Views of Barceló Jandía Mar  Hotel Complex

Occidental Jandía Mar

Texto: 37570 Opposite Jandía beach, it boasts a large wellness centre and a wide range of sports activities. Playa del Jable s/n. Barranco de Vinamar | 35625 | Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) | Islas Canarias | España
+34 928 54 65 00 +34 928 542 570
Occidental Jandía Mar Texto: 37570 4 out of 5 based on 5821 ratings. 5821 user reviews.
Occidental Jandía Mar reviewed by Damian D on . Serious Health and Safety Risk!!Please read before you decide to book your holiday!!! Me and my wife booked 12 days all inclusive holiday in March 2017 .When we arrived st the hotel we were quite impress with the lobby which looked very nice.Served quite quickly by stuff and we were... Rating: 1
map

Occidental Jandía Mar

Playa del Jable s/n. Barranco de Vinamar   35625   Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura)   Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

600 m Jandía beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Mar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 5848 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

33% Complete

1967

Very good

38% Complete

2272

Average

17% Complete

1023

Poor

6% Complete

359

Very poor

3% Complete

227

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    allycat0581 Aberdeen, United Kingdom. 04/18/2018 Couples

    “Not for couples ”

    Stayed here for 4 days was meant to be a week however me and my partner left after 4 days as it’s not a couple hotel or resort. We went to stay in corralejo for the remainder of our holiday and loved it there. The hotel and resort is geared towards families but beware it is a very German resort and nothing to do there. The hotel caters more for Germans than British and the entertainment team was awful, if you think dancing and clapping making cocktails is exciting then this is the place for you. Would not go back there ever again.
    Round Indicators
    Val L 04/18/2018 Family

    “Lovely Fuertaventura holiday.”

    A luxury hotel, a little isokisolfrom night life. A car is needed if you don't want to do excursions. Beach shuttle bus is useful as it also takes you to shopping centre, but only runs 3 times per day, each way. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are basic but kept clean with daily service. Take Barcelo + for the extra service in dining and breakfast, and a coffee machine in the bedroom. Communal areas are clean, plenty of room around the pool, good snack bar, but same food there every day 12-6pm. Hot drink machines often out of milk and chocolate drink.
    Round Indicators
    Jimmy11111111 04/17/2018 Family

    “Really enjoyed it”

    Stayed with my wife and 4 year old. Found the hotel to be large, spacious with excellent facilities. Pools, bars and entertainment facilities were great. Seen that a few people complained about the food being cold in the Mimosa restaurant, however, given the hundreds being catered for, we never found it cold and the choice was excellent. La Toscana was nice too, with the only complaint being the wait time between courses isn't good enough, we were in there nearly 3 hours!. Hill was ok to deal with but not I expect for retirees but beach bus service was on offer to manage this. Great hotel. My only other grip was that as a all inclusive premium plus customer I found I still had to pay for certain drinks. Given the extra money spent this was a little disappointing as my favorite tipple (Jack Daniels) was extra, although only a couple of euros per drink
    Round Indicators
    Lisa W 04/16/2018 Family

    “Would not recommend”

    This is by far the worst 4 star hotel I have stayed in, the hotel itself is really nice, but the way it's managed is shocking Location: at the top of a very steep hill and I mean very steep and about 800 meters long, all the shops and pubs are at the bottom of this hill. Not a lot around the area anyway you feel very isolated. Food: the lack of food choice is terrible, if you like fish you are ok if not there isn't much choice and most people were saying it was cold but they supply microwaves to warm it up. Restaurant: when checking in you get told you have a 1 hour time slot to go for your evening meal ours was 7-8pm. Men have to wear long pants in the restaurant for evening meal, You would expect that in the al-a-carte restaurant but not the buffet restaurant, my husband wanted to wear tailored shorts but was told no if you don't have any trousers they offer to borrow you a pair, yet there were men in the restaurant in tracksuit bottoms and ladies in beach dressed and very short shorts. I understand this is the policy of some 4 star hotels but you would expect 4 star service, every night we struggled to find a table and when we did we had to ask for cutlery but never got any we had to walk around getting our own from different tables, the staff in there are so rude and everything looks to much trouble, this is defo not 4 star standard. Rooms: rooms are a little dated but they are ok, beds were comfy. Be careful when leaving kids teddys on beds as my daughter's teddy went missing off her bed I'm not accusing I'm presuming it got wrapped up in the sheets when the bed was changed, I went to reception numerous times but we didn't get it back, my daughter was heart broke. Staff: staff speak very little English all through the hotel and are rude and abrupt. Entertainment: the first 4 nights we had no entertainment as the stage was broken inside so we was all outside which was freezing and 1 night it rained (we went at the beginning of April and it was very cold and windy at night) you don't expect to sit outside with your coats on on holiday, we complained but got nowhere. Pools: pools are lovely very big with a large shallow area for the kids and a deeper end to swim in, You could get a sunbed at anytime during the day no need to rush down with towels. You can hire towels for €10 deposit but every time you want to exchange for a clean towel they charge you €2, the indoor pool is also chargeable. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay here again

    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
     Dear Lisa W, Thank you for sharing a review of Occidental Jandía Mar. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Occidental hotels we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the system we have in place to avoid our pool sunbeds reservations as we believe that all guests have the right to a lay by the pool at anytime of the day. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay. Kind regards.

