: The beach was ok....I'm wondering if the hurricanes caused more seaweed than normal, but it would have been nice if the seaweed was raked up from time to time. We saw several little critters in the ocean, sting rays, crabs, fish, all right under our feet. It was fun, but also a little scary when the water was too agitated to see the bottom. There was a waiter at the beach that was AMAZING. I wish I would have gotten his name....very quick with drinks and made sure your drink was always full. He was so good. Grounds - Mosquitos...holy mosquitos....they are everywhere. After the first night, my BF and I had a combined total of 87 mosquito bites. I didn't even know that was possible. After that, we drowned ourselves in OFF bug spray and were ok...but what a mistake it was to overlook that on the first night. There were cute little Coaties (raccoon/lemur type animals) that ran around the resort. We also saw iguanas and gigantic frogs. Rumor has it there are also crocodiles nearby, although we never saw them. Food: For the most part, the food was not good. It was edible, but nothing to get excited about. There was a pasta bar at the buffet one night that was really yummy, and the omelette bar at the buffet in the mornings was always great. Also really liked the smoothie station. For a couple days at the breakfast buffet, we were told we couldn't have jam for our toast due to an inspection. Something about the plastic containers? That's fine, but maybe put a bowl of jam out for guests, like the ketchup, not just take it away all together! The Japanese restaurant was good, however, we were given vouchers that we were told could go towards lobster at this restaurant...when we tried to use the vouchers, they told us we couldn't that night due to short notice, but the following night at the Italian restaurant we could use them...come to find out, the Italian restaurant was closed the following night. Food Availability: I think the biggest problem with the food was that there were HUGE gaps between the availability of food. We arrived at the beginning of one of those "gaps" and were starving from the long day of travel. We had to wait over an hour to finally eat. They had "snacks" at the Sports bar, but they were a joke...chips but no salsa or queso, leftover chicken nuggets but no condiments for dipping....cold cuts and some fruit...very minimal. "Premier" level - The "premier" lounge was a joke...food always seemed like leftovers from the previous meal at the buffet. There was a good liquor selection, but never any ice. Also, on Saturday and Sunday, a "day pass" guest EMPTIED out the food from the premier lounge in one stop...loaded up multiple plates of food and carried them out to the main pool to feed lots of people out there. I don't think this would happen if there weren't such huge gaps between food availability. Rooms - The cleanliness of our room was fantastic. We stayed in room 6822. It had a thatched roof, which was kind of fun, but when it rained it smelled terrible. Also, we often had little caterpillars on the bed, in our suitcases, on our towels, etc. My biggest complaint was that the pillows were so STINKY...smelled like mildew to the point that we slept without pillows most of the time. They were so yucky. PROS: The diving staff was awesome. We did an open "discovery" dive with Alec and Balthasar. It was incredible....despite the fact that it was cloudy outside. They were very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. They alleviated all of the anxiety that we had about diving and walked us through the process. It was great! Also, the staff at the beach bar, specifically Eric and Luis, were great! Always friendly and ready with drinks when they saw us coming. Diego (I think), the manager at La Palapa for lunches was SO attentive and friendly. We always looked forward to seeing him. In general, all of the staff was kind, courteous, and helpful. We never had a problem with the staff.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2017
    • Hamilton, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    JennyFinlay

    “Relaxing and enjoyable vacation!”


