Exclusive offer for booking on Barcelo.com

Book at Barcelo.com and register for the my Barceló programme for the best rate guaranteed, free Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, a welcome gift and a gift voucher worth 5% of the cost of your booking to spend on extra services.

You will also get VIP services and an additional discount of up to 10% off your next bookings. Exclusive benefits only at Barcelo.com!

Barceló Hotel Pool  Tucancún Beach

Occidental Tucancún

Texto: 32815 An all inclusive hotel with spectacular pools, access to the beach and one of the best views in Cancun. Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5. Lote 24 | 77500 Cancún, Q. Roo
+52 998 8915900 +52 998 8850615
Occidental Tucancún Texto: 32815 4 out of 5 based on 4380 ratings. 4380 user reviews.
Occidental Tucancún reviewed by miss_d_925 on . GREAT WEEK Loved staying at this resort. The people were so accomodating, the hotel was clean, and the food as delicious. Not one thing to complain about. Thank you Will for the best drinks ever. Small resort... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Tucancún

Avenida Kukulcan, km. 13,5. Lote 24   77500 Cancún, Q. Roo  


Places of Interest

18.9 km Cancun International Airport

6 km Pok-Ta-Pok Golf Course (by Robert Trent Jones Jr.)

0 km Tucancún beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tucancún

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 4472 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

39% Complete

1761

Very good

34% Complete

1533

Average

14% Complete

662

Poor

6% Complete

297

Very poor

4% Complete

219

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    TravelBugger83 Vancouver. 02/21/2017 Couples

    “Great hotel! Super clean, comfortable, friendly and amazing value for your money”

    Just returned from a week stay, and was so impressed. We booked a "supersaver room" with Itravel2000, and I was worried what we would get. Our room faced the mall, which was to be expected, but it was great. Beds were very comfortable, room was immaculately clean and when we arrived, there was a bottle of champagne, welcome desserts and swan towels and rose petals on the bed (had messaged ahead of time to request a king bed, and had mentioned it was a special occasion) It was great to see that even though the room was "value priced" we were still given personalized treatment. Also on Valentines day, some roses were left in our room with a nice card. The hotel is very thoughtful with its touches. Maid service was top notch and Mini bar only got missed one day and when we called down to request refill, it seemed they took it very seriously. The hotel itself seems to be run with every attempt to please guests. Check in was fast and friendly, staff were always super helpful and accommodating and everyone was working very hard for you. The hotel was at capacity, but we always got dinner reservations with no problem, and plenty of space around the pool and on the beach. Drink service right to your beach chair, and I cannot remember her name, but the server there was super sweet and very fast and hard working. The beach is amazing, wide white sand and clear water with no seaweed or rocks and in the best part of the strip (and we know because we walked the whole thing one day and were so glad not to be at the peninsula end as it was not quite as nice and had more rocks, noise, clutter etc). The grounds themselves are also kept very clean and groomed. 3 pools - lively general pool, infiniti pool with the 25-45 crowd and a quieter older crowd pool so you can be as lively or relaxed as you feel each day. Not a lot of shade on the beach tho so pull up a chair behind a palm tree, bring a hat or plan to stay at the pool with the umbrellas. Pools were always clean, and empty drinks and garbage were never left around. Drinks were a bit on the weaker side, as is the case with many all inclusives in Mexico, but just ask for more alcohol less mix, or get mimosas which did the trick! Food was typical all inclusive as well. We liked Clarboya restaurant the best and Mexico lindo the least for dinner. Upstairs buffet we found better for lunch than the downstairs. 24 hour snack corner was not great but usually you only need to eat there after 10 pm, and usually at that time people are probably too drunk to care lol. WiFi was not too good, but we didn't try it in the lobby so maybe it would be stronger there if you really need it. Close to the malls and a central location so easy to get out and grab necessities, go downtown or do activities/leave/eat off the resort. Not a huge resort so easy to get around it, find your friends, and not a total gongshow of people. All in all we really liked this hotel a lot in pretty much every way. the price for what we got was amazing. They really put the effort in here and it shows. Even with late check out, they only go as late as 1pm specifically so they can make sure they don't keep guests waiting at check in, and can be on time for you. The only suggestion we would make is to hopefully invest in some day beds/palapas on the beach as there weren't a ton of palm trees for shade if you needed it.
    Round Indicators
    Darlene K 02/21/2017 Couples