    Round Indicators
    Barbarat1958 Carlisle, United Kingdom. 04/15/2018 Family

    “Easter stay at Jandia Mar”

    We loved the hotel and service in general. The food was warm and variable - our accommodation was clean tidy and had a great view from the balcony. We loved the heated outdoor pool The walk to the beach was short but the hill back on the steep side! The beach itself was beautiful with miles for sand and access to the see our 4 year old could use. Lifeguards present and very hands on. We went to the local zoo which was excellent- Joel fed the giraffes had a great lemur experience and camel ride- strongly recommend this.

    OccidentalJM, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
     Dear Barbarat1958, We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 18 2018
    • Aberdeen, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    allycat0581

    “Not for couples ”


    Stayed here for 4 days was meant to be a week however me and my partner left after 4 days as it’s not a couple hotel or resort. We went to stay in corralejo for the remainder of our holiday and loved it there. The hotel and resort is geared towards families but beware it is a very German resort and nothing to do there. The hotel caters more for Germans than British and the entertainment team was awful, if you think dancing and clapping making cocktails is exciting then this is the place for you. Would not go back there ever again.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 18 2018
    • Family

    Val L

    “Lovely Fuertaventura holiday.”


    A luxury hotel, a little isokisolfrom night life. A car is needed if you don't want to do excursions. Beach shuttle bus is useful as it also takes you to shopping centre, but only runs 3 times per day, each way. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are basic but kept clean with daily service. Take Barcelo + for the extra service in dining and breakfast, and a coffee machine in the bedroom. Communal areas are clean, plenty of room around the pool, good snack bar, but same food there every day 12-6pm. Hot drink machines often out of milk and chocolate drink.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 17 2018
    • Family

    Jimmy11111111

    “Really enjoyed it”


    Stayed with my wife and 4 year old. Found the hotel to be large, spacious with excellent facilities. Pools, bars and entertainment facilities were great. Seen that a few people complained about the food being cold in the Mimosa restaurant, however, given the hundreds being catered for, we never found it cold and the choice was excellent. La Toscana was nice too, with the only complaint being the wait time between courses isn't good enough, we were in there nearly 3 hours!. Hill was ok to deal with but not I expect for retirees but beach bus service was on offer to manage this. Great hotel. My only other grip was that as a all inclusive premium plus customer I found I still had to pay for certain drinks. Given the extra money spent this was a little disappointing as my favorite tipple (Jack Daniels) was extra, although only a couple of euros per drink


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 16 2018
    • Family

    Lisa W

    “Would not recommend”


    This is by far the worst 4 star hotel I have stayed in, the hotel itself is really nice, but the way it's managed is shocking Location: at the top of a very steep hill and I mean very steep and about 800 meters long, all the shops and pubs are at the bottom of this hill. Not a lot around the area anyway you feel very isolated. Food: the lack of food choice is terrible, if you like fish you are ok if not there isn't much choice and most people were saying it was cold but they supply microwaves to warm it up. Restaurant: when checking in you get told you have a 1 hour time slot to go for your evening meal ours was 7-8pm. Men have to wear long pants in the restaurant for evening meal, You would expect that in the al-a-carte restaurant but not the buffet restaurant, my husband wanted to wear tailored shorts but was told no if you don't have any trousers they offer to borrow you a pair, yet there were men in the restaurant in tracksuit bottoms and ladies in beach dressed and very short shorts. I understand this is the policy of some 4 star hotels but you would expect 4 star service, every night we struggled to find a table and when we did we had to ask for cutlery but never got any we had to walk around getting our own from different tables, the staff in there are so rude and everything looks to much trouble, this is defo not 4 star standard. Rooms: rooms are a little dated but they are ok, beds were comfy. Be careful when leaving kids teddys on beds as my daughter's teddy went missing off her bed I'm not accusing I'm presuming it got wrapped up in the sheets when the bed was changed, I went to reception numerous times but we didn't get it back, my daughter was heart broke. Staff: staff speak very little English all through the hotel and are rude and abrupt. Entertainment: the first 4 nights we had no entertainment as the stage was broken inside so we was all outside which was freezing and 1 night it rained (we went at the beginning of April and it was very cold and windy at night) you don't expect to sit outside with your coats on on holiday, we complained but got nowhere. Pools: pools are lovely very big with a large shallow area for the kids and a deeper end to swim in, You could get a sunbed at anytime during the day no need to rush down with towels. You can hire towels for €10 deposit but every time you want to exchange for a clean towel they charge you €2, the indoor pool is also chargeable. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay here again


    OccidentalJM, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
    Dear Lisa W, Thank you for sharing a review of Occidental Jandía Mar. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Occidental hotels we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers. We also would like to thank you for pointing out the system we have in place to avoid our pool sunbeds reservations as we believe that all guests have the right to a lay by the pool at anytime of the day. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay. Kind regards.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 15 2018
    • Carlisle, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Barbarat1958

    “Easter stay at Jandia Mar”


    We loved the hotel and service in general. The food was warm and variable - our accommodation was clean tidy and had a great view from the balcony. We loved the heated outdoor pool The walk to the beach was short but the hill back on the steep side! The beach itself was beautiful with miles for sand and access to the see our 4 year old could use. Lifeguards present and very hands on. We went to the local zoo which was excellent- Joel fed the giraffes had a great lemur experience and camel ride- strongly recommend this.


    OccidentalJM, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this review
    Dear Barbarat1958, We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards.

    Barceló Jandía Mar  Hotel Family Room

    Family life under an all-day sun and the best beaches in Fuerteventura.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z