    Myself and three other twenty-somethings spent a week at the Allegro Cozumel the last week of April 2017 and we had an amazing time at this resort. Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to families - as there are lot of options for children and the hotel was very quiet and relaxing. If you're looking for a party hotel with a bustling night life this isn't the place, but it did offer us a very quiet, relaxing, and enjoyable vacation where we were able to make our own fun! Room (3.5/5) We had a superior room and I really enjoyed the look and feel. It was very clean, well-kept, air-conditioned and spacious. It has a safe, mini-fridge, and a lot of closet space (which was nice for me). The shower was beautiful and HUGE, however on occasion it took us a long time to get the hot water working. I found the birds to be RELENTLESS as well, but it turned out we had a bit of a hole in our roof, so that's likely why. Maybe earplugs wouldn't be bad just in case if you're a light sleeper. Service (3.5/5) Overall, the service was absolutely fine. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly, and available to help whenever we needed it. The excursion staff were very helpful, offering great insight into travelling into town. Our rooms were always restocked, cleaned, and serviced with fresh towels which was nice. Occasionally getting drinks at bars took a while (understandably) and check in to the hotel was extremely timely (about an hour), due to the large number of guests checking in AND because we were at the very back of the line unfortunately. Dining (4/5) I'm not entirely picky when it comes to dining, but I was impressed with the food and the service at this hotel. As a group of 4 the longest we waited to be seated at the buffets was about 5 minutes, the days I dined alone (breakfast) it was seconds. The lunch buffet was centrally located, with a lot of food options. MOSTLY North American cuisine (french fries/chicken burgers/pizza), with some local food as well. The breakfast buffet was very loaded, and dinner buffets were always changing themes but a lot of options for even the pickiest eaters. The Hibachi experience was great, took about 1.5 hours but it was quite enjoyable and the amount of food was perfect! Would definitely recommend doing this if you only have the one option. I'm not sure if it was situational but the Italian restaurant took an extremely long time (which didn't bother me as we were in no rush), so that may be something to be mindful of. Beach/Pool (4/5) The weather when we were there was AMAZING.. however, a bit TOO amazing at times (ie. no clouds/blistering sun). I will say that the beach is rather small and the only shade provided are from a few nicely located palm trees. If you aren't lucky enough to get a spot in the shade, it gets extremely hot. We brought the umbrella from our room to make our own shade and the staff explained that this wasn't allowed. So, be very mindful about that. That being said, there was almost always a chair available in a somewhat shaded area, so this wasn't too much of a problem for us. The water itself was beautiful, and the pools were kept at a very nice temperature, as well as not too crowded.


    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
    Dear JennyFinlay, In Allegro we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Cozumel. Warm regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2017
    • Merida, Mexico
    • Friends getaway

    Mariana_Arpa

    “Service and food”


    The hotel is nice but the service is really bad. Sometimes they are very rude. Also the food isn't great with a lot of time without any restaurant opened. All the bars close at 1:30 am so there's nothing to do after.


    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
    Dear Mariana_Arpa, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló XXX for your holidays in XXX and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Allegro we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Warm regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2017
    • New York City, New York
    • Family

    ssucal

    “Clean & Nice Resort with Awful sales people lurking around”


    Resort - 4 star as it was very clean. Entire staff was extremely nice and always ready to help. we had issues in room and was moved to another room in no time. Food -Out of 12 days we stayed, We only ate at specialty restaurants except twice at buffet. Over all food was 3 star. We liked japan food best. Sales folks - Sales folks are running biggest scam there. They sit right opposite to reception. if you see them simply run and act you know no english. They took $20 from me as deposit and never returned me. They also threatened me to ask anyone if I can get help. I spent thousands of dollar for this trip and could not care for $20 but this sales dude (Julio) attitude was very negative. I was almost ready to join timeshare but did not join just because these sales people. I would not come back due to Julio and His boss.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 14 2017
    • Family

    Mandy G

    “Amazing Service!! ”


    We were upgraded to a villa which made our trip more memorable; regular rooms would have been too small for a family of four. The service was AMAZING!!! A special thanks to Alejandro & Antonio Brito that by far we're unbelievably amazing! Best service we've ever had at a resort (including our Sandals trips). Can't want to be back!!


    Monica P, Guest Experience Manager at Allegro Cozumel, responded to this review
    Dear Mandy G, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Allegro Cozumel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience and please be sure we'll be sharing your kind comments to Alejandro and Antonio in order to encourage them to improve even more their services. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Warm Regards! Monica P, Guest Experience Manager Allegro Cozumel

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...