    “Excellent Resort and Service”

    My partner and I were at this resort. The food is excellent, beach is beautiful, oceanview bedroom was spectacular and clean, there was nothing to complain about. It was close to a shopping mall - Luxury Avenue. All the staff were amazing but we had our favorites to name a few... Nelly Martinez and Alex Sanchez, Jose and Alberto at the bar by the snack bar were the best and quickest service ever. They would always smile and talk to you. We love and miss them already. I would go back to this resort next year.
    Round Indicators
    Shelley H Ontario. 02/17/2017 Couples

    “Awesome winter get away ”

    Booked a last minute holiday and was looking for a smaller resort for a week. Have stayed at the occidental in NV before so when another occidental came up, I booked it right away. Property is close to the airport. Unlike other holidays, the shuttle did not serve beer so grab some at the airport if you want for the short ride. Check in was quick and easy. Because we booked a bargain holiday our room was at the back of the hotel facing the back of the Tulcancun mall but we didn't care. We only sleep in our room so no biggie and there are balconies everywhere facing the ocean to sit and have coffee. We were in the north tower on the third floor. The theatre is on the first floor of the north tower so no sleeping for people in the rooms on the second floor until the shows are done (about 10:30). We could hear the bass a bit on the third floor but went to most of the shows so didn't really care. Elevators are fast so no wasted time waiting for them. The infinity pool and adult pool are close to the north tower so that was great. People with kids and the noisy fun people hung around the activity pool so we had a great relaxing holiday for the week. Cannot say enough about the staff and the cleanliness of this hotel. You could eat off the floors they were so clean. There was always someone cleaning something. The pools were constantly scrubbed and cleaned. Guys walked around cleaning the plastic tables and bases of the umbrellas. The floors are constantly swept, mopped and shined. The staff are a very hard working bunch and we had amazing service everywhere we went. A special thank you to Antonio Mex our pool bartender. He went over and above to make sure we constantly had drinks. Our server when Antonio was busy was Dalida Perez. She was a sweetheart and ran her butt off the whole week to keep everyone happy with a drink in hand and cleaned up empty glasses constantly. The other 2 people in the lobby bar that made sure we never waiting for a drink was Nelly Martinez and Jaime (don't know his last name). They were friendly and funny and made our trip fantastic. We didn't hang around the activity pool but we could hear Joseph getting everyone involved in the activities. You could tell he enjoys his job and was very funny. There were many, many people at the buffets and a la cartes and I wish I could remember everyone's name to thank them also. Here is a few things people planning a trip at the occidental might want to know. The room has shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser in the shower so no need to pack those. There is an excellent hair dryer in the room so leave that at home too. The room is specious and so clean with a flat screen tv. We had no problem booking any of the a la carte restaurants or buffets even with the hotel at capacity. Lots of lounger by the pools. You lose the sun around the pools around 5pm but we had full days of sun up to the point so it was fine. There is security walking the property all the time so you feel very safe. The shows that we saw were quality productions. Loved the Michal Jackson impersonator and the Mayan show. It's nice that the shows are indoors, air conditioned and not dependant on the weather. We had a rainless, cloudless week so we were very lucky. The Tulcancun mall across the street offer a break from the heat and have top of the line shopping. There was no free wifi at the hotel but that was fine. It was nice to be unplugged for the week. The hallways are noisy as are all hotels that has marble hallways and no curtains to absorb the noise. The air conditioner in the room is quiet so bring ear plugs or download a white noise app before you leave. I used the app and slept like a baby. There is an upcharge for top shelf liquor. Gentleman, the a la carte says it's informal wear but long pants are required, however many men were let in with shorts so don't run out and buy pants across the street as someone else did I know and then went to to restaurant and others were let in wearing shorts. There is a note that says there is a late checkout fee but our shuttle was at 11:20 and we had checked out at 11 so that didn't affect us. All in all, I would go back to this resort in a heart beat. Have been very pleased with the Occidentals we have stayed at so far.

