Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort Hotel Pool Views

Barceló Solymar

Texto: 44944 Cuba’s charm and essence is brimming at this unrivalled resort on Varadero Beach. Carretera Las Américas, Km. 3 | Varadero
+53 45 614499 +53 45 611086
Barceló Solymar Texto: 44944 3.5 out of 5 based on 7122 ratings. 7122 user reviews.
Barceló Solymar reviewed by coco1806 on . Had a great time but... I did stay last week of August with family .It is very hard to rate this property ( stayed Solymar side) because it is not consistent and it can be 5 stars to 1 star: 5 stars: staff is fantastic... Rating: 3
map

Barceló Solymar

Carretera Las Américas, Km. 3   Varadero  


Places of Interest

28 km Varadero Airport

4 km Varadero Golf Course

1 km Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Solymar

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 7198 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1602

Very good

34% Complete

2510

Average

19% Complete

1430

Poor

12% Complete

892

Very poor

10% Complete

764

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Anne S Ipswich, United Kingdom. 11/19/2017 Couples

    “Beach great but...”

    First time in cuba and probably the last. Hated the stay at the hotel. Initially in Arenas Blances. No hot water for first 2 days. We needed to complain several times, then offered room in Solymer which we took because we wanted a hot shower. It was raining every day and heavily too, so we were getting pretty muddy wandering around. The room in the Solymer was dire. Hadn’t been cleaned since the last occupants when we arrived with our luggage. Phone broken, so another trip to reception to complain. Above the buffet area so constant smell of food. Beds were broken with the filthiest threadbare mattresses. Bathroom was pretty mouldy with broken fittings. No bath towels for 1 day. Room not cleaned for 2 days. 1 day without any electricity or light. Both buffets were horrendous - queuing to get in, then tables weren’t cleared. Shortage of knives, forks, cups. Drinks machine frequently empty - try to get cola or orange juice and end up with discoloured water! Food always cold, no matter whether you went in at opening or towards the end of the service. Food choice also very limited - a variety but its the same variety every day. One good point, though, the omelette man in the Arenas Blanca at breakfast - well cooked, with ample fillings - gold star to this member of staff! Other members of staff were less obliging - some were polite but others appeared to ignore you. Must say they did seem to be under quite a bit of pressure in the buffets - just seems to be too many customers for the dining facilities. It has been one of our worst holiday experiences and so doubt we’ll go back to Cuba. We really didn’t feel welcome or appreciated as paying customers
    Round Indicators
    mpcrozier Red Deer, Canada. 11/18/2017 Couples

    “What can I say! It's Cuba!”

    This is our 7th time to this hotel and 21st time to Cuba. We were worried about the shape of the hotel and Varadero after the hurricane. Nothing has changed at the hotel. Despite management's statement that we would enjoy our visit things remain unchanged as far as the hotel goes. We had hot water once in the week we were there and on one day we had no water at all. The towels in the room were see through and not much bigger than hand towels. The food is the same as always...yes there is always something to eat but the food is not very palatable or even presentable if there is any. We often found the food tables at the buffet empty or near empty. This includes both buffets and the beach bar restaurant. Our meal at the Mexican Restaurant was absolutely horrible as was the service. The Seafood restaurant and the Spanish restaurant were OK. We have never been sick in our 20 visits to Cuba. Unfortunately this time we were horribly sick for almost 3 days. The pools were green with algae as other people said. There were people cleaning the pool but the algae is a problem. Best drinks and best coffee, see Mabel at the pool bar on the Arenas Blancas side. The beach is as beautiful as ever but on the Arenas Blancas side there are no palapas. There is some shade in the trees. This hotel on both sides is supposed to be a 4 star. I would't rate it much more than 3 due to the shape and quality of the rooms. It is often more expensive that other hotels on the strip. The staff do try, for the most part, very hard but they can only do so much with what they have. Onay at Public Relations will do his best to help you with booking a la carte restaurants, some hotel issues and anything to do with phones or the internet. We go for the staff and the people we have met and not the hotel itself. Not sure we will go back to this hotel unless the price goes down! Our once was beautiful house that is my profile pictures at 4801 1st Avenue is gone! Sadly no more Casa De Alice!

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear mpcrozier, We are deeply saddened to know that our hotel did not live up to its expectations. We take good note of the inconveniences during your stay to ensure that they do not repeat themselves. I give you our email, where you can write us if you consider it appropriate - diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu We hope you keep your trust in Barceló Hotels and give us another chance on a future trip in Varadero / Cuba or any other destination. Sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Emerson K 11/16/2017 Couples

    “Place to enjoy the beach”

    The hotels is an all inclusive like many in the region. The food at the buffet restaurant are not so great, only the pork and ice cream were great. My wife and I preferred to have our meals at the beach bar that offered good barbecue and seafood. The rooms were old furnished, and the beds not so comfortable, the room was clean. It offers many pools and activities, however the jacuzzi and the kids pool were not working.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Appreciated Emerson, Thank you for having chosen our hotel Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort for your recent stay in Varadero / Cuba. Your feedback is very important to us and they are for sure the constant base of improvements. We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our hotel staff service (special mention Grill At the Beach), as well as your room cleanliness and comfortable. This is the kind of service that we take pride of at Barceló Hotels Resorts. On the other hand we are saddened to read that some maintenance issues took down your impression form our services, like Kid´s pool or jaccusi. Thank you very much for your recomendation. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Ewelina M 11/15/2017 Friends getaway