    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
     Dear Shelley H, Thank you for taking the time to share such an amusing review of your stay at Occidental Tucancún with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay, that you enjoyed of the facilities, the activities organized by our entertainment staff, the dining places, show, and that our service exceed your expectation. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and to know that this time we did it, is our best reward. Rest assure we will tramist your compliment to the entire team, they will be honored to be recognized. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    Round Indicators
    Debitcred1 02/16/2017 Couples

    “All Inclusive Winter Get Away”

    We chose the hotel based on a recommendation, and it was a good one. We selected an ocean view room, and unlike some we have had in past, we had fantastic view of the Gulf and the beaches. All in all, the place was very nice. Room was very clean (read no bugs or other bad things). This was our 1st all inclusive and we really enjoyed it. Staff was VERY attentive to all the guests, and ones you had more interaction with through the week went out of there way to great you as they saw you. Staff didn't expect tips, but most visitors were happy to tip due to the service we received. There were 4 restaurants on property, all were included. Dinner could have started a little earlier for us, but all opened for dinner at 6pm. Food was ok, we were little disappointed as we thought would be little higher class, but they are feeding hundreds of people every day. I would say little lower than an Appleby's quality. Here are the downsides that we encountered. Our room was not cleaned until 4-5 pm almost every day, and the bed was as hard as the Flintstones would have had. We didn't mention either, but given our interactions with the staff, they would have attempted to correct. Bigger downside was we were, won't say coerced, but 'invited' to a vacation club meeting, which is nothing more than a time share. From talking to others, seems to be a pretty common event, but blew an hour and 1/2 of our sun time!

    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
     Dear Debitcred1; Thank you for sharing the comments of your stay at Occidental Tucancún. We appreciate that you had gave us the opportunity to be your host, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort, the ocean view, and that our service was up to your expectations. For us your feedback is very important, and we will consider the impression that you had from our restaurants and the sales team in order to improve this points and be able to offer our valuable guest the best possible service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    Round Indicators
    Christine A Calgary, Canada. 02/16/2017 Family

    “Mexico 2017”

    The staff of this resort are amazing. Jose Luiz Perez our waiter most mornings at the buffet and the first day we asked for a cappuccino...every other day he had one on our table within minutes of us sitting down. Dalida Perez who was the pool side (well everywhere bartender) is absolutely amazing. This girl motors around providing drinks to every one before you can even ask. This was our first time staying in Cancun and my 4th trip to Mexico and I have to say the staff here are the best. From check in, to check in they were offering to do anything they could to make our vacation amazing. We ate at the each the Mexican and Italian restaurants twice and the food was great. Just don't stay at this resort if you like to snorkel (as my husband does), the ocean was so rough, it was not possible. We had an ocean view room without a balcony but I was happy to just wake up and watch the sunrise on the ocean.

    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
     Dear Christine A, Thank you for share your experience at Occidental Tucancún. We feel honored to know that you had such a plasant stay, enjoying the facilities of the hotel, the food and drinks, and specially the service of our staff. Rest assure we will share your comments with Jose Luis, Dalida and the rest of the team who will be very happy to have turned your stay into an unforgetable experience. In regards to the ocean, usually in winter season the ocean is rough, however the rest of the year it is very calm, so we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Vancouver
    • Couples

    TravelBugger83

    “Great hotel! Super clean, comfortable, friendly and amazing value for your money”


    Just returned from a week stay, and was so impressed. We booked a "supersaver room" with Itravel2000, and I was worried what we would get. Our room faced the mall, which was to be expected, but it was great. Beds were very comfortable, room was immaculately clean and when we arrived, there was a bottle of champagne, welcome desserts and swan towels and rose petals on the bed (had messaged ahead of time to request a king bed, and had mentioned it was a special occasion) It was great to see that even though the room was "value priced" we were still given personalized treatment. Also on Valentines day, some roses were left in our room with a nice card. The hotel is very thoughtful with its touches. Maid service was top notch and Mini bar only got missed one day and when we called down to request refill, it seemed they took it very seriously. The hotel itself seems to be run with every attempt to please guests. Check in was fast and friendly, staff were always super helpful and accommodating and everyone was working very hard for you. The hotel was at capacity, but we always got dinner reservations with no problem, and plenty of space around the pool and on the beach. Drink service right to your beach chair, and I cannot remember her name, but the server there was super sweet and very fast and hard working. The beach is amazing, wide white sand and clear water with no seaweed or rocks and in the best part of the strip (and we know because we walked the whole thing one day and were so glad not to be at the peninsula end as it was not quite as nice and had more rocks, noise, clutter etc). The grounds themselves are also kept very clean and groomed. 3 pools - lively general pool, infiniti pool with the 25-45 crowd and a quieter older crowd pool so you can be as lively or relaxed as you feel each day. Not a lot of shade on the beach tho so pull up a chair behind a palm tree, bring a hat or plan to stay at the pool with the umbrellas. Pools were always clean, and empty drinks and garbage were never left around. Drinks were a bit on the weaker side, as is the case with many all inclusives in Mexico, but just ask for more alcohol less mix, or get mimosas which did the trick! Food was typical all inclusive as well. We liked Clarboya restaurant the best and Mexico lindo the least for dinner. Upstairs buffet we found better for lunch than the downstairs. 24 hour snack corner was not great but usually you only need to eat there after 10 pm, and usually at that time people are probably too drunk to care lol. WiFi was not too good, but we didn't try it in the lobby so maybe it would be stronger there if you really need it. Close to the malls and a central location so easy to get out and grab necessities, go downtown or do activities/leave/eat off the resort. Not a huge resort so easy to get around it, find your friends, and not a total gongshow of people. All in all we really liked this hotel a lot in pretty much every way. the price for what we got was amazing. They really put the effort in here and it shows. Even with late check out, they only go as late as 1pm specifically so they can make sure they don't keep guests waiting at check in, and can be on time for you. The only suggestion we would make is to hopefully invest in some day beds/palapas on the beach as there weren't a ton of palm trees for shade if you needed it.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Couples