    “Nothing special”

    Big resort with a lot attractions . The property was nicely located by the beach . We had bungalow which was the best option in my opinion. When we change our room - we have two different reservation ( because one person leave befor us) we must waiting 4 hours on new room ! Disgusting and unfresh food . Very dirty shower in our room , awful. Drinks with not good quality alcohol e.g pinacolada made with milk from powder, mojito without yerbabuena . Me and my friends have a problem with stomach after food in this resort.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear Ewelina M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel resort from a recent stay with us. We are thrilled to read that our location was perfect. In addition, we really appreciate your mention of our value. We believe we offer a excellent value for a visit to our world class destination, Varadero. Thank you so much for being a guest at our hotel and we hope you had a memorable vacation . If we can be of service in the future, we would love to welcome you back to Hotel Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. It is quite understandable that we cannot please the hundred percent of our guests as the food will always be a subjective matter and we are very sorry to see your rating. I appreciate you letting us know your thoughts on where we need to improve. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    Acadia1964 Dieppe, Canada. 11/14/2017 Family

    “Family vacation”

    It was my 3rd time at this resort. Sadly it has gone down hill since my first visit. Our vacation package stated Superior room which wasn’t at all. Cons: There was mold in the washroom including the shower. We found cockroaches in tub and small ants crawling all over the sink. The beds were stained and spring popping out everywhere. The food at buffet was always cold even if we arrived at opening. The elevators were often out of use (3 out the 5 were unavailable.). The front desk staffs were often very rude. Turning their backs whenever you wanted help from them. Internet unavailable most of the time due to their system of cards which for the most part were never available. The gift shop staffs felt it was alright to charge whatever they wanted on various items. When confronted they would suddenly lower the prices. IE: a friend went in to buy a bag of chips, he was charged 2pesos but when I went in, they were going to charge me 8. Which leaves me to believe that they must pocket the difference while ripping off the guests. Pro: The lobby bar staffs were awesome (Jorge, Felix, Lala just to name a few. LisBeth and Vivian at the buffet were also very efficient and welcoming. Having said that, I will not return to this resort again. I would hardly rate it at a 3 star level which is too bad since the cost of this package should have been at a 4 star level at the very least. It is too bad that the hotel administration doesn’t do anything with all this comments. This resort would have the potential to be great given its location.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear Arcadia1964, We are deeply saddened to know that our hotel did not live up to its expectations. We take good note of the inconveniences during your stay to ensure that they do not repeat themselves. I give you our email, where you can write us if you consider it appropriate - diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu We are happy to know that you were treated well, thank you for mentioning the staff members who assisted you We hope you keep your trust in Barceló Hotels and give us another chance on a future trip in Varadero / Cuba or any other destination. Sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 19 2017
    • Ipswich, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Anne S

    “Beach great but...”


    First time in cuba and probably the last. Hated the stay at the hotel. Initially in Arenas Blances. No hot water for first 2 days. We needed to complain several times, then offered room in Solymer which we took because we wanted a hot shower. It was raining every day and heavily too, so we were getting pretty muddy wandering around. The room in the Solymer was dire. Hadn’t been cleaned since the last occupants when we arrived with our luggage. Phone broken, so another trip to reception to complain. Above the buffet area so constant smell of food. Beds were broken with the filthiest threadbare mattresses. Bathroom was pretty mouldy with broken fittings. No bath towels for 1 day. Room not cleaned for 2 days. 1 day without any electricity or light. Both buffets were horrendous - queuing to get in, then tables weren’t cleared. Shortage of knives, forks, cups. Drinks machine frequently empty - try to get cola or orange juice and end up with discoloured water! Food always cold, no matter whether you went in at opening or towards the end of the service. Food choice also very limited - a variety but its the same variety every day. One good point, though, the omelette man in the Arenas Blanca at breakfast - well cooked, with ample fillings - gold star to this member of staff! Other members of staff were less obliging - some were polite but others appeared to ignore you. Must say they did seem to be under quite a bit of pressure in the buffets - just seems to be too many customers for the dining facilities. It has been one of our worst holiday experiences and so doubt we’ll go back to Cuba. We really didn’t feel welcome or appreciated as paying customers


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 18 2017
    • Red Deer, Canada
    • Couples

    mpcrozier

    “What can I say! It's Cuba!”