    Darlene K

    “Excellent Resort and Service”


    My partner and I were at this resort. The food is excellent, beach is beautiful, oceanview bedroom was spectacular and clean, there was nothing to complain about. It was close to a shopping mall - Luxury Avenue. All the staff were amazing but we had our favorites to name a few... Nelly Martinez and Alex Sanchez, Jose and Alberto at the bar by the snack bar were the best and quickest service ever. They would always smile and talk to you. We love and miss them already. I would go back to this resort next year.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2017
    • Ontario
    • Couples

    Shelley H

    “Awesome winter get away ”


    Booked a last minute holiday and was looking for a smaller resort for a week. Have stayed at the occidental in NV before so when another occidental came up, I booked it right away. Property is close to the airport. Unlike other holidays, the shuttle did not serve beer so grab some at the airport if you want for the short ride. Check in was quick and easy. Because we booked a bargain holiday our room was at the back of the hotel facing the back of the Tulcancun mall but we didn't care. We only sleep in our room so no biggie and there are balconies everywhere facing the ocean to sit and have coffee. We were in the north tower on the third floor. The theatre is on the first floor of the north tower so no sleeping for people in the rooms on the second floor until the shows are done (about 10:30). We could hear the bass a bit on the third floor but went to most of the shows so didn't really care. Elevators are fast so no wasted time waiting for them. The infinity pool and adult pool are close to the north tower so that was great. People with kids and the noisy fun people hung around the activity pool so we had a great relaxing holiday for the week. Cannot say enough about the staff and the cleanliness of this hotel. You could eat off the floors they were so clean. There was always someone cleaning something. The pools were constantly scrubbed and cleaned. Guys walked around cleaning the plastic tables and bases of the umbrellas. The floors are constantly swept, mopped and shined. The staff are a very hard working bunch and we had amazing service everywhere we went. A special thank you to Antonio Mex our pool bartender. He went over and above to make sure we constantly had drinks. Our server when Antonio was busy was Dalida Perez. She was a sweetheart and ran her butt off the whole week to keep everyone happy with a drink in hand and cleaned up empty glasses constantly. The other 2 people in the lobby bar that made sure we never waiting for a drink was Nelly Martinez and Jaime (don't know his last name). They were friendly and funny and made our trip fantastic. We didn't hang around the activity pool but we could hear Joseph getting everyone involved in the activities. You could tell he enjoys his job and was very funny. There were many, many people at the buffets and a la cartes and I wish I could remember everyone's name to thank them also. Here is a few things people planning a trip at the occidental might want to know. The room has shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser in the shower so no need to pack those. There is an excellent hair dryer in the room so leave that at home too. The room is specious and so clean with a flat screen tv. We had no problem booking any of the a la carte restaurants or buffets even with the hotel at capacity. Lots of lounger by the pools. You lose the sun around the pools around 5pm but we had full days of sun up to the point so it was fine. There is security walking the property all the time so you feel very safe. The shows that we saw were quality productions. Loved the Michal Jackson impersonator and the Mayan show. It's nice that the shows are indoors, air conditioned and not dependant on the weather. We had a rainless, cloudless week so we were very lucky. The Tulcancun mall across the street offer a break from the heat and have top of the line shopping. There was no free wifi at the hotel but that was fine. It was nice to be unplugged for the week. The hallways are noisy as are all hotels that has marble hallways and no curtains to absorb the noise. The air conditioner in the room is quiet so bring ear plugs or download a white noise app before you leave. I used the app and slept like a baby. There is an upcharge for top shelf liquor. Gentleman, the a la carte says it's informal wear but long pants are required, however many men were let in with shorts so don't run out and buy pants across the street as someone else did I know and then went to to restaurant and others were let in wearing shorts. There is a note that says there is a late checkout fee but our shuttle was at 11:20 and we had checked out at 11 so that didn't affect us. All in all, I would go back to this resort in a heart beat. Have been very pleased with the Occidentals we have stayed at so far.


    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
    Dear Shelley H, Thank you for taking the time to share such an amusing review of your stay at Occidental Tucancún with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay, that you enjoyed of the facilities, the activities organized by our entertainment staff, the dining places, show, and that our service exceed your expectation. We always strive to provide the best service to our guests and to know that this time we did it, is our best reward. Rest assure we will tramist your compliment to the entire team, they will be honored to be recognized. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2017
    • Couples

    Debitcred1

    “All Inclusive Winter Get Away”


    We chose the hotel based on a recommendation, and it was a good one. We selected an ocean view room, and unlike some we have had in past, we had fantastic view of the Gulf and the beaches. All in all, the place was very nice. Room was very clean (read no bugs or other bad things). This was our 1st all inclusive and we really enjoyed it. Staff was VERY attentive to all the guests, and ones you had more interaction with through the week went out of there way to great you as they saw you. Staff didn't expect tips, but most visitors were happy to tip due to the service we received. There were 4 restaurants on property, all were included. Dinner could have started a little earlier for us, but all opened for dinner at 6pm. Food was ok, we were little disappointed as we thought would be little higher class, but they are feeding hundreds of people every day. I would say little lower than an Appleby's quality. Here are the downsides that we encountered. Our room was not cleaned until 4-5 pm almost every day, and the bed was as hard as the Flintstones would have had. We didn't mention either, but given our interactions with the staff, they would have attempted to correct. Bigger downside was we were, won't say coerced, but 'invited' to a vacation club meeting, which is nothing more than a time share. From talking to others, seems to be a pretty common event, but blew an hour and 1/2 of our sun time!


    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
    Dear Debitcred1; Thank you for sharing the comments of your stay at Occidental Tucancún. We appreciate that you had gave us the opportunity to be your host, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort, the ocean view, and that our service was up to your expectations. For us your feedback is very important, and we will consider the impression that you had from our restaurants and the sales team in order to improve this points and be able to offer our valuable guest the best possible service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2017
    • Calgary, Canada
    • Family

    Christine A

    “Mexico 2017”


    The staff of this resort are amazing. Jose Luiz Perez our waiter most mornings at the buffet and the first day we asked for a cappuccino...every other day he had one on our table within minutes of us sitting down. Dalida Perez who was the pool side (well everywhere bartender) is absolutely amazing. This girl motors around providing drinks to every one before you can even ask. This was our first time staying in Cancun and my 4th trip to Mexico and I have to say the staff here are the best. From check in, to check in they were offering to do anything they could to make our vacation amazing. We ate at the each the Mexican and Italian restaurants twice and the food was great. Just don't stay at this resort if you like to snorkel (as my husband does), the ocean was so rough, it was not possible. We had an ocean view room without a balcony but I was happy to just wake up and watch the sunrise on the ocean.


    Juan A, Gerente at Occidental Tucancun, responded to this review
    Dear Christine A, Thank you for share your experience at Occidental Tucancún. We feel honored to know that you had such a plasant stay, enjoying the facilities of the hotel, the food and drinks, and specially the service of our staff. Rest assure we will share your comments with Jose Luis, Dalida and the rest of the team who will be very happy to have turned your stay into an unforgetable experience. In regards to the ocean, usually in winter season the ocean is rough, however the rest of the year it is very calm, so we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely Juan Carlos Arce Management

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Tucancún Beach

    Occidental Tucancún, an All Inclusive paradise in Cancun.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z