    This is our 7th time to this hotel and 21st time to Cuba. We were worried about the shape of the hotel and Varadero after the hurricane. Nothing has changed at the hotel. Despite management's statement that we would enjoy our visit things remain unchanged as far as the hotel goes. We had hot water once in the week we were there and on one day we had no water at all. The towels in the room were see through and not much bigger than hand towels. The food is the same as always...yes there is always something to eat but the food is not very palatable or even presentable if there is any. We often found the food tables at the buffet empty or near empty. This includes both buffets and the beach bar restaurant. Our meal at the Mexican Restaurant was absolutely horrible as was the service. The Seafood restaurant and the Spanish restaurant were OK. We have never been sick in our 20 visits to Cuba. Unfortunately this time we were horribly sick for almost 3 days. The pools were green with algae as other people said. There were people cleaning the pool but the algae is a problem. Best drinks and best coffee, see Mabel at the pool bar on the Arenas Blancas side. The beach is as beautiful as ever but on the Arenas Blancas side there are no palapas. There is some shade in the trees. This hotel on both sides is supposed to be a 4 star. I would't rate it much more than 3 due to the shape and quality of the rooms. It is often more expensive that other hotels on the strip. The staff do try, for the most part, very hard but they can only do so much with what they have. Onay at Public Relations will do his best to help you with booking a la carte restaurants, some hotel issues and anything to do with phones or the internet. We go for the staff and the people we have met and not the hotel itself. Not sure we will go back to this hotel unless the price goes down! Our once was beautiful house that is my profile pictures at 4801 1st Avenue is gone! Sadly no more Casa De Alice!


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear mpcrozier, We are deeply saddened to know that our hotel did not live up to its expectations. We take good note of the inconveniences during your stay to ensure that they do not repeat themselves. I give you our email, where you can write us if you consider it appropriate - diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu We hope you keep your trust in Barceló Hotels and give us another chance on a future trip in Varadero / Cuba or any other destination. Sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 16 2017
    • Couples

    Emerson K

    “Place to enjoy the beach”


    The hotels is an all inclusive like many in the region. The food at the buffet restaurant are not so great, only the pork and ice cream were great. My wife and I preferred to have our meals at the beach bar that offered good barbecue and seafood. The rooms were old furnished, and the beds not so comfortable, the room was clean. It offers many pools and activities, however the jacuzzi and the kids pool were not working.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Appreciated Emerson, Thank you for having chosen our hotel Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort for your recent stay in Varadero / Cuba. Your feedback is very important to us and they are for sure the constant base of improvements. We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our hotel staff service (special mention Grill At the Beach), as well as your room cleanliness and comfortable. This is the kind of service that we take pride of at Barceló Hotels Resorts. On the other hand we are saddened to read that some maintenance issues took down your impression form our services, like Kid´s pool or jaccusi. Thank you very much for your recomendation. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 15 2017
    • Friends getaway

    Ewelina M

    “Nothing special”


    Big resort with a lot attractions . The property was nicely located by the beach . We had bungalow which was the best option in my opinion. When we change our room - we have two different reservation ( because one person leave befor us) we must waiting 4 hours on new room ! Disgusting and unfresh food . Very dirty shower in our room , awful. Drinks with not good quality alcohol e.g pinacolada made with milk from powder, mojito without yerbabuena . Me and my friends have a problem with stomach after food in this resort.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear Ewelina M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel resort from a recent stay with us. We are thrilled to read that our location was perfect. In addition, we really appreciate your mention of our value. We believe we offer a excellent value for a visit to our world class destination, Varadero. Thank you so much for being a guest at our hotel and we hope you had a memorable vacation . If we can be of service in the future, we would love to welcome you back to Hotel Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. It is quite understandable that we cannot please the hundred percent of our guests as the food will always be a subjective matter and we are very sorry to see your rating. I appreciate you letting us know your thoughts on where we need to improve. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 14 2017
    • Dieppe, Canada
    • Family

    Acadia1964

    “Family vacation”


    It was my 3rd time at this resort. Sadly it has gone down hill since my first visit. Our vacation package stated Superior room which wasn’t at all. Cons: There was mold in the washroom including the shower. We found cockroaches in tub and small ants crawling all over the sink. The beds were stained and spring popping out everywhere. The food at buffet was always cold even if we arrived at opening. The elevators were often out of use (3 out the 5 were unavailable.). The front desk staffs were often very rude. Turning their backs whenever you wanted help from them. Internet unavailable most of the time due to their system of cards which for the most part were never available. The gift shop staffs felt it was alright to charge whatever they wanted on various items. When confronted they would suddenly lower the prices. IE: a friend went in to buy a bag of chips, he was charged 2pesos but when I went in, they were going to charge me 8. Which leaves me to believe that they must pocket the difference while ripping off the guests. Pro: The lobby bar staffs were awesome (Jorge, Felix, Lala just to name a few. LisBeth and Vivian at the buffet were also very efficient and welcoming. Having said that, I will not return to this resort again. I would hardly rate it at a 3 star level which is too bad since the cost of this package should have been at a 4 star level at the very least. It is too bad that the hotel administration doesn’t do anything with all this comments. This resort would have the potential to be great given its location.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear Arcadia1964, We are deeply saddened to know that our hotel did not live up to its expectations. We take good note of the inconveniences during your stay to ensure that they do not repeat themselves. I give you our email, where you can write us if you consider it appropriate - diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu We are happy to know that you were treated well, thank you for mentioning the staff members who assisted you We hope you keep your trust in Barceló Hotels and give us another chance on a future trip in Varadero / Cuba or any other destination. Sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...